We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location for Concert at Ricoh Coliseum...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Ranked #29 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Powassan, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Location for Concert at Ricoh Coliseum...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I recently stayed at the Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel with two friends, as we were attending a concert at the Ricoh Coliseum. The hotel was easy to find, checkin was efficient and friendly, as was the valet parking.

Our room was nice and big - we had two double beds, a separate sitting area, and a nice big closet with lighting. The bathroom was also large which was great for three women getting ready to go out. It was very clean, comfortable, and exactly what we needed.

We were able to walk to Boston Pizza which was very closeby, grab a cab to the venue for only $12.00, and again on the way back. We then had a tea in the lounge before we turned in for the night.

We didn't have time to check out all of the hotel amenities, as it was a very quick trip just down and back for the concert, so we were really only there to sleep, but it was great for what we needed it for.

If you want a nice, clean, friendly hotel closeby to all downtown attactions and amenities (it's right at the Roger's Centre, CN Tower, and Air Canada Centre, and is only a short cab ride away from the Ricoh Centre and Molson Amphitheatre) then I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuteTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    674
    259
    90
    45
See reviews for
447
547
93
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel is very unique in that it is attached to the Rogers Center Dome. That also brings with it a few down sides. This past week they were hosting the motocross race in the dome. The odor of exhaust was noticeable to say the least. The rooms are great, and the views facing the city were pretty cool. My stay was a bit tarnished due to the smell in the lobby the day of the race. I would definitely not recommend staying there if there is a similar event taking place. Food was good, but pricey. That's pretty much Toronto though.

Room Tip: Face the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlliniFan1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
80 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I spent 4 nights here recently while on a business trip. The booking was made by a colleague who has all the right cards and memberships, which probably accounts for two things. One, an upgrade to a one bedroom suite, which, to be honest, was more than I needed, and two, a never-seen-before $48 daily food credit to consume at the hotel restaurant or room service.

My oversized room was a bit dated, but nice and comfy - what you would expect from a decent 4 star property. There were no wireless internet connection or in-room safe though.

As I got to know the hotel's food related services (did I mention the daily $48 food credit?), I found that while both room service and the restaurant were equally pricy, food delivered by room service was somehow better, as if they were coming from two different kitchens. I would say the restaurant is not more than average, however breakfast was quite good.

Front desk was friendly and efficient, and by the way, those who aren't too obsessed with getting the room serviced daily can get an additional $5 credit for… yes, the restaurant.

Overall, a very good stay, and at a good rate a recommended choice if you don't mind checking out a couple of pounds heavier than you'd arrived.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very, very far from the elevators, best to avoid those
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bg007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

This was our 3rd year holding the tryout for the 2 days. The hotel staff were great from the frontdesk staff, the maintenance crew and the event staff. They always were there when you have an urgent requests at the snap of a finger. The Northern Lights Ballroom and the rooms where spacious and clean. Looking forward to more stays at the Renaissance.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevans1342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ONTARIO
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at the Renaissance for two nights during the March break. We got a great deal by calling and getting a CAA rate for $118.00 a night that included breakfast.

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff who helped direct us to the self parking area ($20 per night with in and out preveledges) and got checked in without a problem. The room was quite spacious with a separate sitting area, desk, fridge and king size. Although the bathroom was a little dated, it was large and had plenty of hot water and water pressure. It was a great place for the price and location. The buffet breakfast was also very good and a good way to start our day.

Our only problem or suggestion would be to ask for a room on the opposite side of the train tracks for those who are light sleepers because it can get quite noisy and busy in the morning. Also when we requested to use a microwave and were told that they would send one up, it took over an hour and three phone calls to make it happen. I would have preferred they told me no than have to wait that long. Otherwise it was a great place and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CANTRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
#21 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#21 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#29 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,281 - ₹ 33,796
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel. You set the pace at our Toronto downtown hotel's accommodations. We are a boutique hotel in Toronto that has 348 guest rooms and guest suites, with all of the amenities and services for excellence on a stay in Toronto - including a Lobby Lounge, Club Lounge, Starbucks Coffee, on-site restaurant, and indoor pool. We will follow your lead and meet your every need, whether you have come to out city to get work done or explore. Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel offers a fantastic destination in the heart of Toronto, close to Rogers Center, CN Tower, and Air Canada Center in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing