We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre Food, and...Rodents!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ocho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ocho
Ranked #13 of 115 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mediocre Food, and...Rodents!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I visited the resto-lounge of this boutique hotel last fall. To our shock and dismay, we spotted on more than one occasion throughout or meal – mice freely running about (along the exposed brick). Another neighbouring table spotted it as well. We were quite surprised, given the rave reviews we received about the establishment, and also given that the place had clearly been “painstakingly restored”. Definitely an unsettling moment after having enjoyed a meal – it was far from “exceptional dining experience”. We paid and left immediately after. I made sure to notify the bartender/busgirl on our way out. She seemed overly nonchalant about the matter, referencing the fact that it was an “old building”, and that being situated in Chinatown caused such a problem. I was more shocked by her reaction than seeing the actual rodents while consuming food. I've never stayed at the hotel, but I'm certainly uninterested in doing so after this experience.

I dined on pasta with chicken that tasted stale and had the consistency of rubber. Wouldn't go back again.

Our server was stellar though.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MemoirsofAnesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamal A, General Manager at Hotel Ocho, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
This is an unfortunate blemish on our page, and it's true. With our old building we had issues with pest control regardless of frequent visits from professionals and personal effort. But it was dealt with as efficiently as possible and we've been Orkin certified pest free since. So much has changed since your review including our chef. Come back and see!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    48
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
74
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel in December for a long weekend. We were pretty much the only ones there as it was quiet just before the New Year. The room was small, but completely updated, clean, and the amenities were all great. The location was perfect; far enough from the chaos of Queen street while being close enough to get there in under 2 minutes. The best part about this hotel, besides the hipster vibe, was the staff. One night it was waaay too cold to wander the streets, so we hung out at the bar (delicious cocktails by the way) with the staff all night. When we went to check out in the morning, the checkout was delayed so we were given Cafe Americanos on the house. Overall, great stay! We definitely will be staying again when we head back up to Toronto.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linds B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

If I could describe this hotel in one word, it would be 'cool'. The interior is full of exposed brick, original art and hardwood floors. It fits right in with the Queen West area. My boyfriend and I were upgraded to a king suite, which was beautiful. Large windows, king size bed and stunning bathroom. The service was excellent. Really friendly and attentive staff. At the end of the night when we came back to our rooms dead tired, the barman was kind enough to give us complimentary cokes. It was a small gesture, but it went a long way. It's all in the details. The only criticism that I have is that while I loved the open concept of our room, I wish this hadn't been extended to the toilet. Regardless, for me the service made up for this inconvenience and I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinto_fraeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

This is a very small boutique hotel that's friendly and funky. They made me feel at home for a short stay and when I left my (computer) mouse behind, they cheerfully mailed it back to me, even though it was international mail. i've unfortunately left things behind at hotels before and they always "disappear." This is not some anonymous place -- the owners' passion shows through.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

I love this place. Hotel Ocho gave me exactly what I needed, an exquisitely quiet room in a funky boutique hotel -- along with the perfect balance of thoughtful attentiveness and personal space, without the faintest whiff of grasping servitude or fake corporate bonhomie.

When I called at midnight to say that my flight was delayed six hours, they knew exactly who I was and when I arrived exhausted at 6am I was given a warm sympathetic welcome and a late check-out without question. My room had bare brick walls, windows that opened, a thoughtful layout and a comfy bed.

When I crawled out of bed in the early afternoon, I was delighted to find that the cafe downstairs had excellent espresso, free wi-fi and and natural sun-light: just what I needed to jump start my day.

And finally, when I checked out, I was delighted to see that the price of my stay included no surprises - except that it was so reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thinkwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Chinatown
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
#63 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Queen Street and West Queen West
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#77 of 132 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ocho? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ocho

Property: Hotel Ocho
Address: 195 Spadina Ave, Toronto, Ontario M5T 2C5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Queen Street and West Queen West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,168 - ₹ 15,753
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ocho 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ocho is the newest hotel in downtown Toronto, which opened its doors on June 15th 2011. Hotel Ocho offers modern boutique-style accommodations featuring our perfectly eclectic mix of visual arts on a backdrop of historical architectural and modern European influenced renovations. Exposed wood beams, steel, white marble and black granite are carried from our bar & lounge to our dining room, and into our cozy hotel rooms. Standard Queen, Superior King & Deluxe King all host plush beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, flat screen TVs and waterfall showerheads. Hotel Ocho offers FREE WI-FI in the entire building. We are conveniently located at the meeting point of downtown Toronto’s key neighbourhoods. Within a 10-minute stroll, our guests will encounter the Bohemian spirit of Kensington Market, hustle and bustle of China Town, night life of King West and Richmond St. Entertainment Districts and one of a kind shopping experience of Queen Street West in Toronto’s Fashion District . eat • drink • sleep. Room type: Deluxe King Room This room offers a large tub and white marble.Room type: Superior King Room This room has black granite floors in the bathroom.Room type: Standard Queen Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ocho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing