We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so cheap and basic. Three star price, zero star services.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Strathcona Hotel
Ranked #51 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Westbrook,Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not so cheap and basic. Three star price, zero star services.”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We recently visited Toronto to watch the Red Sox vs Blue Jays series at the Rogers Center. The hotel's approximity to the train station and the Rogers Center is all that is good about this Strathcona hotel.
Lukewarm reception,not at all welcoming.
We believed were getting a good deal until we entered our room..limited space, viewless and dark. The soundproofing is questionable. We would hear our neighbour's sneezing and the occasional breaking wind in the middle of the night... Bravo! Maestro,bravo!
Poor ventilation in the room made it feel very stuffy. One elevator working-we took stairs most of the time because we were waiting to long for it. The constant slamming from our neighbour's doors was a nightly nuisance. Not a good night's sleep or a good stay.
The rooms were clean, except the overall stay was very uncomfortable. I thought I was comfortable paying 130 something dollars per night. After that trip, We'll probe around next time for better value. There are hotels offering close to or better, to what we paid, offering more services and better value.

WE FELT RIPPED OFF, DO NOT LET IT HAPPEN TO YOU TOO.

Room Tip: We were mislead, don't let it be you too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank CNoze70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locationvaluefresh, General Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest of the Hotel

Appreciate your feedback! I am sorry to learn that we could not satisfy all your needs but thank you for your good words about the hotel cleanliness.

Being a downtown property located in the heart of the city, the view from the rooms is typical of such a location. Some rooms facing York St. offer a view of the city lights and others facing the condo building are quieter. Over a period of time our regular guests have developed their preferences and for transient guests we are very flexible to make changes (subject to availability) as per individual preference. We are instituting a process wherein every guest receives a call soon after check-in to help us meet with specific guest needs.

We recently replaced the carpets with wood flooring and i think that may have given rise to the noise filtering though if the space between the door and the floor has a gap. In the meantime we are sampling a weather strip to see if it will help to minimise noise.

I would greatly appreciate it if you could help us by telling us the room number occupied by you to be able to investigate the noise issue further.

Once we sincerely thank you for your feedback!

Kind Regds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    649
    382
    152
    80
See reviews for
196
539
200
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I travel extensively for work and without doubt this is one of the worst hotels I have stayed in. Upon checking in I discovered some colleagues had already decided to check out due to the condition of several rooms. However, due to several conventions downtown all the hotels were fully booked which left me no choice but to try my luck. As other reviews have indicated the rooms are very small and dated, which is despite attempts to make them look modern, however the quality is simply not there. The rooms are paper thin, which means you can hear people walking down the hall and I even had the delight of waking to my neighbour's 4 am alarm clock each morning. In addition for some reason there is a gap in the door which means light from the corridor comes into the room. The worst of the experience though has to be the quality of the bed and bed linen. I have never got static shock from beds before but the bedding was at such a low standard that each time I open the sheets I got a shock! As a hotel guest all I ask for is a quiet, clean and comfortable room and yet this hotel seems to focus on artificial decoration with no substance. I would not recommend to anyone and as such I will not comment on the lack of wifi, parking, bad breakfast etc which compounds this hotel further. At $215 per night (plus tax) I expect more.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Cpayneuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locationvaluefresh, General Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest of the hotel

Its funny that you mention static shock as most of us in Canada take it for granted. Infact to avoid this my wife always gets me to open doors even in a shopping mall. I will definately explore how we can minimise this but be lest assured that the hotel linen quality and the laundry company laundrying the linen is of a high quality and the same as used by other downtown hotels including branded properties. I think the static maybe to do more with the dry weather/drying process but we will delve deeper and find a solution. We recently replaced carpets with wood flooring, which in some rooms, has left a little space allowing hallway light light to creep through. We are installing weather strips in these rooms to resolve the issue.

Thank you for your feedback.We greatly appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I think it is a little over the price. There´s no breakfast, no wifi, no parking. Rooms are very small.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlangut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locationvaluefresh, General Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Like most downtown located hotels, breakfast and WIFI are available at an extra cost. We do not bundle the cost with the room charge to allow guests to make the decision weather they wish to use a service or not ! Our business centre however has free WIFI service. Municipally operated parking garage is adjacent to the hotel and often used by our hotel guests.We also provide a list of other parking garages in a two block radius of the hotel. Charges vary from $ 17-$25.
Kind Regds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

very small rooms, very misleading on website. for the breakfast - i can't believe that you can legally charge $15 for food that should be thrown in the garbage. rooms are either cold or hot, minimum control of heat inside room. sheets were dirty, pillowcases were a tinge of yellow.
p.s. there is minimum flow of water in toilets. if you are staying here, bring your own toilet plunger.
if you wish to stay in this area of toronto, i have been in the royal york hotel which i highly recommend for nearly the same $ you will have peace of mind of not taking anything home with you that you will not have to explain to your wife.

Room Tip: don't believe everything you see on their website. read customer comments online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Blaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed at the Strathcona Hotel in February, 2012. The check in was quick, the staff were cheerful and friendly. Our room was an executive suite. It was nicely decorated and had a urban/chic feel, yet warm and comfortable. There was a large leather sectional, large flat screen tv and small bar fridge in the living room. Perfect for entertaining a few of guests or kicking back to relax after a fun filled day on the town. The elevators were slow but there were signs stating that they're were currently being ungraded!The location is steps from Union Station, the CN Tower, The Metro Convention Centre etc! We found the bed to be super comfy and the room nice and quiet. We had a great night sleep and had buffet breakfast in the morning at the York St Cafe. Food was hot and plentiful with a good variety of options ( french toast was so good as well as all the baked goods) The kitchen staff was very friendly and attentive! Even suggesting we wear hats as it was quite windy out. A nice personal touch, which is sometimes hard to find in a big city. Great value for your dollar! We will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeisgreat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locationvaluefresh, General Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we greatly appreciate it! We are glad that you found the hotel services and facilities to your entire satisfaction. We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 136 in Toronto
1,037 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 136 in Toronto
2,643 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#45 of 136 in Toronto
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 136 in Toronto
3,144 reviews
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Property: The Strathcona Hotel
Address: 60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,332 - ₹ 24,749
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathcona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto. Come home to the best location in Downtown Toronto. Imagine all the comforts of home combined with one of the best locations in downtown Toronto and you’ve got The Strathcona Hotel. Stay.Play.Work.Meet.Explore. We can handle it all. And just outside our doors is the best of downtown Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is across the street from the historic Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Union Station / VIA Rail and within two blocks of the Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and more located in the midst of the theatre and financial districts. The guest rooms and suite accommodations at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto combine style and substance and have been designed for the contemporary wireless world. We provide easy access to all you need to do by day or night including dining at The York Street Café, dinner and drinks at The Strath Pub, or a workout followed by a massage at the Wellington Fitness Club located right next door. Life here is fresh, functional, friendly, and fun. Sure you can work here, but you’ll do it with a smile. As an independently managed hotel, the good news is that we can break all the rules to do what it takes to make you feel warm, welcome, and worry-free. We get that it’s all about best value for dollar, well-maintained rooms, functional meeting and event space, accommodating staff, and, of course, location, location, location! Come to play. Come to meet. Come to get down to business. We’re more than happy to welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing