We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again!!!! Terrible Management with Terrible room” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never Again!!!! Terrible Management with Terrible room”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I dont know where to start with this place, I felt I was staying at a buddies crummy apartment rather than a cheap hotel. location is horrible, only thing within wakling distance is a gas station and a bus stop to get outta there, room and beds were disgustingly small..I'm six feet and my feet were hanging off the bed, one very dim light in the bedroom, 10" T.V. from 1995, stained carpets and floors, rat traps in the corners of the hotel, shared bathroom which was 30 feet away from my room, Its better to use a washroom in the convienience of your own room, no amenities, and management was terrible.

Room Tip: NEVER book cheap hotels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Moss P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaintLawrenceResiden, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Yes, you are right! Where to start. It looks you had unauthorised guest in your room. We clearly state room is either for one person or a double room for two. For exactly the same reason, we do not allow more persons than the room is meant for. Still some people do what they are not supposed to do. Unless you expected everything within 100 feet and found the gas station and bus stop, there was a lot more at 200 feet , and 300 feet, all one has to do, is walk a little further.
Surprise to know, we had a 10" TV, we have not seen one since 70s. Perhaps you can help us to locate it, by telling us the room number. What amenities were you in need of. For the price you got more than any hotel in the same class offer. The problem comes when people expect in a $60 a night room, what is offered in $300 a night room. You stayed one night, booked one room and brought 20 friends. When the 18 extra un-paying guest were asked to leave, that makes the mangement terrible???
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    6
    4
    2
    45
See reviews for
6
9
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

Good aspects: Room is clean and organized, and has a good, clean bathroom. It seemed to have been recently renewed, and had an equipped kitchen. Location is good, close to the Younge and Dundas Streets.

Bad aspects: Reception hours are terrible - it`s only open a couple hours a day. Since we arrived at the hotel outside those open hours (5pm on a saturday), the manager was extremely rude to us. At night, we noticed that the heater in the room was not working. The room was just freezing cold!!! There wasn`t any hotel staff anywhere to help us, and the phone that the manager gives the guests was obviously off. We could only sleep after we turned the burners on to try to boil some water and warm up the room. Even like that, it was a bad night of sleep because a little after we turned the burners off the room became cold again.

You might find good reviews about this hotel because the manager offers to pay CAD5 per positive review that the guests write about it.

If you still want to go to this hotel, check reception hours and plan to arrive when it is open. Check if everything in the room is working ok, because after those hours you are not going to find anyone to solve your problem.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank EduardaRec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAINTLAWRENCERESIDE, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review, 29 May 2011
As much as we appreciate you unreasonable comments, we feel your comments reflect more your attitude than our inability to service. We are open according to the call of our mode of operation. Becasue of our size and needs of our customer, we operate during the hours that suit 99% of our guest. We do not take any walk in guest, when you arrive a day before your booking, you are just a walk in; and we are not geared for walk-ins. After making special arrangement for your to leave your baggage, we asked you to come back at 2:00 PM, and not 5 hours later. You put un-necessary load on our resources. It cost us more to have an attendant wait for you than the nightly rate you paid. As much as they say the customer is always right, but you MADAM are most un appreciative. As far is heating is concerned, it is automatic central heating and not set for people who are used to high temperature, but it can be turned up or down by occupant. If you did not know how, a call could have solved the problem. If you did not know how to use the room phone, you could have used the cell phone.
We did not have to pay you anything for writing a bad review. It is only fair to give credit to people who give their valuable time to write a positive review. Unlike you the happier people give an honest opinion, and $5 credit can not buy thier honesty, it is simply a token of appreciation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

After a nightmare in a hostel in Chinatown, it was our only alternative. Much better than the previous one, but not worth the money you have to pay. The office was mainly empty, we run out of Toilet paper and the entrance door was very very annoying (peeping all the time).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddes33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAINTLAWRENCERESIDE, General Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
It was nice to have you stay with us. Yes, we agree with you it was too expensive for you, but you found out, when you went to cheaper place. We operate under free enterprise system. No business can survive when they over price and for that matter under price. Our office hours are limited, and we do adjust them according to needs. You know a 24 hours attendant costs money, and will force us to increase the price, so we work on a happy medium, limited personal presence, and extended remote attendence, almost 24/7. Toilet paper are kept in storage, accessible when needed. In 99% of cases, we can solve most problem over t he phone. As far as beeping; peeping for you; is for security reason. A little annoying, but a lot for security. Come and stay with us, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

Best quality/price place in Toronto, if you don't mind to share bathroom. Really centric, less than 5 min walking to the city hall and all touristic places in Toronto. Rooms, bathrooms and shared places very clean. Free Internet. Room with TV, fridge, microwaves and air conditioning. Hotel management very kind and polite. I had a problem with the wireless connection and they solved it immediately. Really good information on their web page. Recommended place to stay for a weekend without spending a lot of money (other places in Toronto were more than double in price at that time).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vik_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAINTLAWRENCERESIDE, General Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
Thank you, it really makes us do more, when you appreciate what do. We will work twice as hard, just to get comments like yours. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2009

what to say... BE AWARE !!! crappy place... hidden charge to your credit card... Poorest plac e of Toronto with homeless all around the hotel... Parking in front of the hotel is a trap for your car with broken glasses the second night... don't go there!!! The beds are not CLEAN !!! Service is rotten... RUN FROM THIS NIGHTMARE !!! Try a best western hotel at 15-20 minutes of downtown instead... for 50$ more, you will get the bang for the buck...

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaveReady69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAINTLAWRENCERESIDE, General Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review, 13 October 2010
Thanks for you review. It would have been nice, if you could be specific, as to the hidden charges. We definitely try to inform in advance, what the charges are going to be. Please point it to us, so that we can correct it for next guest. Unfortunately, we have no control on people who walk on the street/s, like every major metropolus we have large percentage of well to do citizens, and a small fraction for reasons of their own, or economy may not be as well of, as you. Though, we won't vouch for other businesses, but when it comes to parking anywhere, 99.9999% of time your car is safe, when it has no valuables in sight. Now, we all know as we move away from downtown, it inversely affects the rates. If you go far enough, that you get to your own home, you can stay there at no charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#36 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Downtown
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Executive Hotel Cosmopolitan
Downtown
The Saint James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Downtown
Hostelling International Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites

Property: Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites
Address: 135 Jarvis St, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2H6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Toronto
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,869 - ₹ 8,814
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, St. Lawrence Residences & suites is designed to handle all accommodations-leisure travels, business travels, extended stay or student housing. Our rooms are moderately priced and includes amenities such as: -air-conditioner - Color TV -Free wifi -Microwave -fridge -double cook-top -pots, pans & dishes. -Linens and towels provided Dining table or love seat or both depends on room configuration. Guests are welcome to use common kitchen and bathroom. Laundry facilities are within the premises. Phone in the lobby is free for local calls, Free Wi-Fi available all over the property. The dishes, pot and pans are yours to use at no extra charge all we expect is clean dishes, and pots & pans, for the next person. We offer accommodations geared to budget minded travelers. The Linen is provided Free for a limited time and includes bed sheets, pillow cover, blanket or comforter, and a bath towel, Limited secure parking available at property for $35 a night. Neighbourhood unsecured surface parking at reduced rates may be searched A 13% HST & 8% sundry charge is added to room charges etc. Our front desk hours are 2:30 PM to 6:30 PM, Monday to Saturday. Sundays closed. Please contact us 48 hours prior to arrival, by email. Check out time is 11:00 AM House keeping service if required No pets allowed No smoking in the building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Lawrence Residences And Suites
Saint Lawrence Residences Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing