We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel I've Ever Stayed In!!!”
Review of Planet Traveler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Planet Traveler
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Hostel I've Ever Stayed In!!!”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I travelled last summer alone around the USA and Canada one of my stops was in Toronto I stayed in this hostel and just LOVED it. I stayed in a lot of hostels on my travels but this hostel stands out to me as it was just amazing. The staff are fantastic and the hostel owner it a very nice man! I was initially worried about staying in a 'green' hostel but after reading great reviews I thought I'd give it a try and Im definitely glad I did. This is more like a hotel than a hostel, the staff are so friendly, they have so many facilities to use free of charge and lots of events in the evenings for all the travellers. The common room there was just so nice too, with such a nice atmosphere, I was travelling alone but not once felt alone in this hostel!! Its also all sound proofed i remember when I was there one of the houses opposite was on fire and there was so much commotion going on outside and from inside the hostel you could not tell one bit (in a very good way)..they also provide a really nice breakfast and have free pasta and rice available and free laundry (just add your own soap) andddd its got a 24hr store next door! I can not recommend this place highly enough!! Oh and theres a tram stop right outside the door!! Oh and dont worry about it being a green hostel its not dark AT ALL infact its really well lit and there were no issues about hot water whatsoever!!.. andddd they give really large lockers. Honestly. STAY HERE ITS DEFINITELY WORTH IT! lots of couples stayed here anddd loads of single travellers!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    93
    16
    4
    6
See reviews for
10
50
165
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I went to toronto last month and spend 2 nights here. This place is beyond my expectation. It's clean, safe, peaceful and very energic, friendly staff. The location is ok, convenient for subway and bus, also near china town and U of T. I stayed in private room. This is also real green, eco hostel. There is common room and ktichen room at basement and Party room at roof top.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalzeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights while attending a conference, and loved the hostel. Clean, friendly people, nice common areas with computers, telephones, tables, couches, and TVs, even a rooftop bar. Wireless internet everywhere. Great breakfast provided, as well as staple foods like coffee, tea, rice and popcorn. Shared a room with 5 strangers who all kept different hours, but each 6-bed dorm room has a separate sleeping room, entryway with lockers, and bathroom, so we didn't wake each other up as we came and went. I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I am very impressed by this place. The location is excellent, and close to transportation. The sheets and towels are good, the place is clean. There is a full kitchen (fridge/freezer, stove, microwave) for use. For FREE there are basic pantry basics available, as well as popcorn for snacking. Also included is free breakfast (available from 7:00am to 1pm) and a dinner on Saturday night.The free wireless is a great bonus too. Staff are friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jes874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I have stayed in many hostels around the world and Planet Traveler is my number one. It is quite hard to fault this hostel in any way. It is well equipped, it is very CLEAN and the rooms are new/fresh with windows and climate control. The rooms have very comfortable bedding especially in the private rooms, although the dorm rooms are still great. There are also great big lockers for storing valuable and chargers inside the lockers too!

I stayed at the hostel on and off over a six week period and so did many of my close friends here in Toronto. When we met at the hostel, it had a great social atmosphere and I'm guessing that it has still carried on to this day. Anthony the hostel owner also puts on a bbq and serves burgers on saturday evenings providing the weather is acceptable of course.

Keep up the good work Planet Traveler.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Traveler? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Traveler

Property: Planet Traveler
Address: 357 College St, Toronto, Ontario M5T 1S5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Toronto
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,291 - ₹ 6,772
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Planet Traveler Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing