We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Small but world class concert hall

I have had the pleasure of singing here several times with performers such as Jully Black and... read more

Reviewed 12 June 2018
MrMastino
,
Toronto, Canada
Wonderful Concert Venue

Lovely acoustics and superb programming (Julius Drake and Gerald Finley) were the reason my husband... read more

Reviewed 23 April 2018
cherylkarapita
,
Stavely, Canada
via mobile
Read all 66 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Toronto
from US$ 137.40
More Info
from US$ 129.20
More Info
from US$ 15.70
More Info
from US$ 132.70
More Info
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
56
9
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
9
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sound quality bedford road toronto symphony orchestra roy thomson hall beautiful building acoustics concert performance architecture performers acoustically choir elevator
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2017

I go to concerts in Koerner Hall several times a year. The variety of performances is incredible. Every music lover will find a performance they like. Koerner Hall also introduced me to new music by bringing in musicians ,who are not necessarily household names. The architecture alone is worth the price of admission. And if you budget is really low, they have several free concerts during the year. The program they publish is very informative and well put together. Koerner Hall is one of the best places to hear music in Toronto.

3  Thank Tom-2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We saw Alex Cuba there April 7, 2017 and it was a very enjoyable show. There isn't a bad seat in the house and it is very clean. We were a little disappointed when we walked in and told the staff that it was pretty warm and they didn't seemed overly concerned or planned to do anything about it. They could have been more sensitive on their response and say they'd look into it. As I said the acoustics are very good but it would have helped if the folks (Mayfair?) had done a better live mix to maximize the high quality house PA. Alex's guests that night included his dad on guitar/vocals, a pianist, 3 great horn players along with Steve Cuddy. The horns were not brought to the volume deserved or appropriate which was quite disappointing. In fact the guests pianist who was also VERY good, (quite strangely) sounded more like a synthesizer to steel-drum at times. Maybe not Koerner's fault.

Thank jbtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We have been to Koerner on many occasions and find the ambiance and acrostics to be of the highest standard and a challenger to any hall in any country. When you hear a concert at Koerner you will be awed by the colour and warmth of the sounds and visual beauty of the space.

1  Thank offkilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

This is in my opinion the best place to listen to a concert in Toronto. The seats are comfortable, the size is perfect and the hall has excellent acoustics. It is outstanding for vocal concerts.

Thank GreyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

But you need to be careful about seat selection.

The main floor seats have lots of leg room. Avoid the first row of the first balcony as the seats face across the hall (not towards the stage) and there is no foot room. Very awkward and uncomfortable.

Washrooms are in the next building.

There are also other smaller performance rooms in the building so you may end up not being in the main concert hall.

2  Thank giffenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews