We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here I am again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Downtown
Ranked #74 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Again another stay at this hotel, each time seems to get better. Still roomy still quiet, I found that the staff seemed to have changed and were even better than last time.

My flight was delayed 3 hours, when I arrived at midnight, I was greeted by name and my room was ready for me with lights and the heater on, how often does that happen?

Yes this is my home away from home in Toronto.

Room Tip: All you can eat Japanese restaurant in the building is worth it for lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Antinmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 303 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

A friend and I stayed here for three nights in early January. The room was average, nothing special about it. Old TV and furnishings could use updating. Overall great location downtown for what we needed the room for. We were on the 10th floor and could hear the one of the air vents squeaking on top of the building all day and night. The tub could have been cleaner as there were several black hairs found attached to the plug in the drain. We were initially worried about bed bugs in the area - but we did a check before moving into the room and didn't find any or any evidence.
Overall this location was good, and quality of the room was okay for the price paid. Not the best room for the price I have ever stayed in though...
Would recommend to someone on a budget that needs to be close to downtown.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnnGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Having read previous reviews we were a little apprehensive about staying here but were more than pleasantly surprised. The hotel is clean and the staff friendly and helpful, especially at 11.30pm on the 1st night of our stay (Christmas eve) when we arrived back from our evening out to discover the toilet blocked. It took less than 10 minutes for them to move us to another room, which was equally spacious, clean and comfortable. The beds were really comfortable and whenever we asked for extra supplies of coffee, creamer etc; we were readily supplied with however much we wanted. The breakfast admittedly was basic but at least we were not charged extra for it. The hotel is well-situated for the tube station on Yonge/Bloor. There were notices around the building stating they were currently undergoing renovation - but being Christmas there was no evidence of workmen. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Just a heads up my wife and I have had a smoking room booked at this hotel for over a month for the weekend of Jan 12th 2012 . We wanted to to stay an extra day so we called to book it on jan 2nd. when we called the hotel to book the extra day we where told that as of Jan 1st there is no more smoking in the hotel. I think they could have told us that at the time of booking so if you have a smoking room booked you may want to look into a different hotel.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank guy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I went in with low expectations based on other reviews and was still disappointed.

The room, and quite frankly the entire hotel, smelled of cigarette smoke. One of the beds in our room was turned down, and appeared to be recently slept in and there were empty bottles of shampoo littering the shower.
We discovered we'd have to go down 8 floors to what appeared to be the nearest ice machine, and it's a good thing we thought the better of it since we found a sandwich in our ice bucket. I wish I were kidding.

The location was nice, but definitely not worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHDT, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on the Trip Advisor following your stay at Comfort Hotel Downtown Toronto.
Please accept our apology for aqny inconvenience caused due to the condition of the room you were assigned on this occassion.We can understand your dissatisfaction.
Every effort is made to ensure our rooms are clean ,properly supplied and ready for your arrival.This matter was brought to the attention of our Executive Housekeeper in order to prevent reccurence.
Our management is most interested in your care and comfort.We hope you will continue to use Comfort Hotel Downtown Toronto and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely

Satish Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#82 of 138 in Toronto
291 reviews
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#63 of 138 in Toronto
784 reviews
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#58 of 138 in Toronto
2,745 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Downtown
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
#60 of 138 in Toronto
6,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Downtown

Address: 15 Charles St E, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 1S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: ₹ 8,427 - ₹ 13,995 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Hotel Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located near the Trendy Yorkville shopping, just steps away from Toronto's best shopping facilities, Restaurants and theatres. With easy access to the Yonge & Bloor Subway System, Our guests are only minutes away from all that Toronto has to offer. Wheteher you in Toronto for business or taking in a sporting event, a theatrical performance the Comfort Hotel Downtown is a perfect selection for your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Toronto
Comfort Inn Downtown Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing