We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Think You Can Do Better Re Food & Price”

Wah Sing Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #2,169 of 9,302 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Description: Welcome to Wah Sing Seafood Restaurant! Proudly serving Toronto since 1982, we offer fresh, Chinese inspired seafood dishes in an upscale, contemporary atmosphere. Located in the heart of Baldwin Village downtown, Wah Sing Seafood Restaurant is famous for our irresistible lobster. Served in ten delicious styles including Curry Lobster, Lemongrass Lobster, Tom Yum Lobster, and more, you'll fall in love with each unique flavor profile. Our low-lit, romantic dining space makes for the perfect date destination. Share our popular two-for-one lobster special for only $35.96! Wah Sing Seafood Restaurant promises a unique dining experience, moderate prices, and quality service. We feature an extensive assortment of traditional Chinese dishes including Szechuan Chicken, Braised Duck, Mixed Seafood Chow Mein, Sizzling Oriental Style Filet Mignon, and Spicy Jumbo Shrimp dish. Hosting a private party or event? Our private second floor can seat up to forty guests comfortably and is perfect for any special occasion. Dine at Wah Sing Seafood Restaurant today! We look forward to serving you soon.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Friends recommended this place. I have been to far superior places, one in particular at Spadina and Baldwin, for Sechwan style seafood and regular dishes. The lobsters were fine, though small for the price (two for about $45), already cut up (I prefer them halved or quartered at least so I can cut the parts I want). The other dishes were fine. They do give you 11 options for the type you want (ie ginger, curry, black bean, etc) which is ore than in most places, but I would rather have less choice and better food. No desserts except cookies. But they did have a red and a white wine which was appreciated. I don't think I will return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mezcal_Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty C, Owner at Wah Sing Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

We appreciate you leaving your feedback, but we're disappointed we didn't wow you this visit. We're capable of better, and we hope you'll return so we have the chance to impress you. We'd love to recommend our favorites -- we're sure we can help you find something you'll enjoy. - Wah Sing Seafood Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

In a word – appalling. I have been eating at Chinese restaurants in Toronto for over 25 years and, unequivocally, this is the very worst I have ever been subject to. Tonight’s special was ‘Breaded Shrimp.’ These were the mass produced, pre packaged variety, totally without favour – little wonder they provided a dish of poor quality sweet plum sauce – fish fingers would have been more appealing. The Young Chow Fired rice was cold – when I complained it was zapped and re-served – the quality was again exceedingly poor – it had the look and taste of rice that had been hanging around for several hours – in all probability from the lunch time trade. Given the wealth of Chinese restaurants in Toronto you do not need to sink to these levels - for good quality and fairly priced Chinese food try Asian Legend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty C, Owner at Wah Sing Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We're disappointed we weren't able to get your meal to your preference this time. We're sure we capable of better, and we hope you'll join us again so we may recommend our favorites -- we're sure we can help you find something from our menu you'll enjoy. If anything ever comes out less than perfect, let us know so we can take care of it on the spot. Till next time. - Wah Sing Seafood Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Just went on foodora for the first time. Ordered online came in 40 minutes and hot. Ordered double lobster with noodles scallops and peas and jumbo spicy shrimps....wow delicious. Will definitely order the next time in town. Sorry no photos ate it too fast. They delivered to Marriott city centre.

Thank cristina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty C, Owner at Wah Sing Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thanks, Cristina! Glad to hear everything got to you hot and delicious. Hope to serve you next time you're in the area. Till then. - Wah Sing Seafood Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Recommended by several of our family members living in TO, our foray to this eatery temple made famous by the popular Double Lobster Special (2 plates of Cantonese-style Lobster with different sauces for $45.95) does not disappoint. The menu is quite large and covers all tastes: Tofu and Vegetables hotpot is delicious, Cantonese Chow mein is quite greasy and small serving, Sauteed Vegetables very acceptable and many many more.
Decor is pretty tired, needs some freshen up; round tables are large but no lazy susan!! Service is EXCELLENT, staff does everything to please customers.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ntee6603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty C, Owner at Wah Sing Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

We're happy to hear you've tried quite a few items, and they impressed you. We appreciate the feedback, and we hope we'll get the chance to offer great service to you again soon. All the best 'til then. - Wah Sing Seafood Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

I don't want to tell that it's the best Chinese restaurant in Toronto or that it's the best seafood restaurant in GTA, but if you love lobsters, you have to visit this place.

The design is pretty standard. The service is quick and good. And their Double lobster special ($46 for 2) is a great value.
You'll get a big plate with 2 tender lobsters. But if you are hungry, I would advise to order extra appetizer or rice or noodle. We got Mushroom Fried Rice. Calorie-wise maybe Double lobster is OK for 2 people, but without rice I wouldn't feel full.

One piece of advice for an improvement: you should offer some vegetable dishes, which are not Chinese. Like garden or Caesar salad, broccoli, etc.

The place is very popular: we were lucky to be settled without any wait time, but we saw people waiting for 20-30 mins in line. And that's on the Baldwin street where are 2 other Chinese seafood restaurants - 2- 20 meters away, - offer pretty much the same menu, but have almost no customers (we visited on Sunday afternoon).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ivan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty C, Owner at Wah Sing Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thanks for the lobster love, Ivan. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our meal, and we appreciate all of your feedback. We hope you'll return so we can make it perfect next time. All the best. - Wah Sing Seafood Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wah Sing Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wah Sing Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing