We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!! pics to be posted soon!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Landmark Hotel

Landmark Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thunder Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Landmark Hotel
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Grande Prairie, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!! pics to be posted soon!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

OMG !!!!!!!! Hair in the sheets!!! Native drunks everywhere!! Smoking in hallways! Ceilings in bathroom are rotten and moldly. And as a family of younf children thrown into a room that reeked of smoke and no fan in bathroom full of smoke burns, that matched the dirty bed covers, my 11 yr old slept in day clothes between cover and blanket!!! yuck yuck!!! Oh and dont DARE ask the staff a question or phone the front desk you will be treated like s@#$!!!!! Travelling acroos country hit this city late and went to the nicely advertised add of a waterslide place online...yeah? NO. Place is a dump and has left a bad taste in my mouth for the city!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Not to mention the mob of natives drunk hanging out front didnt want to leave my vechile out there!!

Room Tip: Ask around, dont follow online advertisements
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank beenthere1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    8
    11
    30
See reviews for
18
8
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

If you're looking for clean comfortable rooms and a continental breakfast, you'd be better off at one of the larger, chain hotels. Landmark charges the same rate and gives you less. Service is mediocre, the rooms are a little bit scruffy, and breakfast included means bad coffee and muffins in the lobby until 8am. I chose this hotel primarily for the included breakfast and am now forced to buy breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank peripateticdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

The thing that ruined this hotel experience for me the most was the horrible, awful, yucky, terrible smell of stale smoke throughout the hotel. I had a non-smoking room but it smelled so badly of stale smoke that I had to wash EVERYTHING when I got home - even had to bring my winter coat to the dry cleaners to get the awful smell out of it. I was also unfortunate to have a room next to some very loud guests who kept me awake until the wee hours of the morning. The only positive thing I can say about this hotel is that the restaurant and front desk staff were very polite and helpful. However, I will never stay at this dump again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank zazzle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

To me, this was the definition of 'Average' ... nothing that really stands out, good or bad. Everything that needed to work, worked - no bells and whistles, just a functional hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biederpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmins, ON
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

This location was chosen by others and not of my choice. To arrive at the location is tricky. You need to pass by a department store & large parking lot to arrive.

Upon checking in they only had me staying for one night. In hindsight I really should have taken this as a message. I noticed several larger men me wearing black t-shirts & bolded letters "Security". You do not see that at many other hotels. In fact, I have never seen such a presence before and have to wonder why at this location?

This is an older hotel caught in time that has not begun to modernize in many ways. While there was wireless internet, the airconditioning could not be individually set, the air which comes out of a small vent in the bathroom - was not working. All that I can say is that if it would have been warmer, the stay would not have lasted the night. Windows thay open slightly did the trick.

The room while basic still had the slight odour of smoke while supposed to be "smoke free" on the entire floor. While there was a pool that looked nice, I never did use the facilities.

Overall, to stay in Thunder Bay again......there are farrrr nicer locations at comprable rates. Will pass the next time.

Overall,

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank blues911_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
3.7 km away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
8.4 km away
Victoria Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
5.0 km away
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
#5 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
9.0 km away
Valhalla Inn
Valhalla Inn
#8 of 33 in Thunder Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
5.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Hotel

Property: Landmark Hotel
Address: 1010 Dawson Rd, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 5J4, Canada (Formerly Ramada Landmark Inn)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,630 - ₹ 4,797
Number of rooms: 106
Also Known As:
Landmark Hotel Thunder Bay, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing