We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive for a very ordinary hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Ranked #79 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

At $200 per night, you expect to have a hotel that does not have huge stains on its carpets in the corridors and the rooms, neither to have its chairs in the room that are ripped and repaired with electric tape (yes ... you read well!), nor that have overused furniture that has left marks on the walls ... Room service took one hour and they forgot the drink, which arrived another 45 minutes later ... So, no thanks, I will not go back there, and I will not recommend it to a friend ... sorry ...

Room Tip: No suggestion here ... go elsewhere ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Francois R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Francois R,

Thank you for your review and for staying at the hotel. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry to hear that you and experienced inconvenience due to the poor cleanliness of the carpet as well as the issues you had with the room furniture and service. I understand how frustrating these matters can be and I am sorry our hotel staff was not able to address this issue appropriately. As such, I have sent you a private message to ask more information regarding this unsatisfactory stay.

Your visit is valuable and I hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Zel N.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017

Bloor is always a good street to stay on, so in that this hotel succeeded. Only downside is customer service and how inattentive their staff are. I booked a stay for a few nights and needed parking for only one of those nights. I stressed to the front desk agent that I only needed it for the ONE night and thus it would be removed the next day. I think I asked him at least 6 times what time it needed to be moved by before he finally understood what I was saying. To make matters worse, they bill me for parking for my entire stay. If you stay here, just make sure you review everything as they don't seem to know what they're doing. One downside/upside is the Fox & Fiddle is connected to them. I found it irritating as the hotel was then filled with loud noise and drunk patrons. The girl that kept pushing the room service tray up and down from the restaurant was rude always pushing us to get on the elevator.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noir_mxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear noir_mxo,

We appreciate you for sharing your review about your recent stay.

We are very sorry that you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay because of the level of service you have received. I apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced. Please be assured, that we have noted and forwarded your comments about our customer service and the rude room service for the management to improve.

I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again.

Best Regards,

Ben W.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

The doors to the HI Yorkville will close for the last time on December 1st ahead of a total refurb before opening as the first Kimpton in Canada next year.

This is a shame as the location is perfect and the staff excellent. Clearly as it enters its final weeks there is a shabby feeling as maintenance has long since stopped.

However in the coming weeks if you're heading for Toronto then this is ideal!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank MrCfromHYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Stayed at Holiday Inn Bloor Yorkville last week overall happy I must say but with one or two big issues.
Very efficient I must say booking in and out and desk staff very helpful.Rooms spacious air cond excellent it was a very hot week we were there hit 30s some days. Housekeeping also very good as were the lifts 3 in total never long waiting and we were on 14th floor.
Carpets in the hallway were a major let down to this very good hotel worn which gave the impression that they are grubby.
The other bigger issue is was the breakfast. Terrible dinghy dining are and the waitress (same one all week) advising guest before they eat the need to Tip really a downer and a policy the Hotel would need to act on.
Location very good St Georges subway very near.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeoleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

It is located one block from St George station, about 1 min walk.
1st choice when you need to access Woodsworth college residence.
Daily stuffs are easily bought from Shoppers and Metro which were only about 5 mins walking.
Tim Hortons is just 3 mins distance.
Access to Chinatown and downtown Toronto via TTC bus from Spadina station about 3 mins walking from hotel. Take bus no. 510 is very convenient from North side to South side of Toronto.
Hotel staffs are helpful and nice.
Room is clean and tidy but the price are bit cosy during high season about CAD$300 above a night.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whatisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#64 of 138 in Toronto
785 reviews
Midtown
Toronto Marriott Bloor Yorkville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Comfort Hotel Downtown
#74 of 138 in Toronto
497 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville

Address: 280 Bloor St W, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1V8, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: ₹ 10,344 - ₹ 21,542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashionably located in Toronto's upscale Yorkville area, at the historic University of Toronto, our comfortable rooms, professional staff and superb surroundings make our downtown Toronto hotel an ideal choice for business or leisure. Enjoy walking the tree lined streets to the surrounding museums or use the adjacent subway stop (St. George) to whisk you to your business appointment. Our 209 well appointed rooms ensure that you are well rested to start your Toronto adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bloor Yorkville Hotel Toronto
Midtown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Toronto
Toronto Holiday Inn
Journeys End Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing