We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and oozing with character (not just the b & b)...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B
Ranked #55 of 118 Toronto B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 September 2009

I highly recommend Albert Pimblett's downtown Bed and Breakfast as it oozes charm and character.

The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very good value for money. Geoffrey and his 'man servant' aka John (who serves scrumptious breakfasts) make a comic duo and are really the highlight of the b & b. They also have a dog, Brewster, who is only too eager to welcome you to the house!

The location is perfect, being located in Cabbagetown (old area), only a few blocks away from a subway station (10-15mins walk) and Church Street (gay area).

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were very sad to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank XenaWarriorPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2009

I was warmly greeted and sincere concern was shown for me and my belongings. After a quick tour and explanations of breakfast time and other amenities, I was turned to come and go as io pleased. Every morning was filled with the lovely aromas of bacon, sausage, eggs and John's (the cook) exquisite pancakes, along with fresh fruit, juice and other delicious items! This is a very convenient and affordable location in the heart of the city with all the feel of visiting a family member's house. Next visit I will bring the wife and book early!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desksurfer2644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Despite the friendly and interesting character of the owner and his friends, I can't rate this b and b highly. There was stuff everywhere, some of it interesting but this is the definition of clutter. You wondered how he'd manage to cook breakfast (same every day) or where to sit. Our room was not serviced daily, had torn wallpaper and drapes, and was missing 2 of the 3 pieces of the door molding in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

The decor, the furniture, the amazingly helpful and polite (and wonderful cook!) and innkeeper made for a very pleasant anniversary getaway for myself and my husband. We enjoyed the Bewdley room so much we have decided to make it an annual tradition.

Pimbletts is an excellent bed & breakfast in downtown Toronto.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heathermaple36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2008

Being retired, I travel 5 months a year, so I seek out sensible places of character, in central locations. And B&B's like Pimblett's are perfect for getting local and current insight so wasted tourist-time is minimised

Geoffrey Pimblett is the perfect and genial host, surrounded by his vast collection of "treasures". The individual rooms take advantage of this and are themed (great fun) Mine came with a ghost, but she probably only called when I was out being a tourist, in this city where I first worked in 1964 as a student

A big secret is that Albert Pimblett is in fact the dog called Bertie

The House is surrounded by public transport, going in all directions, and in the week that I was there I did 27 journeys topped up by taxis

The pricing is very attractive, and includes a great breakfast (in fact I was also invited for dinner one evening)

And yes, the property has a Vicar : his day job is at the Mission for Seamen at lakeside, and the guests all provide a rich source of information about places to see and eat

This amazing dwelling served my every need for accommodation in Toronto, being so centrally located, and brilliantly priced.

And so much FUN!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BishopOfMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
McGill Inn B&B
McGill Inn B&B
#21 of 118 in Toronto
153 reviews
Downtown West
JJ Furnished Apartments & Private Suites Toronto
Downtown
Toronto Garden Inn
Toronto Garden Inn
#7 of 118 in Toronto
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfy Guest House and Suite
Downtown
Ada's Guesthouse
Ada's Guesthouse
#67 of 118 in Toronto
51 reviews
Midtown
Global Guest House
Global Guest House
#72 of 118 in Toronto
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B

Address: 242 Gerrard St E, Toronto, Ontario M5A 2G2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range: ₹ 6,899 - ₹ 10,946 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Englishman's home where guest are welcome. Affordable downtown Toronto location. Parking available, fully cooked breakfast. Queen rooms, king beds, one room with a jacuzzi. Close to shops, restaurants, bars and all Toronto Downtown sites. Special tourist accommodation and business guests welcome. Wireless internet and internet desk provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Pimblett's Downtown Toronto B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pimblett`s Downtown Toronto Bed And Breakfast
Pimblett`s Downtown Toronto Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing