We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Restaurant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oyster Boy

Oyster Boy
Ranked #165 of 8,410 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Queen Street and West Queen West
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

There were 7 of us for dinner at Oyster Boy on Saturday night. All but one loves oysters so we must have had 4 dozen, trying various kinds (east coast, west coast)including Oysters Rockefeller. We ordered 2 Lobsters as well and 2 types of salads and everything was exceptional. My son, the chef, suggested we go and we can't wait to go back! One suggestion: we went early (5:30 pm) and I'm glad we did. We shared the restaurant with only a few tables at that time and saw how busy it was when we left at 7:45 pm.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bonlou30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    45
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Consistently wonderful. My favourite restaurant in Toronto.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

If you love seafood, Oyster Boy is a restaurant you must go to at least once. Trouble is, once you've been once, you're likely to go again.

With its cozy, nautical atmosphere, fantastic staff and service, and incredibly fresh food, Oyster Boy is bar-none the favourite restaurant for my man and I in the city. We frequent it as often as we can and in all our visits there, have never been disappointed.

Unassuming when you enter, Oyster Boy is unpretentious, down-to-earth, and local. The oysters are very fresh, and probably the best priced in the city, as most other establishments get their oysters sourced from Oyster Boy. The staff are friendly and helpful, and can always be counted on to let you know some great new oysters to try - if you don't like oysters, they may just change your mind. We've brought many friends over the years, who have turned into oyster lovers after a visit.

I highly recommend any P.E.I oysters - especially for those trying oysters for the first time. They're smaller and sweeter.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank artichokefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Smoked Trout Caesar Salad is divine - the service is not!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Ate there with my partner in April, and the food is awesome. Oysters are so fresh that they almost swim down your throat. The lobster was perfectly cooked. The smoked trout Caesar salad was so good I had some more for desert. It is a cosy place, and the menu is wonderful. However, something must have happened to our server. It took over an hour for our oysters to come. We asked if they were still trying to catch them or what? The rest of the food took another 30 minutes.

However, the food is good enough that we might give it another try.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BmmrBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

really really fresh. well decorated, cozy, loved it. The oysters are the best in town. The owners been at it for so long. Very cool guy. Expert.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great oysters, great beer and good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

This was my second visit to Oyster Boy; the first being earlier this year. I've never been a fan of oysters but Oyster Boy is changing this. The oysters are fresh and tasty, the service is good, the beer (Beau Lagered) is great and the fresh bread is incredible. A great place to eat. My only complaint would be that the tables are small and the high, bar stool-style, seats get a bit uncomfortable after awhile.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oyster Boy also viewed

 

Been to Oyster Boy? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing