We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgrade service as well as the menu”
Review of The Host

The Host
Ranked #280 of 9,177 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 38
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Description: Estd. 1996. Part of the host group. Celebrity chef Sanjeev Sethi's restaurant.
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

A longtime favourite restaurant, so expectations are high.
We like the updates and changes to the menu which keeps it interesting.
The appetizers and mains were all very good as expected.
Service was fairly slow and Inattentive.
The server wanted to leave the cutlery used for appetizers and I suggested he should remove it.
He did, but chose not to replace it.
This attitude should be updated also.
Getting the bill was a challenge as well.
They need to add a server or these things will affect business longer term.

Thank Bruno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2018

We recently went to The Host for dinner. The food was very good and the service through most of the evening was very good as well. We made reservations at 8:00 pm. At 9:30, while we are finishing our wine, we are approached by the table next to us. She indicated that she had a reservation and we should vacate our table since she reserved it. It is clear she is a regular. At no point did the staff indicate that we had to leave as others who were there before us were still dining. We obviously felt very uncomfortable and felt compelled to leave. No staff were there to acknowledge the issue or deal with this; however, the minute we left we can see that they were setting up the extra tables. So, my recommendation for the restaurant is that it is great for regulars, but if you are a visitor, do not expect to be treated well.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank luciperr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay S, Owner at The Host, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Hello: Thanks for your feedback. Barring the incident at the end, we are happy you enjoyed. We apologize that you were asked by another guest to vacate the table. Please be assured none of the host staff will ever give preference to one guest over another. I'll conduct a meeting with manager on duty to discuss the issue. Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Recommended by an Indian colleague who joined us for a great meal. There is a small dining room at the back of the main restaurant which was great for our conversations
Each course is a la carte so be prepared for the bill. A couple of Indian beers were available
The food was excellent with reasonable portions

Thank JCDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay S, Owner at The Host, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Hello. Thanks for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed. Sincerely Host Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

I have been here before about a year ago. The food is still excellent and the staff, as usual , super friendly and very attentive. A great place. I will be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Omar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay S, Owner at The Host, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Hello. Thanks for your comments. We are here in this location for over 20yrs. Glad you enjoyed. Sincerely The Host Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

We all enjoyed our pre-music show dinner at The Host in downtown Toronto. It was our 1st time in this location. They have other locations in other cities. The set up are quite classic; wall sconces and white linen. Most of all we enjoyed the dishes that we had. Good things comes in small package, how I wish we had bigger portions!

Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay S, Owner at The Host, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Hello and Thanks for your feedback. Always our pleasure to serve our guests. Looking forward to your next visit. Chef is considering upping some portion sizes.Sincerely The Host Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Host also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to The Host? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;