We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, great room, great cafe', great people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Drake Hotel Toronto
Ranked #6 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“great location, great room, great cafe', great people”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in August. We stayed in crash pad 207. I was amazed at how quiet our room was considering that the rooftop bar is open pretty late, but we never heard a peep! The manager, Jonathan, is the most amazing hotel manager I've ever seen! Does this guy live there? Seriously, his smiling face was always at the front desk. He went above and beyond to make our stay special. I think he needs his own reality show...this is one person who loves his job and it SHOWS! The hotel is in the perfect location, lots of good eats around, lots of shopping, but you never need to leave the hotel to get great food as their restaurant is top notch, and their own little boutique is cute and eclectic. The lack of "privacy" concern with the glass stalled bath area was a non issue for us, but it is worth mentioning that you better be pretty comfortable with whoever you are sharing a room with! The ONLY drawback is the lack of an in room mini fridge and coffee maker, which is really no big deal as the cafe' downstairs has an amazing selection for breakfast. There's also lots of art and quirky details to explore, we can't wait to go back and explore some more. This one definitely goes on our favorites list!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randallfamily8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    92
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
38
281
75
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
148 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We came to Toronto with plans to see as much of the city as possible, and this was certainly not what I was expecting. The Drake was rated very highly for "boutique" hotels in the city and I'd say the hotel lived up to both expectations.
The hotel, in my opinion, is located in an up and coming area, although I'm not quite sure the area has gotten there yet. Although we did visit a restaurant in the area and walked around a bit and it did see to be hopping.
Everyone at the hotel kept recommending their restaurant as one to dine at, but we opted for elsewhere. However, we did decide to come back a couple days later to check out the Sunday brunch and were very glad we did. Can't speak much as to the dinner menu, but I thought the brunch was awesome! Had the chicken and waffles and it was prepared like none that I had ever had.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Recently stayed at The Drake Hotel overnight as part of a one-week 30th anniversary trip to Niagara Falls / Toronto. I couldn't believe the friendliness / helpfulness of the whole staff. They really went out of their way to make us feel welcome, beginning with carrying our very heavy luggage upstairs for us & adamantly refusing a tip for doing so - what a nice surprise. Although we were a little concerned about the "sketchy" neighborhood, the staff directed us to some nice restaurants a few blocks away. We thought the rooms were really nice since we really like modern furniture. They seem to have found a way to make small rooms look / feel much bigger. We came back a couple of days later to enjoy the Sunday brunch and must say (as the staff promised) the Drake's chicken & waffles were the best anywhere!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Superb staff... funky atmosphere... super location... (you can hop on a cable car which stops just outside the hotel to head downtown...or walk and check out all the shops along the way!)

I had a blast at The Drake! There is always something going on... so you can join in, OR find a quiet corner with a glass of wine and a book :) I will most definitely return!

Room Tip: I was in a Den... (threeOHtwo) away from the club and on the corner of the building... it was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mellissawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2012

There is something really magical about this place and it is absolutely because of the warm, funny and friendly staff. Jonothan, the Hotel Manager sets the standard for all to follow with his wit, charm and genuine interest in the guests staying at his hotel. The rooms are simply gorgeous with cute little unexpected surprises like cookies on your pillow at night and the place is utterly spotless.
The cafe and both restaurants are fantastic and the place has a real buzz. It would be perfect for business travellers on there own as you will make friends easily and also families. Would be romantic for couples too. People might think the area seems a little 'dodgy' with some homeless scattered around but they are harmless and honestly it's a gem of an area with great shopping.
Pamela on the front desk is really helpful and all the staff for that matter.

What a place, I want to come back tomorrow to live here!!

Thank you so much

The Kiwi traveller
x

Room Tip: All rooms would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 136 in Toronto
622 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drake Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Hotel Toronto

Property: Drake Hotel Toronto
Address: 1150 Queen St W, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Queen Street and West Queen West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#10 Business Hotel in Toronto
#13 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,940 - ₹ 25,305
Hotel Class:3 star — Drake Hotel Toronto 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Drake Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Drake Hotel
Drake Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing