We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury boutique property in downtown Charlottetown”
Review of The Great George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Great George
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2011

The location of the Great George is excellent; close to the waterfront, great restaurants, Province House, Confederation Centre, shopping, yet quiet and relaxing. The property is huge comprising of 18 renovated houses. The lobby is welcoming and full of antiques and quirky things. There is an exercise room downstairs. Lots of free parking. Breakfast is provided every morning in the lobby area. Lots of famous people have stayed here including Regis Philbin and Elton John.

Room Tip: Best to ask for a room in one of the many houses they have as the rooms will be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamdowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GG58GGS, Director of Sales at The Great George, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

Dear Jamdowngirl,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Great George. I am delighted that you enjoyed the pictures of our "famed" guests, our location plus you had the chance to relax while visiting. We hope to be your hotel of choice when you return to Charlottetown.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Best Regards,
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

526 - 530 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

I decided to treat my wife and I to Sunday breakfast in bed. The breakfast is included in the room rate but room service cost a reasonable $8.00 per person. I was impressed by the promptness of my order and the smartly dressed staff who presented us with a lovely arrangement for our breakfast. At checkout I was told that the room service charged was waved. What a wonderful gesture by a hotel, whose personnel is most accommodating and gracious.

Room Tip: ASk for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelhoundIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Such a lovely hotel and the staff were truly excellent. Our accommodation was excellent and we loved the complimentary coffee and cookies in the afternoon. There is a beautiful church just across the street and the tourist information centre is an easy walk. My only criticism (and it is a minor one) is that breakfast was a little awkward. Rather than a dining room set-up, it is large settees/arm chairs and low tables. I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to go back some day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Witter-Coombs House. Two bedrooms on the first floor and one on the second so plen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qwerty2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We've stayed at the Great George for 2 nights as our "Minimoon" and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel!
You walk into the lobby and you discover a world of pleasures. The decoration of the hotel is classic English style and you feel like you are back in the 19 century.
We got the Huges House and loved it! Everything in the room is new and comfortable, the bed is like sleeping on a cloud - we didn't want to wake up. But there's definitely something to wake up for, the breakfast. Amazing breakfast with so many things to choose from! The breakfast is served in the lobby and you get to enjoy the fine food and furniture with complimentary newspapers.
The service is another thing that will definitely make us go back to the great george. The staff is friendly and professional and will do ANYTHING you ask them to. Everyday they go between all the rooms to distribute ice and chocolates. Every day between 5pm and 6pm there's a guest reception, in which the staff serve you free wine and beer. Don't forget the complimentary fresh baked cookies and water all day long.
To sum up, staying at the Great George is not only a good stay - it's an experience of a life time! This is by far the best hotel in Charlottetown and the best I've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the "houses" instead of the main building, you might have to add a bit to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I only stayed at this lovely hotel for one night, but the property "works" because it has nice elements of both a larger "chain" hotel and the charm of a well-run bed and breakfast (including a beer and wine happy hour, and the local beer is terrific, and a far above average continental breakfast with addictive baked goods). The rooms are outfitted in a nice antique-y style that compliment the property's historic underpinnings. Charlottetown, especially with this particular hotel, reminded me a lot of Dublin.

Room Tip: This is your perfect property if you like staying "in town" and you walk a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIquidLIvingEditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.2 km away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
456 reviews
0.3 km away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.6 km away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
294 reviews
0.4 km away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#8 of 23 in Charlottetown
520 reviews
0.6 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#9 of 23 in Charlottetown
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great George? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great George

Address: 58 Great George St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4K3, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range: ₹ 10,862 - ₹ 17,626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Great George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique cluster of fully restored, 4 1/2 star heritage buildings situated within the streetscape splendour of Charlottetown's National Historic District. 50 guest rooms and suites + 4 luxury condos sure to satisfy the senses of the most discriminating traveler. Choose from the 21-room Victorian Pavilion, the intimate five-room Wellington House, family-friendly townhouses business-savvy Stable House or romantic Hideaway Suites. Deluxe rooms featuring fireplace, Jacuzzi or claw-foot tub. Frommers 2004: "One of Charlottetown's very classiest addresses." Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Great George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great George Hotel Charlottetown
Great George Charlottetown
Great George Hotel Charlottetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing