We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An upscale setting Indian restaurant ”
Review of The Host

The Host
Ranked #254 of 9,301 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 38
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Description: Estd. 1996. Part of the host group. Celebrity chef Sanjeev Sethi's restaurant.
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

We all enjoyed our pre-music show dinner at The Host in downtown Toronto. It was our 1st time in this location. They have other locations in other cities. The set up are quite classic; wall sconces and white linen. Most of all we enjoyed the dishes that we had. Good things comes in small package, how I wish we had bigger portions!

Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay S, Owner at The Host, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Hello and Thanks for your feedback. Always our pleasure to serve our guests. Looking forward to your next visit. Chef is considering upping some portion sizes.Sincerely The Host Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Wonderful food and service! We had a late lunch of Chana Masala and chicken vindaloo, with excellent naan. The only downside: we were too full to try any dessert.

Thank Colleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay S, Owner at The Host, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Hello Thanks for your feedback.Glad you enjoyed. You missed the best part, our kulfi ice cream. Looking forward to your next visit. Sincerely. Host Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

Very upscale Indian restaurant. Attentive staff and delicious food. I like the fact that they play authentic Indian music as well. A very nice place for dinner.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marni2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay S, Owner at The Host, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thanks. Interesting you noticed our music selection. We had given the responsibility to pick songs to our new and young teammates. Good to hear they are adding to experience.Come back soon. Sincerely Host Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Went here for winterlicious.
The service was goid and prompt, but not overly friendly.
The food tasted great had the butter chicken, chicken vindaloo and lamb curry. It was beautifully presented in small tins each with curries salad and rice. The flavours are truly great. Also had Samoa and chicken tikka tikka as appetizers. Both tasty tikka tikka was extremely spicy.
The nann was good as well light and crispy.
The mango ice cream the most mangoest tasting ice cream, also had the cheese dessert, which I did not care for.
Only down side is that there was very little meat.
For 33.00 dinner I expected more than 3 small pieces of meat in each of the curries. Not sure if this was due to winterlicious or if this is the norm.


Thank torontoshutterbug65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay S, Owner at The Host, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Hello. Glad you enjoyed. Couple of suggestion you had given are already been discussed among staff. Looking forward to serve you soon. Sincerely Host Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

Such a great find! Our lunch was wonderful and our server, Ahmed (pls excuse my spelling) was friendly and professional. They were busy so I definitely would make reservations in the future.

Thank bevchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Host also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to The Host? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing