We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ohhh...the memories!!”
Review of Colonial Charm Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colonial Charm Inn
Ranked #4 of 44 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“ohhh...the memories!!”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

July of 2011 was my first time setting foot in PEI. Oddly enough, we arrived the same day as the Royal tour, so the airport grounds were packed with people. At first I was amazed how Charlottetown knew I was coming.... then I saw the handmade signs that said "Welcome Kate, we love you" ... Even though William isnt my type, I am still convinced all those people were there for me and my arrival!!...plus, my hat was better than hers that day!! lol

We stayed at the Colonial for our 10 days in the 2 bedroom condo and loved every day of our stay. We did the normal touristy things along with meeting so many nice people inside the BnB and out on our excursions. We ate in fantastic places, took in the night life and beaches along with attending The Full Monty...which was amazing!!

I was going to post on here the day after we arrived home in Winnipeg, but I felt the need to allow the high of our trip to wear off and wait to see how I felt with some time passing. To be honest, I left it too long and I forgot to put a post on here. Last night, I was sitting in my living room going through hundreds of pictures I took while there, and when I came to the section of the Colonial that same feeling came back to me as if I just came home.

If you ever have the chance to visit PEI and you do not stay at the Colonial Charm BnB, you have not fully experienced what Charlottetown has to offer. Reg, Garry and Shelley are by far the most entertaining and gracious hosts/tesses you will ever meet, and you cannot help but feel you are leaving a part of your family behind when you check out.

They come in contact with so many people, yet all of the staff have a way about them that make you feel that they have known you for years. This treatment of friendship and hospitality is something that bigger chains should really take a lesson from and learn from those who know how to treat guests properly.

We do plan on revisiting PEI again and without a doubt or second guess, Colonial Charm would be the only place we stay....regardless if people are at the airport for my arrival or not!! hehe...

Shelley, Garry and Reg, and the rest of your staff.... Thank you from myself and Dave and all the others who have stayed with you over the years in making your BnB a home away from home, a place where friends are made and memories that are never forgotten.

Matt and Dave

Room Tip: All of the rooms have their own distinct quality and features....To say stay in one and not the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattnDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialCharm, Manager at Colonial Charm Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your thoughts and comments. I have to say that we absolutely missed you the moment that you left and are waiting for your next visit. Everytime we think of your visit it brings a smile to my face. We enjoyed every minute and do hope that someday you will both make PEI a permanent residence. We know we will stay in contact either way.
thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    26
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
173
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The attitudes are so friendly and easy in this fun, atmospheric, and historical property. Shelley is full of helpful information and great directions. She is really unusually good at what she does, and such a wonderful resource for directions and recommendations for everything that PEI has to offer. We have stayed many times at the Colonial Charm Inn, but last September we really put Shelley, Gary, Reggie, and the rest of this really special staff to the test. We brought our adult children and their families and some good friends with us for the Shellfish festival. Three of the grand-children were three and under. We were made to feel very much at home. It was my husband's birthday, and Reggie baked us a fabulous cake. We celebrated with balloons and streamers. It was lovely to have the use of the common space for our celebrations, and also, once the small children were asleep, we were still able to be together. The other guests didn't seem to mind that we sort of took over. Shelley and co made it all work. It was a very memorable stay.

Room Tip: Children are made to feel very well accepted. The upstairs suite and the apartment are perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmaGw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialCharm, Manager at Colonial Charm Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
We will never be able to thank you enough for your never ending kindness. We feel so lucky that you found us that first time and we always look forward to your next visit and meeting more family members and friends. Your family is a gem and we know we will see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseburg, Deutschland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed for 4 Days in the Colonial Charm Inn and loved it very much.
We got help in any way, to find something in the town or for dinner in the evening or for roundtrips trough the Island.
The breakfast was excellent, the is a opportunitiy to drink Coffee or Tea at all time and they are offering selfcooked bakery, very delicious.

We would like to come back to P.E.I. someday and then we will stay in the Colonial Charm Inn again.

Kay and Ralf from Germany

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralf1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialCharm, Manager at Colonial Charm Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
We think of you both so often and definitely hope to see your part of the world someday. You taught us so much and your kindness will always be remembered and I know we will stay in contact.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2011

we chose this inn due to its locallity 10 minuets walk to my wife,s brother. we can,t praise shelly & garry enough nothing was too much trouble, breakfast was a suprise every day with biscuit,s and cake,s to help your self any time of day. another suprise for my wife ann this used to be the local store where her father came for candy when he was a lad ,our room the fosters suite was the ice cream parlour.we had our laundry done and use of a phone for local calls!!. shelly gary hannah&connor such a lovely family hannah being a budding young author with two book,s published already!.we may visit in the future to this lovely isle ,shelly & garry will be our first choice for a place to stay thak you for your hospitallity colin & ann uk

Room Tip: we stayed 14 night,s ensuite a must also fridge microwave tea coffee and use of a kitchen.we had gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinseath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialCharm, Manager at Colonial Charm Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
We feel so lucky to have had you stay with us. We enjoyed every minute of getting to know you both and hear all your amazing stories. We know you are a long way from here but we hope that you will make it here again and that you know you are always welcome with us. It was a complete delight and we thank again so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Sackville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This oct we had the pleasure of staying at the Colonial Charm Inn in Charlottetown PEI , our trip was made more pleasureable thanks to Shelley and Gary the owners of the INN.The rooms were so delightful , and the morning breakfast was a culinary delight.Also there knowledge of the city was a great help. We would certainly stay there again , it just felt like home . Thanks to the Staff
Harvey and Carol Ann Lane

Room Tip: Really liked the suite we were in great for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialCharm, Manager at Colonial Charm Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
We absolutely could never say enough about how much we enjoyed having you both with us. If we could have you move in we would do it in a flash. You are an amazing couple of we will always think of you like family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.3 km away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.5 km away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.8 km away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.7 km away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.9 km away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Prince Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Charm Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Charm Inn

Property: Colonial Charm Inn
Address: 9 Euston St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1V5, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,679 - ₹ 10,090
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Charm Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning B&B in the heart of historic downtown Charlottetown. We are a close walk to all Charlottetown attractions, restaurants, theatre, parks, etc. Rooms all have private bath, cable tv, dvd, wireless high speed internet, private phone, business center available with computer, fax, printer, copier. Full breakfast included, personal friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Colonial Charm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing