We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND”
Review of Planet Traveler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Planet Traveler
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I stayed at female 6 bed dorm for 3 nights.
It is very clean, staff friendly and has warm atmosphere.
I enjoyed my stay there.
They provide a nice warm duvet which kept me very warm in cold, rainy days.
but they don't replace towels everyday.
There is no cleaning lady who cleanses the rooms everyday.
I actually don't know who dumps the garbages.


*Facility is clean and friendly.
*Washing machines and dryers are new.
*Free Internet
*Breakfast- milk, many types of cereal, and bananas. that's it.
*End of your stay when you're checking out at the counter, you have to give them the duvet cover, pillow cover and towels.
*Location wise, not too great. It is ok if you don't mind walking a bit.
A bit of walk from streetcar (5 to 7 minutes walk), pretty far from subway.
Note: For those who don't know what a streetcar is, it is worth to check out what they are and where they operate on.
It is simply a bus that operates on a rail. Only the street that has rail, streetcar may operate.
The hostel gives you a map of downtown and it indicates where streetcar operates.

just a side note, i liked how they have phone booths where you can have some privacy while talking to someone on the phone.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haroharo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    93
    16
    4
    6
See reviews for
10
49
162
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I was very pleased with Planet Traveler. The room was clean, and most importantly the bathroom as well. I liked the fact that there was a total of only 6 people in the room meaning there was never a wait for the bathroom. Breakfast was great with cereal and bananas. The location is excellent - near Kensington Mkt. which is an eclectic neighborhood, and close to Chinatown, Yorkville, Cabbagetown, Downtown, lakefront, etc. In fact, I walked to all these places. I only took public transportation to the airport which worked out well - only an hour to the airport with no rush. My only concern would be for those arriving after midnight - the hostel reception is closed so not sure what would happen if one arrived late. I came just after 11 pm not realizing I was cutting it very close. One final nice feature worth mentioning - the lockers are in a separate room so you do not disturb those sleeping if you come in late and need to go through your luggage. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KincsZoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I stayed at the Planet Traveler for about 5 weeks whilst looking for permanent accommodation in Toronto and the place was amazing. I miss it so much.
Comfy beds, Free bagels and cereal for breakfast til 1pm, free popcorn and rice, free internet, free bbq on the rooftop on saturday nights.
the owner Anthony is lovely and will go out of his way to help you. The staff - Kiwi, Ljuba, Viktorija, Tegan, and the rest are awesome, friendly, helpful and fun.
I cant wait to come back and visit.
STAY HERE GUYS, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good, the 6 bed dorms are a little roomier than the 5 bed dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meleastravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This place is amazing! Myself and my boyfriend moved to toronto and used The Planet Travler as a temporary living accomodation! The staff were more than helpful to us for finding jobs,apartment etc! The place is spotless clean (rooms are cleaned everyday) the beds are comfy and the rooms are spacious! Breakfast is free which was a big help and Anthony the owner held a free BBQ on a saturday for all guests! Its a perfect layout for travelers or people visiting, as it helps socialising and we have came away from here with so many friends! Its in a good location and shops & resturants are literally across the road! We will definately be back even if just to visit! Loved the experience!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wee-T06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This place is pretty great - when we first arrived the lady at the welcome desk was so helpful and friendly. the place was super clean. comfy beds. put on a bbq on friday nights which is generous and provides a nice opportunity to meet other guests. good location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamBamTheChinaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Traveler? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Traveler

Property: Planet Traveler
Address: 357 College St, Toronto, Ontario M5T 1S5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Toronto
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,313 - ₹ 6,632
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Planet Traveler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planet Traveler Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing