We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Italian Restaurants in Thunder Bay”
Review of Bar Italia

Bar Italia
Ranked #47 of 328 Restaurants in Thunder Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Laura, Torry and Gina Tozzo have continued the Tozzo family tradition by keeping the restaurant going and flourishing after the death of their dad. Naz is so proud of his kids, watching from heaven as they make and serve a number of delicious Italian dishes!

Date of visit: January 2018
2  Thank Brunina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Cost me $14 plus tax for just Spaghetti and Tomatoes? Wth? Not even good .... very bland. I could of make this at home & it would of cost me $4. So disappointed!!!!

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank lynxyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Ordered a pep and cheese pizza last week, along with a panzerotti and their ravioli special. The panzerotti and pizza were very salty and acidic tasting. The ravioli were not cooked enough and still quite doughy. We will try another place next time.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank travelprofesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

A construction worker repairing the street directed me to ask for gnocchi here (it's rare to get it). No gnocchi but a fresh prepared pasta with sausage and rapini (something like broccoli) was well worth the visit, with crunchy Caesar salad as starter. Everyone else eating that evening seemed to know each other -- it's a community / neighborhood place. Well worth it to walk the extra couple blocks from the marina area (pass by the other two mass-market food Italian places). Friendly and attentive wait staff. As photos attest, the outside looks a bit informal -- don't let that keep you away!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tjmU4374LJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

A friend introduced me to Bar Italia for lunch. From the outside, it is unassuming. Inside, is is a bit dark, with tables filling the smallish interior. The menu is full of real Italian food. I had a thick soup; Pasta e Fagioli, and a veal sandwich. Service was friendly and efficient. Our food arrived quickly, and it was delicious! Apparently, all of the cooking is done by family members, so the meal was "authentic". We finished with an Espresso. What a perfect lunch! You must go to this restaurant. Great variety of real Italian food.

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank Raven59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Italia also viewed

Thunder Bay, Thunder Bay District
Thunder Bay, Thunder Bay District
 
Thunder Bay, Thunder Bay District
Thunder Bay, Thunder Bay District
 
Thunder Bay, Thunder Bay District
Thunder Bay, Thunder Bay District
 

Been to Bar Italia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing