We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portico Restaurant and Bar

Portico Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Portico Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #508 of 8,410 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 30 - US$ 51
Cuisines: Canadian, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Victoria Street
Description: Step into a world of luxurious decor, gourmet cuisine, and welcoming service at Portico -- a tantalizing downtown Toronto restaurant. Lose yourself in a brilliant atmosphere of wood finishings, bronze mirrors, and plush furniture. Join us on a global culinary journey -- an enticing and intriguing fusion menu showcasing elements of Italian fare. All our offerings are freshly prepared daily, reflecting the season"s bounty. Whether you seek a power lunch, or a superb dining experience, this great downtown Toronto restaurant will delight and inspire you.
Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We hadn't known what to expect for a hotel restaurant; we were pleasantly surprised. Service was great, it wasn't busy (so we weren't rushed), convenient location, and the food was delicious! My entree came from the daily specials and was the favorite of the table, braised short ribs. But afte trying all the meals, I would have been happy eating any of them. However, the desserts were a disappointment - I would suggest going elsewhere. On the upside they had fresh brewed decaf ready, a treat considering we're used to have to waiting for decaf.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank beachlighthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTICOmngr, Manager at Portico Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear thefranki,
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Our culinary team is very happy to hear that we impressed you with our entrees and we’re also very pleased that our coffee service exceeded your expectations! As for our desserts, I am very sorry that we disappointed you and we hope to have another opportunity to show you how our Chef & his culinary team are always trying to move forward with new & better recipes! If I can ever be of service to you, please do not hesitate to ask. Sincerely, Katerina Lagoudakis – Food and Beverage Manager at Cambridge Suites Hotel Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    72
    15
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This restaurant is top rate and the quality of the service is fit for royalty. The food is amazing and the restaurant is very lovely but the service was above and beyond.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillian70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTICOmngr, Manager at Portico Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Lillian 70,
Thank you for your thoughtful comments and review. My team and I were thrilled to read that you enjoyed your experience and we can’t wait for the next opportunity to serve you again. If I can ever be of service to you, please do not hesitate to ask. Sincerely, Katerina Lagoudakis – Food and Beverage Manager at Cambridge Suites Hotel Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, quaint ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The food was fantastic and the attention given to our special occasion was lovely.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tramath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTICOmngr, Manager at Portico Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Tramath,
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am very happy to see our service & culinary team went the extra mile for you –especially when there’s a special occasion! We look forward to having you dine with us again and hopefully create more wonderful experiences. If I can ever be of service to you, please do not hesitate to ask. Sincerely, Katerina Lagoudakis – Food and Beverage Manager at Cambridge Suites Hotel Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmm Winterlicious!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

I admit that it isn't unusual to find myself wandering into Portico to meet my love for a late afternoon glass of wine and if we haven't crammed lunch into our day beforehand, sit and enjoy something off the menu. To our surprise last week we had the pleasure of trying out the Winterlicious menu. As the restaurant was packed to the brim with excited clientele enjoying the week long specials, we tolerated that our favorite seats were taken and joined some other regulars at the bar. The bar seating ended up being a fantastic choice as I leaned over and perused the trio next to us who had each ordered a different item off the Winterlicious menu. Our wonderful bar tender Mary joined in with our obvious intake of the smells coming from next to us and shared the details of the exciting new menu with us. Thanks Mary! Even though we were out of place we had an excellent Winterlicious lunch with the usual superior service!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cj8130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTICOmngr, Manager at Portico Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear cj8130,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I am so happy to hear about your wonderful winterlicious experience with us - I know Mary and our team will be excited to hear your great feedback! We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future. If I can ever be of any assistance to you, please do not hesitate to ask. Sincerely, Katerina Lagoudakis – Food and Beverage Manager at Cambridge Suites Hotel Toronto. You can also follow us on twitter @PorticoTO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

A full breakfast, more than just croisants and bagels.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTICOmngr, Manager at Portico Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Doug B,
Thank you for your feedback, I am glad to see you were happy with our breakfast choices; in the next few weeks we are looking at enhancing our breakfast buffet with more items and hope to exceed everyone’s expectations!! We look forward to seeing you in the near future. Please feel free to contact me if you need anything. Sincerely, Katerina Lagoudakis – Food and Beverage Manager at Cambridge Suites Hotel Toronto. You can also follow us on twitter @PorticoTO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portico Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Portico Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing