We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Hospitals”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glen Grove Conservatory Tower
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Close to Hospitals”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I choose the Conservatory Tower due to its proximity to the Toronto General Hospital where I had a family member recovering from a major surgery. It is just across the street from the Elizabeth Street hospital entrance - ever so convenient! I found the check-in very smooth as an envelope was left at the concierge desk for me with the keys and information on the unit.

The unit itself (suite 2005) was clean, although everything was very dated. There were several things missing form the suite upon our check-in - coffee maker, clock radio, hangars, etc. However a phone call to Brian, and those things were immediately delivered to the suite.

If you are looking for a very basic place to stay right downtown, I can recommend this. And as a women staying alone, I felt safe at this location with the security the building had.

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank optionsottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for your review of our property. Yes, the proximity to hospitals does make the Conservatory Tower a very popular choice among our guests. We're glad that you found the place to be accessible and safe.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Brian Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    34
    15
    5
    9
See reviews for
30
17
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We are really pleased with our stay in a two-bedroom, two-bathroom suite (#605) at the Conservatory Tower property. Best feature was the pillow top beds, extremely comfortable. Two balconies as well, which would be great for a summer rental. Spacious, clean, well laid-out. Our view was parking lot, but quiet, and we're there to visit, not look out the window, so that didn't bother us.
Towels, toiletries provided, plus really helpful kitchen essentials pack (dish liquid, two days worth of (bad) coffee packets, sugar, salt, and laundry soap and softener for one load of laundry.
Visited fitness centre and pool, spotless, quiet, pool looked clean. 24-hour help line, wireless internet available.
Our phone line was down and took a long time to fix. Also had to get hairdryer replaced. Agency staff are friendly and try to help, but go through property upon arrival and report anything amiss right away to get it fixed quickly. (Lamps without lightbulbs, for example).
Free visitor parking in building was a relief for family and friends dropping by.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paris1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for your detailed and accurate review of our property. The 2 bedroom units at the Conservatory Tower are spacious and airy (you're right about the balconies coming in really handy in the summers).

We apologize that the phone line took time to be fixed. While its not an excuse, but this happens very rarely. We hope to welcome you once again to the Conservatory Tower on your next visit and we'll ensure that your stay is as comfortable as possible. We'll even try and change the coffee for you :-)

Regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My husband and I stayed 3 weeks in the Glen Grove Conservatory Tower while in Toronto visiting our daughter. We had a two bedroom suite and with 2 bathrooms, lounge and dining room, nice kitchen with diswasher, washing machine/dryer we were very comfortable. Both bathrooms had a shower over the bath and did not cause any problems negotiating as bath was reasonably low.
The kitchen was well equiped, although you need to bring all supplies. No coffee, sugar or milk were supplied and if you are going to do some cooking everything is needed. Also dish washing supplies.
The maid service cleaned and changed linen once a week and did a very good job. Everything was kept clean and tidy and there was lots of linen.
The downtown position is excellent, with a small convience store downstairs as well as a supermarket in the shopping mall accross the road. Bus went past the door and it was a short walk up to the streetcar or the subway.
If you are coming to Toronto and looking for accommodation, we highly recomment Glen Grove Conservatory Tower for a convient and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joybell8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review of our property. We're happy that everything was to your satisfaction. We appreciate that you noticed all the small things we do to make our guests comfortable. We don't put any food supplies in the unit prior to arrival as people are concerned about allergies, etc.

As you pointed out, for those looking for space, convenience and location, the Conservatory Tower certainly stands out as a winner.

Once again, thank you for your detailed review. We appreciate it and look forward to attending to your accommodation requirements the next time you visit Toronto.

Regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Glen Groves new location "The Conservatory tower" is a good place to stay. Well located in the city of Toronto. All interesting sightseeing points are in easy reach. The room was spacious and tidy and the room service was very good. The check-in/check-out process is verry customer friendly. The places can really be recommened.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rolf41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review The Conservatory Tower. We agree that the location is a prime factor when looking for places to stay in downtown Toronto. And the fact that the Conservatory Tower is so well connected to public transit makes it a favorite among our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Glengrove.

Regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We stayed here for 2 weeks after we had just moved to Toronto. The bedroom was very spacious, and the living/dining was a fine size, although the kitchen was tiny with very little bench space. Comfortable big bed, pay TV, iron, lots of linens, all the kitchen tools you could need were all supplied. Our only real gripe was that the place wasn't properly cleaned - a maid came in once a week but she didn't actually vacuum (only sweep), and as a result the floor was constantly covered in dust (I think maybe the heating vent was blowing dirt in?) 247 security, which was great. It's also very quiet - we never heard a peep from anyone! The gym was very basic (two treadmills, a few weights), but fine.

The location is FANTASTIC - around the corner from College subway station, across the road from pharmacy, Starbucks, mini-mart, food places, etc. Short walk to the Eaton Centre. Definitely good for long-term rentals, but I'd probably want to stay somewhere a bit nicer if you're in Toronto for a holiday (the building is fine, just a little dated).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank buns123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Conservatory Tower, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for your review of the Conservatory Tower. We appreciate your positive comments as well as description of areas for improvement.

As the floors are laminate, our housekeeping procedures require the rooms to be mopped. But you may be right that the dust could be coming in from the vents. We are in the process of having this checked out.

We're glad you found the building to be well connected to everything from entertainment, to food, to public transit.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Glengrove.

Regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
#59 of 132 in Toronto
5,883 reviews
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#22 of 132 in Toronto
1,853 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Grove Conservatory Tower? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Grove Conservatory Tower

Property: Glen Grove Conservatory Tower
Address: 736 Bay St, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2M4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 97 Speciality Lodging in Toronto
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,218 - ₹ 12,591
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen Grove Conservatory Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Glen Grove Conservatory Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Grove Conservatory Tower Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing