We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
9
20
8
9
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
20
8
9
17
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2015

Stayed for almost a week... Dec 2013...
Wifi reception intermittent, decor dated, freezing cold, breakfast hours inconvenient (like after we left every day)
I will not be back... ever....
Convenient location, but that's about the only positive..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SooCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014

We were very disappointed in the Jarvis House. I have stayed at many B&Bs that were 'old and quaint', this one is just old and run down. The rooms were decently clean but very musty and dingy feeling. Room 11 on the top floor had one window that was so small and the bottom half of it has an old dilapidated a/c in it. I'm sure we could not have gotten out in an emergency
There was a dirty towel on the floor in the main entry for wiping feet that was never removed or changed while we were there.
There were not bathroom toiletries aside from a tiny bar of soap and very small bath towels.
The location was good and there was wifi in the rooms but the tvs were about 30 years old and so tiny it was difficult to see them from across the room. They mention in the review that even though it is on a busy street the rome are airtight and very quiet....NOT AT ALL!! Road noise in most of the night in the room at the front of the house and also very noisy in the from at the back of the house.
We did not stay for breakfast as the "dining room" was just as dingy. WE saw the lady that runs the house on arrival but then not again, even at check out.
All in all....false advertising really!!

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank lisamo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2014

We stayed in the Jarvis house for 5 nights......it was exceptionaly clean house......the room was nicely furnished.......worth the money for sure........however what made our stay a wonderful experience was the friendly folks that ran the place.....(Erika and Mami ).........breakfast was plentiful and Erika made scrambled eggs for us every morning.......coffee was great.......breakfast hours were 8am till 10am.....we would recommend this B&B to everyone......we will stay there again.

Room Tip: All the room appear to be good.....on a main downtown street so your gonna get traffic noise, but it was not so bad.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Donald Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

It was my first stay in this B&B lodging. All I expected was a place to sleep, near to all sights of interests and public transportation convenient (bus, streetcar and subway) The hostess received me with a warm welcome and facilitated me the informations I needed. The breakfast was good and just enough to get through the next meal.

Room Tip: I can only describe Room #6 where I stayed for five (5) days. It was just the right space for one guest (maybe for a couple) with one luggage. The room has a queen size bed, a closet, a set of drawers, a private bathroom, an A/C and a small TV with a few selection of channels. The room has a window big enough for clarity. All in all, the room is clean and maintained clean.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2Santiago7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed for the first time in Toronto at the Jarvis House. Because it was a holiday weekend, all of the name-brand hotels were booked (or 400$ per night). Your experience will depend on your expectations and whether or not you plan to stay in your room all day or get out and see Toronto. We arrived just after check-in at 8pm; let the proprietress Erika know you will be late so that she does not have to wait around for you. It is a private establishment, not a 24-hour Best Western. The night time proved exceedingly quiet and we felt very safe the entire time we were there, whether sleeping, walking to downtown (famous market is 6 blocks), or having breakfast with strangers. Our breakfast, btw, was bakery bread with butter, rhubarb and strawberry jam, and eggs cooked to perfection by Erika at the time we requested to eat. Our company was a gentleman from Madrid; a science laboratory instructor visiting for a wedding. The bed was plenty comfortable. The bathroom was clean; shower is standing only, no toiletries provided. Your room and belongings are safe. There is a main entrance code and you get a key to your room, of course. Smallish t.v. and window unit a/c so if you are there to watch t.v. and soak up the conditioned air, you are in the wrong establishment. The street is relatively quiet; plenty of locals walking dogs, walking downtown, or visiting one another - all ages. I'm not sure what happened to the other folks who rated Jarvis House low; perhaps they had different ideas of inexpensive rooms in Toronto (good luck finding something much cheaper; I spent hours looking before settling on Jarvis House). The Canadian dollar is at 0.96 right now and although tax is 13%, it's still a bargain. Not enough can be said for Erika, the manager, who single-handedly makes certain all is well. She is kind, clear, and has reliable information for restaurants, shopping, walking, and the like. Think of it as staying at a relative's house and if that appeals to you, then you will be grateful for the things you do have at Jarvis House which you cannot get at a box hotel. We will be staying there again and having yet another lovely time. Thanks, Erika, and Toronto! The weather was perfect. GO!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4. Private bath. Window unit a/c. VERY quiet and comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews