We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful hip hotel in King West district” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Ranked #16 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A wonderful hip hotel in King West district”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I booked a room here for the IDS 2012. I'm so glad we did. The front desk entrance, lounge, roof top lounge were all fantastic and left quite an impression. Our room was beautiful and minimal just like home. The only drawback was that we were directly in front of the elevator (a bit loud really) and found it was a wheelchair accessible room (a bit less romantic). We didn't bother changing it though. The beds are heavenly, really. One thing I can't stand is having to pay for internet. Come on! Really? For $15 a day and not spending that much time in the room - we didn't bother.

The room service staff were all amazing, friendly and quick. Within minutes literally we had fresh towels, drinks, room service (eggs benefict, muffins, coffee - all delicious).

We would stay here again in a heart beat. It's a walk to Queen St. shopping but on a nice day it's perfect. Right outside our window on Wellington was a busy dog park which was highly entertaining on a quiet Sunday morning and the hotel is a very short cab ride to Billy Bishop airport if you're flying Porter.

Do book a table at Scarpetta restaurant well in advance for it's more than famous Spaghetti with Basil but make sure to start off with a drink at the Lobby Lounge first. Those complimentary bar chips are delicious with one of their Bloody Ceasars.

Have fun, it's Thompson!

Room Tip: Away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saye K, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear clubview,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Thompson Toronto. Our dedicated staff love making all our guests feel welcome, and they will be grateful to know how much you appreciated their efforts. Also, we’re glad you had an exceptional time at our hotel . It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to see you in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    264
    133
    72
    82
See reviews for
99
502
82
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

As a frequent traveler, my stay at the Thompson Toronto was nothing but positive.

The hotel's valet and front desk staff were friendly and professional (extra points to Josh). My king superior room was clean, well-maintained and spacious, and I loved the modern - yet warm and cozy - decor (which is found throughout the property). I also appreciated the extra touches such as the heated floor in the bathroom and the lighting controls next to the bed.

The comments regarding the great views from the rooftop are not exaggerations. In addition, for travelers seeking a quality fitness center, the Thompson Toronto's 24-hour facility delivers the goods - it's large and the equipment is state-of-the-art.

My experience with the restaurants, Scarpetta and Thompson Diner, were limited but I did find the sleek designs appealing.

It is true that the downstairs and rooftop bars are popular, and they can get loud and crowded; however, I did not encounter any noise issues in my room.

I hope I have the opportunity to return to this property when the weather is warmer and I am able to fully enjoy the rooftop lounge and infinity pool.

Room Tip: Rooms on the six floor and above are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdpndc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saye K, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear tdpndc,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us, we love hearing from our guests.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, hotel décor, design, our restaurants, fitness center and the rooftop view. It was our pleasure to serve you and we’re pleased to know you had a great time with us. We value your continued patronage, and we look forward to serving you again upon your next visit.

Kindest Regards,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Have now done a second and final attempt at the Thompson Hotel in Toronto. Both stays have been for business and it is clearly not a business hotel. As many other reviews have indicated the hotel is very loud and the service is, at best, ambivalent.

Room Tip: Not sure there is one. Most floors can be very loud with party people at all hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KGBRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saye K, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear KGBRover,
We regret to hear that your experience was anything less than exceptional, yet we thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and we will take your comments into serious consideration as we continually strive to improve.

Again thank you for your time and for sharing your thoughts regarding your stay. We hope to have the privilege of serving you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

My husband and I stayed over on a Monday night for a mini staycation. I noticed a light scent of stale smoke, but I ignored it. I figured it was just me, since Ontario had passed that "no smoking indoors" law a few years back. The rooms were clean and comfortable, I particularly liked the touch-activated light switches, and the heated floor in the bathroom was my favourite. Great until the people next door came back. It sounded like a good 6 people (all drunk) were packed into one room all trying to talk over one another. Several minutes later, it became obvious where the smoke smell had come from, as kids next door were clearly smoking pot and the fumes were wafting from under the door. A call down to the front desk did get the kids to quiet down a bit, but the marijuana smoke was a lost cause.

We live in the city, so the location was not a big deal to us, but for those from out of town, the hotel is located in a gentrifying area, and in my personal opinion, quite a (walking) distance from anything of note. I would prefer to stay somewhere more central, and better lit at night if I wasn't familiar with the area.

Room Tip: I suppose a room away from the stairwells would help, as people seem to like taking the stairs at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ki_le2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saye K, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear ki_le2,
We value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us; we love hearing from our guests. Thank you for your kind words regarding the Thompson Toronto’s room and happy you liked the heated floor in the washroom- we’re glad you enjoyed these aspects of our hotel. We regret, however, to hear that you experienced that inconvenient situation; we assure you that what you experienced is not the standard at Thompson Toronto or among any Thompson property.

Again, thank you for your time and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

I can't believe that in the time since my last visit the Thompson has actually gotten worse, despite the amount of negative reviews they've received - I really can't believe nothing has been taken into account.

I did stay elsewhere in the city, since the experience was so bad the first time. However we did visit the hotel for it's lobby bar -> Couldn't get in because the lineup of Jersey Shore wannabes (amazing that people want to behave in such fashion) was extensive & we were informed by the rude beefy security guard that we probably wouldn't be able to get in before last call (it was 11)

A few days later we returned to visit The Counter, which I learned has changed names to The Thompson Diner. It seems the food quality has gone down, while the prices have gone up: Orange juice + pancakes for two rendered a near $60 bill - the orange juice was from concentrate while the pancakes were dry & tasteless, had NO sides (for $17 you would expect some bacon) & didn't even have a handful of fruit in them (banana pancakes were more like a hunt for banana in a whopping pile of cheap flour)

Again, I am extremely disappointed in the quality of this hotel, considering the high caliber of service the American locations provide. The Canadian management clearly doesn't know much about customer service.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask about the faucets - it seems many of the faucets in the room have come off & we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saye K, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear margot t,
We value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us; we love hearing from our guests. We regret that your visit was anything less than exceptional and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered. Yet, we appreciate and value your feedback and will use your concerns constructively to improve our overall guest experience.

In hopes to remedy your stay, we eagerly invite you to contact us so that we may address the inconveniences you experienced during your visit. Please send a message to ThompsonHotels, or contact the hotel directly by phone or email.

Kindest regards,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Property: Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Address: 550 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,135 - ₹ 30,029
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thompson Toronto, Thompson's first international addition, opened the summer of 2010 in the diverse and artistically driven King West Village, a neighborhood adjacent to the city's financial and entertainment districts. Designed by Studio Gaia, 102 ultra-sleek guestrooms feature dark hardwood flooring, contrasting accents in lush orange and cool white, and floor to ceiling windows with sweeping views of Toronto's cityscape. The hotel's three dining facilities cater to all tastes: offering comfort food at The Thompson Diner, a modern incarnation of the quintessential 24-hour American diner, and traditional Japanese at Wabora Sushi.Other hotel amenities include a state of the art screening room, an exclusive nightclub, 1812, and Toronto's first and only rooftop pool bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Prestigia so you can book your Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing