We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Spend a day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Ontario Museum

Royal Ontario Museum
Book In Advance
US$ 13.10*
and up
Royal Ontario Museum Ticket
Ranked #5 of 491 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Royal Ontario Museum (ROM) is among the world’s leading museums of natural history and world cultures. In combining a universal museum of cultures with that of natural history, the ROM offers an unusual breadth of experience to our audiences from around the world. We realize more acutely now that nature and humanity are intertwined, and the ROM offers many examples in its collections and programs of these fundamental relationships.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spend a day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

The ROM will never disappoint. If you only do one thing during your trip to Toronto, make it the ROM.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Solotripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,951
    1,676
    465
    82
    33
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

The Front of this place leaves something to be desired because i think they totally ruined the historical front of it, but the contents is amazing, the new dinosaur exhibit is very tastefully done compared to what it was, and it is definently worth your time to explore!

Helpful?
Thank helicrazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great place for kids & families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Something for everyone! We bring the kids at least once/month.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank tcmtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Being an international student in Toronto, I decided that it is really important for me to visit this museum. It was even free for me (student discount). However, I did not like it. Don't take in the wrong way: I love museums. (For example, I really enjoyed the museum of civilizations in Ottawa which I visited on a package tour).
The problem with the ROM: that it is too big and confusing. It overflows you with information. I would say that the ROM needs to specialize in some form or type of art. Otherwise, it is just a big tasteless collection of random art.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Bah881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“INTERACTIVE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Fun for the kids and greta for the parents. Lots to do and so much to see...you need more than one day

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Ontario Museum also viewed

 

Been to Royal Ontario Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing