We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service is poor!”

Mideastro Yorkville
Ranked #1,381 of 8,432 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: US$ 19 - US$ 33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service is poor!”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I was initially impressed with the presentation of the menu by the server but was disappointed by the service. First impressions are not always correct. Food is on par with other high end restaurant but service does not do justice to the chef. Wait staff decided to offer dessert menu 3 hours after initial order. As a result, our group did not have coffee or desserts to end off the evening. In addition, one of the order for the entrees was missed.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SharksDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    26
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
487 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
“Best Price/Quality Ratio in Toronto Right Now”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

My wife and I have been to this recently-opened restaurant twice in past 3 months and have made a 3rd reservation for next month. The irony is that we rarely eat out in our own city, Toronto, preferring to keep our money for Michelin-starred eateries in Europe during the 3 or 4 visits we make to that continent each year. But we could not resist the enthusiastic Press reviews showered upon this chic elegant establishment shortly after its opening earlier this year. They proved to be well deserved. The decor is high-tech and ultra-contemporary. The service efficient and well informed. The ingredients, cooking, and composition of each individual plate are exemplary ------ full of flavor and genuine artistry. This is one of the few restaurants in the city that would stand a change of a star if the Michelin inspectors ever got round to visiting this gastronomic desert.

Our first visit was for dinner. It started with a large basket of warm delicious olive bread and three intensely flavored spreads, complimentary of course. Still or sparkling water is provided in elegant glass decanters. Our first courses comprised a brilliant collection of carpaccio wrapped in arugula and flavored with a number of sauces, one of which was based on pomegranate honey; and an excellent dish of jumbo shrimp ravioli in a crab bisque. Our main courses were a grilled lobster tail with cashew butter and chestnut gnocchi in a spicy creamy Mediterranean bisque; and seafood couscous, a combination of mussels, clams, crab-leg and shrimp accompanied by fluffy couscous for which a separate jug of white-wine saffron bisque sauce was provided. To finish, we shared a fig kataly ( pastry layered with spiced mascarpone, fresh figs and pistachios) that proved to be one of the most delicious and least decadent we have tasted.

On the 2nd occasion we dropped in for lunch. Again, complimentary bread and spreads
of the highest quality were quickly brought to our table. We shared a mushroom medley risotto with asparagus and green peas to start ------ awesome in its intense flavor due to being cooked in what might have been a meat broth. My main course was a fillet of sea bream cooked in citrus salts, on a bed of mashed potato lightly flavored with shrimp, smothered in a glorious sauce of tomato hearts and garlic confit. My wife selected a thick and perfectly cooked beast of organic chicken on a stew of black lentils, tomatoes and fingerling potatoes, with a skewer of grilled vegetables on the side. Again we shared a desert, this time a Nutella parfait with creme anglaise, carmelised banana, and salted pecan brittle --- richer and heavier than the fig kataly but extraordinarily tasty.

The starters were around $11 and the deserts $9. At dinner, the main courses were $27-29, although most meat dishes on the menu were over $30, but both of our fish courses at lunch were under $20. Terrific value for cooking that was rarely less than remarkable.
A few caveats, however. On both visits, the restaurant was almost empty, possibly because it is not yet well known, and although it is most conveniently situated in the heart of the city close to subway stations and with a large parking garage adjacent, it is some little distance from the actual shops. While the gifted chef Benny Cohen puts a great deal of imagination into his food preparation, he seems to expect reciprocal imagination on the part of his clients: for example, terms such as porcini foam and turmeric butter seem to apply to glazes and decorative streaks rather than to actual food that you can put into your mouth. There was nothing on my plate resembling smoked goose breast that was described as accompanying the sea-bream; and the black truffle incorporated into the risotto turned out to be oil rather than actual slices of the tuber. Finally, as in ALL restaurants in our city, wines are obscenely expensive. Stick to the excellent draught beer that is one of the best to be found anywhere on our planet. But above all, go and sample the work of a true master without fear of a traumatic dent in your bank account..

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank davidgoldberg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“creative, offers organic choices on menu along with regular menu”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Benny creative chef, will bring in special requests if you call in advance (like wild fish so you dont have to eat the farmed atlantic salmon or other choices on the menu). They already do have organic chicken on menu and its absolutely delicious. Great quality meats and taste experience. Yummy salads and appetizers, great quality ingredients on menu. a bit expensive but special and worth it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rlynn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“comfortable”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

New interesting recipes for old recipes on mideastern food. The hummous was great and the zatar was tasty. Well worth a visit to get a new adaptation on traditional middle eastern food.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mideastro Yorkville also viewed

Thornhill, Vaughan
Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Mideastro Yorkville? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing