We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #39 of 131 Hotels in Toronto
Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We flew into Toronto and took the public transport from the Airport to the Hotel - you end up on the subway and you can get off near enough to the hotel to wheel your bags no problem. Its simple and v cheap. We left Toronto after 2 nights by train and walked to the station from the Hotel - we are fit and able and suitcases are on wheels but it was an easy flat walk. The room was excellent, lovely big comfortable bed, fab sheets and all very clean. The room had a small fridge and coffee machine, old but ok a/c, good bathroom and huge closet with iron and board. There is a great restaurant a few doors down from the Hotel called Marche. It serves every type of food and drink you could wish for at any time of the day. Its also opposite an Irish Bar. I booked a king sized deluxe bedroom in advance, we got a room on the top floor with king sized bed and it looked like the top floor was finished!!! Other floors look like works was still ongoing. Being high up the city noise and buzz was not a problem but don't expect a view. We walked everywhere in the city from the Hotel, it really is well situated - staff were friendly and helpful, they booked us a table for supper at CNN tower without a problem.

Room Tip: I booked a room with King sized bed which got us the top floor where the renovations are finished!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Hi there Roger831

I am thrilled that our location was to your satisfaction. I appreciate your comments about your excellent room, they are lovely and our beds and linens are very popular with our guests. I am glad you found our staff helpful, the CN Tower restaurant is an amazing place to eat, the view is breath taking. Thank you for sharing your experience via TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to Toronto and to the Hotel Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    442
    148
    50
    29
See reviews for
121
437
94
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

I discovered this hotel through Tripadvisor. I was looking for a place that was reasonably priced, given the fact that it was downtown, and a place that was conveniently located. Thankfully, this hotel delivered both and we stayed 3 nights. This place is excellent!!! Note: my review is for their DELUXE room.

The Good:

1) Rooms are clean, new, and modern. Incidentally, I'm pretty sure the paint in some of the hallways was only a few days old. Our deluxe room came equipped with all the standard stuff but it also had a mini-fridge and, surprisingly, free all-you-can-watch Apple TV. While I didn't watch a lot of it, I did watch some and it was great. The place has a boutique feel.

2) Location is Yonge St. This place is a 5-minute walk to Union Station, the Hockey Hall of fame is about a block down, there's a 24-hour grocery store that's accessible with a short walk, it's about 10 minutes walk to the Harbourfront, etc. The short of it: location is top-notch; you can walk everywhere. There's a Subway literally next door, along with a restaurant in the hotel, and Starbucks and Shoppers Drugmart are a block away.

3) Staff. They were professional, helpful. Any problems we had were quickly taken care of. Even the cleaning staff were keen to help out when we had issues with our TV.

4) Free Wi-Fi. Needless to say, many of the so-called top-tier hotels still charge for this in 2012. Hotel Victoria's was consistent and quick and hassle-free.


The Bad:

1) While the rooms were new and clean, the hotel clearly had some issues with its building contractors. The room flooring must have been installed hastily because it creaked pretty much everywhere you walked on it. While the bathroom was also clean and new, the tub was already pulling away from some of the sealant between it and the tiles. These were just minor, incidental things, but they were noticeable.

2) The curtains didn't fully darken our room. The light from outside kept the room brighter than it should have been at night.

Room Tip: Note: If you have a room facing onto Yonge St. it will be loud (ie. traffic) if the airconditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank duder77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Greetings duder77

That is great that you found us via TripAdvisor – thank you for sharing your thoughts, hopefully others will finds us this was as well.
You are correct, we were in the middle of guest corridors which are now fully complete. Apple TV is a great feature we offer, so glad you liked it. I am glad that all staff that you encountered were helpful to you, we take great pride in quality and service. I am disappointed to read that your floor creaked and that the curtains did not block all of the sunlight, I shall have our maintenance team look into this, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to your next visit, thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We went against advice of our travel agent and insisted that we stay at the Hotel Victoria based on all the wonderful reviews here on Tripadvisor.
The Hotel was in a handy location and the staff were indeed very friendly and helpful.
The free WiFi was a bonus and my husband made good use of the free computer terminal in the lobby
At times we had a long wait for the lift but that was not a huge concern.
Our room was on the 7th floor. It was very compact and had a small bathroom with a shower, basin and toilet.
At the time we stayed they were in the middle of renovating but our room had been fully renovated.
The room looked very stylish and comfortable but the first thing we noticed was that the wooden floor made an awful creaking sound when we walked on it (all around the room). One of the bedside tables was placed at a distance from the bed due to the fact that the electric plugs (for the lamp etc.) could not fit behind it. Not a great look having all the electric plugs and wires exposed.
When we had a shower we always ended up with a huge puddle of water on the floor of the bathroom and had to mop it up with extra bath towels.
When I mentioned the shower and floor problems to reception they explained that the two issues were related. Apparently the leaking shower was causing a damp problem with the floor which caused the creaky floor.
The hotel was having issues with the standard of work done by some of the contractors and sadly our stay was not as wonderful as it could or should have been.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eerampink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven J, General Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Hi Eerampink

Thank you for taking the time to provide such an in-depth review. Guest feedback essential to our success.
I am very pleased that you took advantage of our complimentary WIFI, defiantly a great feature. I am sorry that you found your rooms small and compact, I wish you had mentioned this to our Front Office Team, they would have been more than happy to have upgraded you to a larger room on a lower floor. We have addressed the issues with the exposed wires – thank you for letting us know. We have also address the floor and shower issues with our contractors and they are currently looking into correcting these issues. Again, many thanks for your review. Please contact me directly to make a future booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Last week we stayed for 3 nights at the Hotel Victoria in Toronto, Canada.

I was pleasantly surprised and delighted that the room was larger than some reviewers stated. In fact, it was a really nice sized room and it was immaculate and pleasantly decorated. Also, we did not find the elevator at all slow as some people commented.

We were on the 7th floor...no view at all, but it did not matter. The bed and pillows made for an excellent night's sleep..the room was very quiet, too. The bathroom was an adequate size with more than enough amenities...2 boxes of tissues, 3 rolls of toilet paper, more than enough soap, shampoo and lotion.

We walked to many neighborhoods despite an early heat wave. There are many restaurants within walking distance, including a wonderful breakfast place inside the hotel, but privately owned, called Over Easy. I will review that, too.

The hotel is a wonderful reasonable place to stay...very convenient location. We did not require any assistance from the reception area, so I can't comment on that, but I am assuming they would be very responsive.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floridagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven J, General Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Hi Floridagal

Thank you for including the Hotel Victoria in your travel plans. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our beds and pillows are quite popular with our guests and do offer a great night sleep. I am glad you found our location great and our rates wonderfully reasonable. Indeed, our staff would have been more than happy to help you in any way you would have needed. Perhaps they can be helpful to you on your next visit.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapleau, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

My husband and I spent 2 seperate nights(1st a romantic getaway and the 2nd for a concert) at Hotel Victoria last week, and like I have said before, we will never stay anywhere else. The rooms are immaculate, the staff is very accommodating and friendly, the new carpet on the 7th and 8th floor is REALLY nice. Everyone no matter who you are or where you're from is treated the same. We absolutely LOVE all the new renos. We choose Hotel Victoria all the time because we feel like we are always coming home. It is very comfortable, quiet, the room packages are really great and the location is the best. We have stayed here 8 times now over the last 3 years and cannot see us staying anywhere else when visiting Toronto. If you are planning a trip to Toronto, you MUST stay here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and quiet. If you are going to have friends come to your room for a drink o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenn Jer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven J, General Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Hi Jen Jer L

Glad to hear romance is not dead yet, that is great to hear! Thank you for reviewing our hotel, I shall pass along your comments on your immaculate room to our housekeeping staff, they take great pride in their work. I am glad you like our new guest corridor renovations, the new signage has been installed so we are almost complete with our renovations. I am thrilled that we have made such an impression on you. Our location is great, and glad it works for you. Please feel free to contact me when you are ready to make your next booking. We all look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#50 of 131 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#55 of 131 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#43 of 131 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Cosmopolitan
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#18 of 131 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: 56 Yonge St., Toronto, Ontario M5E 1G5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,523 - ₹ 14,568
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria is a Boutique Style Hotel in the heart of Downtown Toronto. Our historically modern guestrooms feature new beds with pillow top mattresses, hardwood floors, LCD TVs, and custom designed, modern furniture. The lobby features a mix of classic and contemporary furnishings. The hotel's ideal Yonge Street location is within walking distance of shopping, dining and major downtown attractions, and just steps away from the Subway and Ground Transit Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelClick so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Toronto
Hotel Victoria Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing