We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Great George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Great George
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

As with previous visits we had a Great stay. The service was over the top, accommodations surpassed expecations and the staff went above and beyond to ensure our enjoyment. From the hotel's perfect location, the staff's efforts in finding and booking great dining locations for our family and a larger group event, to the comfortable beds, the Great George was a home away from home. In fact it was like staying with family, without the overcrowding! ;)

Room Tip: We stayed with our 9 and 10 year old children in one of their "houses" next to the main ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridgejeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    83
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
92
276
27
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

I had the distinct pleasure of staying at the Great George Hotel in May while on business. The hotel, a collaboration of historic buildings under 1 management team, is a must do for the discriminating traveller. The Victorian charm of the property was complimented by the comfy four poster beds, the excellent food, and most of all, the willingness of Rachel and her staff to go the extra mile when required. I never get a good nights sleep while on business in the "cookie cutter" express hotels, but my week at the George was bliss.
I am already planning a return to the George with my wife, for the ambience.

Kim C.

Room Tip: Ask Rachel for the Perkins suite, where Reba slept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

The ambiance of The Great George was remarkable. Then, we encountered the terrific staff, led by Rachel. The phrase, "Your wish is our command" came to mind several times.
Our large group held a business reception at the Wellington Boardroom. It dawned on me a day later that we were walking on historic and hallowed ground. I want to say thank you to Vanessa for her cheerful assistance with the beverages. It was amazing to see the hotel staff working to make our event just that......an event. Excellent work you guys!! Thanks for the drawn butter too.

We did have the pleasure to meet the owner, Kevin Murphy at the hotel, ate several meals at his associated restaurants and just had a fabulous time. On leaving, he and family were at the Charlotte town airport too. I haven't given recommendations before but am happy to give this one. The Great George, Gahans, Sims, Charlottetown & PEI, we shall return!!

Room Tip: Great cookies and all smiles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GG58GGS, Director of Sales at The Great George, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at The Great George. I am so very pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and that you found our team to be friendly. It was great to hear that you were able to meet the owner Kevin plus take advantage of all the great dining establishments within footsteps of the hotel. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Rooms are large, up-to-date and fully equipped (love the antiques, including the top-notch mattresses on four poster beds). Service was accommodating, timely, positive, friendly and thorough. Great for business trips or romantic getaways.

Room Tip: Not a bad room out of seven in our group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GG58GGS, Director of Sales at The Great George, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Glad you enjoyed The Great George. Hope your back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

I have traveled the world and NO WHERE have I experienced the type of service we encountered at The Great George. Our company booked 8 rooms for a trade show and everyone was blown away with the across the board level of service from top to bottom. All the rooms were different and the beds were amazing. Quaint, quiet location near everything and the historical background was simply amazing. We had our hospitality night where the founding founders of Canada used to come drink. Walked around with a smile on my face the entire week we were there. The GM, Rachel, was basically at our beckon call and helped us with every aspect of our visit, from helping the hospitality night go off flawlessly to helping with shipping many boxes home.
Our last day there we had the pleasure of meeting the owner, Kevin Murphy who also owns 8 or so restaurants nearby. We ate at one of his restaurants 3 times in 2 days! Our last night we ate at Simms, (which he owns too) and it may have been the best steak ever!
I cannot recommend this hotel enough. They were so accommodating I still can't believe it and promise you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel V, General Manager at The Great George, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thank you Charles, for your kind words and wonderful review of The Great George. Your group was such a pleasure to deal with and we certainly hope that we will see you again soon on your next visit to PEI. We'll have fresh cookies ready for you!

Thank you again for your feedback - we appreciate it!
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.6 km away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.2 km away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.5 km away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Prince Edward
0.5 km away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.6 km away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great George? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great George

Property: The Great George
Address: 58 Great George St., Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4K3, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,830 - ₹ 16,704
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Great George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique cluster of fully restored, 4 1/2 star heritage buildings situated within the streetscape splendour of Charlottetown's National Historic District. 50 guest rooms and suites + 4 luxury condos sure to satisfy the senses of the most discriminating traveler. Choose from the 21-room Victorian Pavilion, the intimate five-room Wellington House, family-friendly townhouses business-savvy Stable House or romantic Hideaway Suites. Deluxe rooms featuring fireplace, Jacuzzi or claw-foot tub. Frommers 2004: "One of Charlottetown's very classiest addresses." Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Great George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great George Hotel Charlottetown
Great George Charlottetown
Great George Hotel Charlottetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing