We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Drake Hotel Toronto
Nearby Hotels
US$ 183
US$ 166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 485
US$ 466
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 217
US$ 197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 405
US$ 388
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 231
US$ 209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 330
US$ 271
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 285
US$ 242
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 390
US$ 288
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 298
US$ 255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 274
US$ 243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (660)
Filter reviews
660 results
Traveller rating
509
104
28
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
509
104
28
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrash padjonathan leclairecoolest hotelwelcome homethe hotel managerqueen streetno elevatorrooftop barlittle touchesnight liferooms are smallstreetcar stopthe entire staffthird floorhipstercrashpadwest
Filter
Updating list...
415 - 420 of 660 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in August. We stayed in crash pad 207. I was amazed at how quiet our room was considering that the rooftop bar is open pretty late, but we never heard a peep! The manager, Jonathan, is the most amazing hotel manager I've ever seen! Does this guy live there? Seriously, his smiling face was always at the front desk. He went above and beyond to make our stay special. I think he needs his own reality show...this is one person who loves his job and it SHOWS! The hotel is in the perfect location, lots of good eats around, lots of shopping, but you never need to leave the hotel to get great food as their restaurant is top notch, and their own little boutique is cute and eclectic. The lack of "privacy" concern with the glass stalled bath area was a non issue for us, but it is worth mentioning that you better be pretty comfortable with whoever you are sharing a room with! The ONLY drawback is the lack of an in room mini fridge and coffee maker, which is really no big deal as the cafe' downstairs has an amazing selection for breakfast. There's also lots of art and quirky details to explore, we can't wait to go back and explore some more. This one definitely goes on our favorites list!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randallfamily8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We came to Toronto with plans to see as much of the city as possible, and this was certainly not what I was expecting. The Drake was rated very highly for "boutique" hotels in the city and I'd say the hotel lived up to both expectations.
The hotel, in my opinion, is located in an up and coming area, although I'm not quite sure the area has gotten there yet. Although we did visit a restaurant in the area and walked around a bit and it did see to be hopping.
Everyone at the hotel kept recommending their restaurant as one to dine at, but we opted for elsewhere. However, we did decide to come back a couple days later to check out the Sunday brunch and were very glad we did. Can't speak much as to the dinner menu, but I thought the brunch was awesome! Had the chicken and waffles and it was prepared like none that I had ever had.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Bard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Recently stayed at The Drake Hotel overnight as part of a one-week 30th anniversary trip to Niagara Falls / Toronto. I couldn't believe the friendliness / helpfulness of the whole staff. They really went out of their way to make us feel welcome, beginning with carrying our very heavy luggage upstairs for us & adamantly refusing a tip for doing so - what a nice surprise. Although we were a little concerned about the "sketchy" neighborhood, the staff directed us to some nice restaurants a few blocks away. We thought the rooms were really nice since we really like modern furniture. They seem to have found a way to make small rooms look / feel much bigger. We came back a couple of days later to enjoy the Sunday brunch and must say (as the staff promised) the Drake's chicken & waffles were the best anywhere!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Superb staff... funky atmosphere... super location... (you can hop on a cable car which stops just outside the hotel to head downtown...or walk and check out all the shops along the way!)

I had a blast at The Drake! There is always something going on... so you can join in, OR find a quiet corner with a glass of wine and a book :) I will most definitely return!

Room Tip: I was in a Den... (threeOHtwo) away from the club and on the corner of the building... it was quiet and had lots of light with windows on two sides of the room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mellissawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

There is something really magical about this place and it is absolutely because of the warm, funny and friendly staff. Jonothan, the Hotel Manager sets the standard for all to follow with his wit, charm and genuine interest in the guests staying at his hotel. The rooms are simply gorgeous with cute little unexpected surprises like cookies on your pillow at night and the place is utterly spotless.
The cafe and both restaurants are fantastic and the place has a real buzz. It would be perfect for business travellers on there own as you will make friends easily and also families. Would be romantic for couples too. People might think the area seems a little 'dodgy' with some homeless scattered around but they are harmless and honestly it's a gem of an area with great shopping.
Pamela on the front desk is really helpful and all the staff for that matter.

What a place, I want to come back tomorrow to live here!!

Thank you so much

The Kiwi traveller
x

Room Tip: All rooms would be great.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews