We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing not to recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Ranked #79 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 10 August 2010

RECOMMENDED. All hotel recommendations need to take into account the price paid. We booked this on a Priceline and got a good deal. The hotel is centrally located for any visit to Toronto and steps to the metro. Checkin was quick and friendly. Hotel is a bit worn, but generally was in good working condition. Room was large and clean. Some room to room noise. Bedding was quite comfortable. Average lighting. Bathroom is a bit small & nothing special but all fixtures in good repair. Internet access is FREE but dreadfully slow. We stayed on a weekend and sadly the first night young kids having a party across the hall, marred the evening, however, security was on it. There is plenty of food choices within 2-3 blocks. Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roadwarrior30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnbloor, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2010

We at the Holiday Inn Bloor-Yorkville would like to thank you for your posting to trip advisor, and for the recommendation. It is always satisfying to know that a guest has enjoyed their stay here, and that you had a chance to take advantage of the many sights in our local area. It is unfortunate to hear that you were disturbed by some of our younger guests during your stay. I hope the next time you travel to Toronto, should you choose to stay at this location that you’re completely satisfied with your stay. Thank you, and we hope to see you in the future..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 494 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2010

This was a great hotel. The rooms were clean, comfy and modern. The staff was helpful. There are two computers in the lobby for guest use. The adjoining restaurant is clean and friendly. The hotel offers free washing machines and dryers to guest - that room was clean and quiet.
The hotel is within walking distance of UT and many local attractions, including the Art Gallery of Toronto, the Royal Conservatory, Koreatown, Kensington Market etc. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
4  Thank Westgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

The front desk staff are very friendly. They are happy to provide you with maps and give pointers to areas of interest in the city. The hotel is about half a block from St George subway station.

I was somewhat disappointed when I went to the room. It's certainly nothing great. I've stayed at better Holiday Inns. It is older so the soundproofing isn't as great compared to some of the newer buildings I've stayed in. I could hear my neighbours speaking next door, not enough to know what they were talking about but it kept me up until 2:30 am. Even though I was far from the elevator a mechanical whirring woke me up a few times. When I went to turn the light off I found something from a previous guest. Not gross, just wasn't mine. To be fair to the cleaners it was tucked in at the back of the phone.

Towels and bedding were newer. The pillows were labeled as soft or firm. The carpet looked like it needed to be replaced. I was nervous about sitting in the office chair so I put a towel over it. Nothing was super dirty but it wasn't clean either. I checked for bedbugs as I do with every hotel and I did not find any, nor did I have any mystery bug bites.

If you are comparing the Holiday Inn Express on Lombard to this Holiday Inn, they're about the same from a "refresh" standpoint and on cleanliness. This HI has nicer soaps and amenities. You get beakfast at the HI Express so you can work that into your price comparisons if you are thinking of staying at one of them. That said, I wouldn't stay at either again.

If you are only looking for somewhere to rest your head while you are on vacation you might not be concerned about some of the things that I did not like. If you are traveling on business I would recommend paying extra and going to the Intercontinental.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lederfrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Stayed at the Bloor Holiday Inn during the weekend of July 9-11. We booked this place through Hotwire at less than $100/night, and hoped that it would be a great value. Upon checking in we found that parking was an astounding $22/night. It was great that we didn't opt to park their during our stay because the lot closes after 12 am (something that the rather curt front desk woman completely left out). Ok. lets get to the point of this review. Our hotel stay was pretty dismal.

The showers made a noise whenever you attempted to use the hot water. It reminds me of the noise that pipes make after they have been frozen. The bathtub wouldnt drain properly and left you in about 5 inches of standing water after taking the obscenely noisy shower. We decided to ask the attendant if we could change rooms (after they sent the hotel maintenance to "fix" the shower issue which they couldnt). In our new room on the same floor the shower issue was still there although not as bad, and we found a new plumbing issue- the bathroom sink also leaked!

This seems to be a hotel that is often frequented by large groups of younger people on trips, etc. So, if you are traveling with a family steer clear at all costs. We were awakened at 230 am one night by drunken shouting and the slamming of doors by a large party of hooligans who invaded our entire floor during the second day of our stay.
Also, none of the hotel rooms come equipped with refrigerators. It will cost you an additional $10/day to rent them, which is absurd.

If you are a young backpacker on a shoestring budget then this hotel is for you. However, if you are looking for quality and overall value in a hotel look elsewhere. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank earllee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

This hotel is a winner with the combination of its location and its very good offerings.

It's located right around the corner from the St. George subway station, from which trains run in most directions with the excellent connections to Toronto's streetcars and buses. Despite this, the area is not overly busy with rushing commuters as most travelers change at Spadina or Bloor-Yonge. It's also very near the University of Toronto main buildings, obliquely opposite the Bata Shoe Museum and walking distance of the RCM (Royal Conservatory of Music) and the ROM (Royal Ontario Museum). If one has the time and strength and the weather is good, it's really worth the 25-minute walk into downtown going through the Philosopher's Walk from Bloor (between RCM and ROM) and coming out on Queen's Park West.

There are lots of shops and eateries along Bloor street with a 24-hour convenience store (moderately pricey) and dry cleaners located directly opposite and a Metro supermarket and a FedEx Kinko Centre an easy, pleasant 10-minute walk away.

Often overlooked are the relaxed pubs behind the hotel including Duke of York and Bedford Academy. The Future Bakery is a 30 minute round-trip walk, which entitles you to guilt-free enjoyment of a gorgeous slice of any their cakes! The chic and rather crowded Yorkville area is also nearby with its overpriced designer stores and less-that-impressive hideaway cafés.

The hotel itself has a new, rejuvenated feel to it - possibly a result of Holiday Inn re-branding and improvement exercise? Anyway, all areas I visited were extremely clean with a light airy feel. The 11th-floor room was quiet enough providing the window was kept closed and all in-room features - air-conditioning, mini-fridge, coffee-machine, CRT-television, laptop safe - worked well. The room felt new and i suspect it was recently renovated, linens were clean, bed was comfortable, no dust or dirt, housekeeping was timely and unobtrusive respecting the "Do Not Disturb" keycard inserts.

The complimentary Internet service is a bit slow but thankfully not cripplingly so as another reviewer had mentioned. The free laundry service is a nice addition and actually came in quite handy. There are two computers with connected printers located in the lobby, which are very convenient for printing the odd map or so. Customer service is very good; John at the front desk is brisk with that old English upper-lip efficiency that is so rare nowadays.

If you can get this hotel for maximum $125 + taxes, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cngw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#64 of 138 in Toronto
785 reviews
Midtown
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#74 of 138 in Toronto
497 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville

Address: 280 Bloor St W, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1V8, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: ₹ 10,344 - ₹ 21,542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashionably located in Toronto's upscale Yorkville area, at the historic University of Toronto, our comfortable rooms, professional staff and superb surroundings make our downtown Toronto hotel an ideal choice for business or leisure. Enjoy walking the tree lined streets to the surrounding museums or use the adjacent subway stop (St. George) to whisk you to your business appointment. Our 209 well appointed rooms ensure that you are well rested to start your Toronto adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bloor Yorkville Hotel Toronto
Midtown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Toronto
Toronto Holiday Inn
Journeys End Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing