We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't even get the chance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B
Ranked #55 of 118 Toronto B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Weeks ago I booked to a 4 night stay here over the Canada Day Weekend, only for them to cancel my reservation ON THE DAY of check-in!!! I have tried to get in contact with the hotel them to ask why, but they won't reply. BEWARE!

Room Tip: A room in different hotel would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frazerbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sp00kyt00, Owner at Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

we are sorry not to have been able to accommodate the guest. I allocate two rooms per day to Booking.com. Unfortunately they over booked the 28th. of June by two extra rooms. This is very unusual for booking.com and there must have been a glitch or something in there reservations system.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2017

Forget whatever you think a city centre bed and breakfast should be like as Pimblett's won't be like anywhere else you have stayed, but that is exactly why we loved it!
The building creaks, there is not enough room to properly unpack, the furnishings are old and you are on edge that you will break an ornament all the time, but boy, is it packed full of quirky character! Just looking at the teapot collection alone could keep you busy for a day, and that is before the UK royalty memorabilia, books and other 'objects'.
When we first arrived I thought, oh no, what have we come to? But we soon settled in and went with the flow of the place. I could understand that somebody with a hatred of clutter would be put off, but it really does feel like you are visiting somebody's house (In this case, your aged grandparents!). OK there is a bit of dust amongst the ornaments and the carpets and curtains are a bit frayed, but this is certainly not a conventional 'anywhere' B and B or motel. If you want that, go elsewhere.
We slept very well and the home cooked breakfasts are more than enough to set you up for a day in downtown Toronto. Geoffrey is a genial host who is just chatty enough, but not so much that you feel overwhelmed. The location is good. Buses and trams to downtown are not far and it is even possible to walk there in about 30 minutes, but there are plenty of bars, shops and restaurants nearby.
I happily recommend Pimblitt's, if only so that you can describe the amazing place to friends and family!

Room Tip: Our room at the back was probably quieter than those facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter Mills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We had a delightful time at Pimblett's. It was definitely in the tradition of the old world pubs of the UK. If you are looking for modern and elegant, this isn't it. This is cozy, stuffed with kitsch and with a great, hearty Full English breakfast on order. The owner is a retired chef, and it shows in his kitchen. He's chatty, friendly, and has friendly pets to cuddle with.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenDragon9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016

I was excited to stay at an interesting looking, cheaper, B & B instead of a chain hotel when I stayed in Toronto for a week recently. While the wild decor and ambiance was everything I hoped for, I was disappointed overall. There was no apparent "common room", I had to be up early every morning for training and never had breakfast there (it's only served from 9-11); not even a banana, coffee or pastry was offered before then. I found the owner, other than his accent, didn't match my hopeful vision of a chatty, welcoming Brit. I found him cold, in fact. He did warn me about the dog he was training, but the "gifts" the dog left behind created nasty smelly landmines. Oh, and the wifi worked in only one part of the room. Never again.

Room Tip: not recommended if you have to rise early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

A quaint period house close to all public transport. Our room was small and decorated with the owner's collectables but was comfortable. Quiet location even tho in Downtown area. Breakfast was plentiful and shared with other guests which made for interesting conversation. Owner is very friendly and chatty.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter_4825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
McGill Inn B&B
McGill Inn B&B
#21 of 118 in Toronto
153 reviews
Downtown West
JJ Furnished Apartments & Private Suites Toronto
Downtown
Toronto Garden Inn
Toronto Garden Inn
#8 of 118 in Toronto
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfy Guest House and Suite
East End
Days Inn Toronto East Beaches
Downtown
A Seaton Dream B & B
A Seaton Dream B & B
#14 of 118 in Toronto
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B

Address: 242 Gerrard St E, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2G2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range: ₹ 6,912 - ₹ 10,935 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Englishman's home where guest are welcome. Affordable downtown Toronto location. Parking available, fully cooked breakfast. Queen rooms, king beds, one room with a jacuzzi. Close to shops, restaurants, bars and all Toronto Downtown sites. Special tourist accommodation and business guests welcome. Wireless internet and internet desk provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pimblett`s Downtown Toronto Bed And Breakfast
Pimblett`s Downtown Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing