We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portico Restaurant and Bar

Portico Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Portico Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #425 of 8,225 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 30 - US$ 51
Cuisines: International, Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Victoria Street
Description: Step into a world of luxurious decor, gourmet cuisine, and welcoming service at Portico -- a tantalizing downtown Toronto restaurant. Lose yourself in a brilliant atmosphere of wood finishings, bronze mirrors, and plush furniture. Join us on a global culinary journey -- an enticing and intriguing fusion menu showcasing elements of Italian fare. All our offerings are freshly prepared daily, reflecting the season"s bounty. Whether you seek a power lunch, or a superb dining experience, this great downtown Toronto restaurant will delight and inspire you.
Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Great food and great service conviently located in the Cambridge Suites hotel.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank tokyohos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTICOmngr, Manager at Portico Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear tokyohos,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in Portico Restaurant! Our culinary and service team were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your meal and our service. If you ever need anything please do not hesitate to ask. Sincerely, Katerina Lagoudakis- Food and Beverage Manager at Cambridge Suites Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    69
    15
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Awesome service; again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

I recently had the pleasure of dining at Portico Restaurant and just wanted to say that not only is the food fabulous but the service is exceptional! Cecile's service was fantastic! Not only knowledgeable about the food, she was friendly, efficient and very attentive. Portico Restaurant offers exceptional service, as does Cambridge Suites Hotel. Fast forward, weeks later, I went in for dessert & tea and who served me? Cecile and she knew my name! Always a fantastic experience!! Go check it out yourself! Thanks Cecile, Portico & Cambridge Suites for always going the extra mile!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dl_harrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTICOmngr, Manager at Portico Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear dl_harrison,
Thank you for your wonderful comments!! Cecile's face lit up once she heard about your thoughtful words!! I am very happy to hear that our team exceeded your expectations and we are all looking forward to seeing you in the near future. If I can ever be of assistance to you, please do not hesitate to ask. Sincerely, Katerina Lagoudakis- Food & Beverage Manager at Cambridge Suites Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

The service was attentive, a little smaller menu, it is posted on the internet. One of us had the shrimp and scallop risotto, which had lots of seafood and was delicious. I had the salmon which the staff made to order as I am allergic to garlic. It came atop white beans in a buerre blanc sauce and sauteed spinach. My sister had the whitefish which came with asparagus and risotto. All entrees were delicious. Good selection of cocktails. Could use more wine options. The only suggestion is the bread came out cold and it would have been nice if they had been heated before hand. The butter was a chipotle butter but suprisingly not too spicy, very yummy. We only ordered one dessert as we were too full, the chocolat pot de creme - we ordered it to go. It was yummy as well. If we stayed in this area again I would go.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Merbear47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We were a little hesitant when we arrived as the place was almost empty. The food and service were great . The fish was excellent and the scallop and shrimp risotto great also. We were very pleased.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank melka66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTICOmngr, Manager at Portico Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Melka66,
Thank you for trying out Portico Restaurant and taking the time to write about your wonderful experience! We are delighted to hear that our culinary team and service team surprised you and we look forward to having you dine in our restaurant again. If I can ever be of assistance to you please do not hesitate to ask. Sincerely, Katerina Lagoudakis -Food and beverage manager at Cambridge Suites Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

very relaxed, attentive staff, nice porridge, the room is kitted out with comfy seating and the bar area has great settees

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank nigelandhayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTICOmngr, Manager at Portico Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Nigelandhayley,
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review! Our staff is delighted to hear that you were pleased with their service and our dining atmosphere! If I can ever be of assistance to you please do not hesitate to ask. Sincerely, Katerina Lagoudakis- Food and Beverage Manager at Cambridge Suites Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portico Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Portico Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing