We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
27
57
29
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
57
29
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssaguenay riverpicnic tablesfrom australiaswimming pooldrainage
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2016

The first thought of the word "Motel" is a cheap place, and you're lucky if it's clean. This motel is called so just because of the parking by the room availability. We stayed there 3 nights in early September 2016. The motel is located directly on the Saguenay Fjord bank. It has nice BBQ and benches just above the water, with wonderful view of the river.
The rooms are big. Ours accommodated two queen beds, although we asked for just one. It has a mini-bar (empty, for your own use), an iron and board, a/c, two ceiling fans, a fold-out sofa and two tables.
The bathroom seems like something which was made for kids- the toilet seat, the sink and the shower head fit short people or kids, not tall adults like me (1.83m/6')... But that's just made us smile - it's not really something you can't deal with.
The made is doing a good job- the room is clean, many towels are available, and you get many soap bars and shampoo. But if you like a shower gel- bring your own.
There's a free of charge washing machine and a dryer (the last cost $1/cycle), and a heated swimming pool. We didn't use it due to outside temperature, but it looked very well maintained and clean.
The only snag there are the thin walls and ceiling- every flush of the toilet from the room above you, every drop of water there, dripping after a shower is taken, and every conversation on the other side of the wall can be heard.

Room Tip: take the river view rooms- it's worth it.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Glex5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We were pleased to have a room with two double beds and a pull out couch for our family of five. the hotel is older but extremely clean. Sheets were always cleans and the bathroom was sparkling. We stayed five nights. The location was great - right on the Saguenay with beautiful views. Kids loved the pool which was well taken care of. Nice touches like flowers and patio furniture. The barbecues were great so we could save some $$ on supper. While we stayed, we met people from Marseilles, France; England and Germany Who knew this was such a European vacation spot, LOL.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Samcardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

It was clear that the room had been smoked in for a long time. I am not sensitive to cigarette smoke, but this was BAD. They had no other rooms to give us. They brought in 2 fans to help circulate the air out the door. There were no windows that opened. For that matter, there were no windows to actually look out of; one was high up at the ceiling and the other was a side panel to the door that was covered over. We left for 4 hours to allow the air to improve. They did not offer us a discount or offer to find us a room at another hotel, nor did they have much to say about it or apologize. The smell was so bad we bought a can of Febreze to help improve it. Even the bed linens reeked of cigarettes. The next night, after we'd moved on to our next location, my daughter's pyjamas smelled of cigarettes from sleeping in that bed. Disgusting. Beware room #417.

The pool was nice, as was the view of the river and the kids' play area.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms with a view of the river. Avoid #417.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. What a difference between the service and amenities between this place and the motel (Hotl Georges) we stayed in Tadoussac for the same price.

When we checked in we asked for the ground floor as we were travelling with pets. When we checked the room it was in the terraced rear so not so easy to quickly let dogs out. Plus the bed was only a double. We returned to reception and asked for a room on the bottom level and, if possible, for a queen size bed. Room 101 was great. Also facing the Saguenay river as the room we turned down, the views are great. Our room isn't fancy bit it is clean and nice fresh linens on the "king" bed. Good sized mini fridge and air conditioning. Play area for children, launch for boats, a floating dock to tie your boat or to fish from. Ice is available reception. The only odd thing about our room is the bathroom. We jokingly commented that the toilet must be made for dwarfs as the seat is, at best, about 14 to 15 inches high. When you sit on it, your knees are actually halfway under the sink. The sink is also well below the standard position by probably 5 to 6 inches. Also the towel rack was only slightly above my knee level. Like I said odd, but not the end of the world. In fact, if you were travelling with young children it would probably be appreciated.

When we returned from our days drive our room had been refreshed and cleaned.

Lots of folks have been using the pool. The pool is well maintained, cleaned regularly (as we saw) and covered at night.

I''d stay here again if we were to return to the area. Forgot to mention there is a limited breakfast (more continental style) available for $$ should you choose. We had coffee at no charge and went down the road to Cafe Mont-Royal for breakfast (a 5 minute drive away towards the bridge)

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ontari0Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

The location is a few km from center of Chicoutimi, so walking along the river is a long way to get to a restaurant, but it gives you nice views and a relaxing atmosphere despite being close to a quite busy road. We stayed in building of the reception on ground floor facing river and did not hear anything from road. In morning there is breakfast you pay for depending on your choices, small room to eat it with view over river or just eat it outside your room. There is heated swimming pool which adds to holiday feeling. Staff was friendly, but rooms could do well with some renovations/refreshment.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BelgianInIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews