We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Drake Hotel Toronto
Ranked #6 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

i spend a lot of time in hotels. i love traveling -- but i have to admit, i prefer going home.

the entire staff goes out of the way to make drake feel like home. the hotel manager is fantastic and one of the reasons that every time that i find myself in toronto, the drake is the first property on my list.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    92
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
38
277
73
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed with my team on business in this hotel - what a treat it turned out to be. First impressions can be deceiving as when we entered the reception we were not sure what to expect from the hotel (and district). However this impression evaporated within minutes as the exceptional service and hotel unfolded. This hotel has it all - you hardly need to leave the hotel - a sun terrace (with bar / food), a club in the basement (a very hip club), a cafe on the side with sidewalk terrace and a great cocktail bar / club. The rooms are quirky, artsy and considered but function well. Even with a rampant Saturday night crowd throughout the hotel I could sleep soundly. Definitely our hotel of choice in Toronto - the staff were all superb and a great validation of this hotel is that they are all enthusiastic about where they work (and return to socialise there). Thanks for a memorable stay for all the right reasons. We'll be back.

Room Tip: The Hancock Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I had a really nice stay. Design of the room interesting, trendy, cozy, tiny though. Fantastic staff! Thanks Pam! Great tartare. Just a bit noisy with terrace on the street and insulation between the floors. Cool neighborhood, with great little shops. Will come back with my daughter for discovery...

Room Tip: Rooms are small but well designed. Try upper floors if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

i recently had the pleasure of staying at the Drake. after travelling almost nonstop for the past month staying in hyatts and westins i will never stay with them by choice again. The Drake scored 10/10 for customer service, 11/10 for immaculate room cleanliness (appreciation to the entire cleaning crew). from the cafe to the lounge all the servers were kind, attentive, and went above and beyond to inform me of different events.

Eve Harlow from the cafe was so kind to give me tips on art exhibitions in town as well as all the live music options in Toronto. Zoe and Stephanie from reception were warm, professional, informative, and helped me figure out parking, food, etc .

Internet ran beautifully with no glitches and free.

Compliments to the chef I'm in love with the arctic char and coconut shrimp sushi. It was so good when I stayed two weeks ago that I had to come back for the sushi. being half asian i have demanding preset concern usually regarding sushi, but would choose the drake's sushi anyday over any other sushi resto. the Litchi martinis were delicious and fresh.

Staff were so helpful with my heavy luggage and both of them (arrival nd departure) refused a tip. Not only do they desrve a tip but also a raise since it was gladiator effort to hoist my luggage up 3 flights of stairs with kind compassion.

All in all, having traveled many countries and having stayed in abodes from jungle huts to ritz to igloos, I felt so at home at the Drake and must come back to stay in the future. As an artist, I enjoyed that the entire hotel revolves around visual, audio (live bands all the time) art with a laid back, non snob approach. Thankyou for a lovely stay and to the manager, hope you keep all the wonderful people working frontline with customers.

Room Tip: if you dont want to hear music at night, you can request a room a bit further from it. for more s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

In the past year I’ve stayed at some truly outstanding boutique hotels around the world, including the Christian Lacroix designed Hotel Le Bellechasse and the Hotel Saint Germain in Paris, as well as London’s trendy Hoxton Hotel. I have also just recently had the pleasure of staying at the one and only Drake Hotel in Toronto. One thing that the Drake possesses in leaps and bounds above these other hotels is a vibe; it is its own self sustained hub with fabulous restaurants to suit anyone’s tastes, deliciously designed cocktails, live music, a beautifully curated art collection for those interested in the finer things and a cool factor that is truly one-of-a-kind.

Although it is a beautiful and vibrant space, perhaps the most important feature this hotel possesses is the staff who consistently went above and beyond during my stay. I found everyone I met to be the perfect combination of friendly, helpful and genuine which is a hard feat to find in a single person let alone an entire staff. Unlike any trip I’ve ever had, I found myself gravitating to the hotel rather than the city itself because there was so much to experience. The Hotel Manager Jonathan is one of the most delightful people I’ve ever met (his front desk staff are also lovely), the bartender Stan is wonderful, the curator Mia has talent galore and the list goes on...

The Drake has a certain "je ne sais quoi" that I have never experienced elsewhere and look forward to experiencing again sometime very soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 132 in Toronto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drake Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Hotel Toronto

Property: Drake Hotel Toronto
Address: 1150 Queen St W, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Queen Street and West Queen West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#10 Business Hotel in Toronto
#13 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,805 - ₹ 21,725
Hotel Class:3 star — Drake Hotel Toronto 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Drake Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Drake Hotel
Drake Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing