We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location at a great price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Downtown Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Ranked #64 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location at a great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed a week and would definitely use this hotel again. Staff were friendly, the location was perfect for our purpose (shopping, touring the city), and the room was spacious and clean. Fridge and microwave in the room helped us save on our food budget (Loblaws grocery store is just a few blocks away on Queen St., and we could save our leftovers from meals out); also allowed us to supplement the not-so-great hotel breakfast with yogurt. Streetcar stops right in front of the hotel, and we were within walking distance of most things we wanted to see and do - Kensington Market, best Chinese food in the city, Art Gallery, Queen St shopping, etc. Front desk helpfully arranged for a shuttle to the airport on our last day for a 5 a.m. pick-up.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    587
    357
    120
    61
See reviews for
387
399
121
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Centrally located, clean and reasonably priced. Smack dab in Toronto's downtown Chinatown (there are at least three other large Asian areas besides this one). The walls are a bit thin (we had trouble with a party going on in the room next to ours but the Manager made it right. The real draw to this hotel is the location. The restaurants in this Chinatown are very good. King's Noodle is always a good choice for authentic noodles in an authentically shabby Chinese restaurant. Our new favorite dim sum restaurant in this area, now that Bright Pearl is closed, is Rol San on Spadina with its variations off classic dim sum themes, excellent service and very nice atmosphere. The hotel is minute's walk from Kensington Market with its cool retro hippie vibe of vintage stores (our fave is Courage, My Love), two great bakeries, cheese shops and various groceries and culturally themed restaurants. A must visit is the redesigned and renovated Art Gallery of Ontario (AGO) also within walking distance. Don't miss the Bernini sculptures or the room dedicated to Ruben's "Massacre of the Innocents". The free and fairly frequent guided tours are fantastic. The second floor, pretty much all Canadian art and landscapes is like a walk in the wilderness.

You can stay at the hotel and within fairly short walking distance spend several days in what is another world of culture, society and art.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelat2709
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Lovely hotel at a good price for the location. Staff were very helpful and room was kept immaculately clean. Thankyou! Would definately stay again, and reccommend to friends!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angelat2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

I stayed 10 days, I got several rooms because I was travelling with my family. The "super 8 breakfast" is good enough to begin the day, croissants, bread, muffins, cereal, milk, juice, coffee, peanut butter, jam, butter, cream cheese and bagels, and the lady who attends there is amazing, she is short in english but she is always smiling. In the same way the rooms are always clean, and there are microwave, fridge and TV. The location is perfect, because you can walk to most of the touristic points in toronto. The service is very kind, people at front desk are very helpful, regardless the parking is $20 per day, they want you to save some bucks through different ways. Except the only lady at front desk. Who is very impatient, she has no idea about service. If you need something wait the next shift to ask, never try to solve something with her. She even tried to take advantage of one of relatives who doesn't speak english. She charge him the room & tax when I already pay. She tried to do the same with me, unfortunately for her I work in tourism and I know what to do. for this situation I asked her for the manager and she told me that there was no manager and she has no idea when she will arrive. However I will return to this hotel in a couple of months because everything was excellent but she.

Room Tip: outside view, they are not noisy at all and have view to the CN
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Themexicancritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

We were looking for a place to stay for only a night. We found this hotel on the Internet which was near where we were supposed to pick up our daughter arriving back from oversea. After reading the reviews we decided to go ahead and book. We did not regret our decision! It is located right in Chinatown and near the University of Toronto, CN tower, Roger Center etc. Although the hotel is located right on Spadina, we found it very quiet especially since our room was on the other side ( Cameron St.). We were presently surprised at the size of the room. It was pretty well- equipped with a coffee/tea-maker, a safe, a microwave oven, a small fridge etc. The location is ideal if you enjoy shopping in Chinatown and for good Asian food including Chinese, Korean, Thai, Vietnamese. We enjoyed our stay except for some inconsiderate noisy neigbours who came into their room at around 2 am in the morning laughing and talking so loud that we were waken up from our deep sleep. Apart from this incident, we did not find anything terribly wrong with this hotel keeping in mind that this is a budget hotel and not five-star. We paid $14 for an overnight parking which we think was reasonable.
We will definitely stay in this hotel again if we need to stay in or near Chinatown.
Oh, one other thing, the WiFi is free but I found it way too slow.

Room Tip: If you'd like a view of the CN tower, choose a room on Spadina Ave. If you'd prefer quietnes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taijime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#82 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Chinatown
Studio 6 Toronto
Studio 6 Toronto
#90 of 132 in Toronto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Downtown
Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#55 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#52 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Downtown Toronto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Downtown Toronto

Property: Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Address: 222 Spadina Ave, Toronto, Ontario M5T 2C2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,284 - ₹ 10,830
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Downtown Toronto 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Super 8 Downtown Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Toronto Hotel Toronto
Super Eight Toronto
Toronto Super 8
Toronto Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing