We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience - If the price is right, will return in a heartbeat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Executive Hotel Cosmopolitan
Ranked #46 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
London, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Experience - If the price is right, will return in a heartbeat”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Cosmopilitan for the weekend. We thought it would be bigger then what it actually was. We stayed in a Lotus Suite which was BEAUTIFUL - looks like a little apartment. The bathrooms could be a BIT bigger - we both couldn't get ready in there together. Our rooms were spotless and very clean and the staff was super helpful.

We had vouchers for 2 free drinks at the bar downstairs - when we got back from dinner at around 9pm it had turned into a "club" (no one was in it) yet they wanted us to pay $10 dollars each to walk in use our free vouchers to grab our drinks and walk back out - we thought this was stupid, so we let out vouchers go to waste.

Breakfast in the morning was pretty basic a buffet of - Bagles, Muffins, Cereal, Tea, Coffee, Orange Juice and Milk, nothing to special but we didn't mind!

I would recommend this hotel if you have $250 a night to spend on a hotel, if not, Groupon and Wag Jag always have deals for this hotel so if you see one make sure to grab the deal!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stavalexiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    272
    123
    63
    73
See reviews for
57
343
74
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed in The Cosmopolitan because our nearby apartment is being renovated so we wanted a clean place to stay for the night. We chose it because we got a great deal via Jetsetter, $120 + $20 for the night for a Lotus room.
For that price, the room was great. It was set up like a tiny apartment, with living areas and sleeping separate, and a kitchenette plus laundry. The laundry was super convenient and it was nice to be able to make breakfast in the room. The kitchenette features a dishwasher and probably everything you'd need. The laundry machines washed and dried well and quickly--great for travellers as well.
The bathroom was not exactly a spa (pretty basic), but it was clean, bright and comfortable. The bed was also clean but I found it a little hard for my tastes and couldn't sleep. My husband was ok. It seems a bit smaller than a queen to me. The bedding was decent but it was super luxurious, like a W or something.
The living area was also nice. The TV was pretty crappy which we only noticed because we were too dead tired to go out.
We live in the neighborhood so obviously we love it. Check out the St. Lawrence Market, St. James Cathedral, "Old Toronto", the lakefront (now improving on the east side up to Sherbourne), and you're a short walk to the Eaton Centre, the subway and a million other things.
All in all, for $120, very good. I'd recommend for people on long trips especially. Again, it's not a super luxurious hotel, but it's clean and comfortable. (I do hope they get softer beds though).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CristinaSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This used to be my favourite hotel in Toronto until my most recent stay. The rooms were dirty and falling apart. The bathroom fixtures were either loose, or didn't work, including the sink being stuck closed. The Zen fountains inside the rooms smelled a bit, likely from not being cleaned properly. There was clear grime in the kitchenette and the bathrooms.

Don't be fooled by their included breakfast; it is served in the bar downstairs and consisted of stale cereal and toast, bagels, milk and juice.

Was also offered 'free Martinis' - when we cashed them in at the bar, we found out they didn't even have a martini menu and the bartender wasn't very helpful. We felt like a nuisance to them.

There is also no consistency with the room types. For the same price some rooms have a balcony, some do not. Some have a shower and a tub, some just a small shower. Some have a sitting/bar area, some just have a small shelf with stools to sit at.

Their customer service has also declined. Twice I have requested a room with a tub, twice I have been denied, even though the reservations were made well in advance. They emailed me an offer, but then wouldn't honor the advertised price. No explanation was given.

For the prices they charge, you may want to conisder an alternative. It isn't the boutique hotel it used to be.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank t.ocouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Pros:
-Convenient location downtown, a block away from the King St. stop
-Large, quiet rooms with full-sized bathrooms (a culture shock for those used to miniscule, noisy New York, London, and Tokyo accommodations)
-Inoffensive, generic, spa-modern decor of pale monochromes and bamboo flooring (a relief for those with an allergy to chintz, furze, and Fauxtorian decor)
-Floor-to-ceiling windows and a decent-sized balcony
-Mini-kitchen with micro, coffee-maker, dishwasher, clothes washer, and electric kettle
-Comfortable bed

Cons:
-Decor and fixtures are starting to get run-down and in need of refurbishing
-WiFi was intermittent and slow to the point of agonizing (a major annoyance for those traveling on business), and available only for an extra charge per day

Overall it was a perfectly decent experience. It won't rock your world, but it's a mid-range alternative if you'd prefer to avoid one of the chain hotels.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Used a Groupon (sucka!) that promised luxury spa getaway meets boutique hotel. Again - - gotcha sucka! The hotel is centrally located,actually great location that is close to Front St., downtown shopping, entertainment venues, etc. No complaints on that score. Groupon sold the deal with a $25 hotel credit to upgrade from a Zen suite to a Lotus suite. Sadly, as soon as the word groupon escaped our lips, the hotel was sold out for the night and we could not use the credit to upgrade -- unless we wanted the penthouse suite for $3500 a night. I wish that I had taken photos of our Zen suite, replete with stained Ikea Klippen sofa, because the notion of anything in the Cosmopolitan, short of a used car in their parking garage, being worth $3500 is insanely funny. The "suite" was really a dorm room with very dirty, dusty, yucky decor nods to new age/feng shui....two water features with bamboo (and algae!)...a yoga mat that I would not use without a round of penicillin....and empty wine bottles as design. Thoughtfully, the management had loaded the CD player with something that sounded like the music/bird sounds they play when you are getting a massage. Also interesting were the slightly Scientology looking literature/pamphlets on finding your inner healthy child that were left on the tv stand but could be purchased at checkout for $19.95. We looked for Yanni, Ramtha and Linda Evans in the closet but couldn't find them. We faced a rooftop exhaust system so all the yoga and incense in the world would not have made this serene or tranquil.
Congratulations to the Cosmopolitan (and Groupon) for zapping us for $159.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank sarahej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#37 of 136 in Toronto
1,785 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 136 in Toronto
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#45 of 136 in Toronto
2,111 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Hotel Cosmopolitan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Hotel Cosmopolitan

Property: Executive Hotel Cosmopolitan
Address: 8 Colborne St, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1E1, Canada (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Toronto)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#30 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,677 - ₹ 26,428
Hotel Class:4 star — Executive Hotel Cosmopolitan 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban oasis in the heart of Toronto's financial district, the Cosmopolitan Toronto Hotel & Spa is a leader in the newest trend in lifestyle hotels and is recognized for its exceptional design concept, service and ambiance. A stay at the Cosmopolitan is the ultimate in intimate, modern comfort. With only 5 suites per floor, the amenities are generous and include windows & balconies that open to spectacular views of the city and Lake Ontario, hardwood floors, full kitchens, washer/dryers, 32 inch flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Executive Hotel Cosmopolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Toronto Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing