We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot”
Review of El Tres

El Tres
Ranked #40 of 318 Restaurants in Thunder Bay
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We stopped in Thunder Bay for an excellent dinner at El Tres. It is a very attractive spot with a dining room that actually opens onto the sidewalk in front. Loved the vibe of the place. Our server Jordan was excellent. He described the food in very artistic and effective ways. As well he was attentive but not intrusive. Great server! The food was excellent. We shared a guacamole dip for a starter. Seriously good! Large portion of guacamole and served with very interesting chips and flavourful house made chips. I would love to know how they made them. The mains were both very good. The tacos were lovely with my Machaca ones being legit Machaca unlike most places I have tried in the north part of this continent. We were very impressed and since I am in Thunder Bay several times a year for work, I look forward to becoming a regular at El Tres.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank X8891OWandrewp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2018

Stopped at this restaurant in downtown Thunder Bay North for dinner on a warm summer evening. The front wall opens up so patrons feel like they are dining outdoors, but not in the blazing sun! Enjoyed a variety of tacos- they were yummy and very filling. Looking forward to a repeat visit already.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

A group of about 15 sat down for my son's birthday at El Tres. Most of the people had been there before but it was a first for my wife and I - always been a little apprehensive about Mexican food but this experience was over the top. On service, couldn't ask for much more - our waiter was quick, unobtrusive and extremely knowledgeable about the dishes he was bring out and any questions anyone had. Good the time to explain exactly what we were eating. On food - OMG, where to start - we enjoyed the Pollo (Chicken) Tacos, Camarao do Diablo (shrimp). Jalapeños Rellanos (my personal favourite) and Molotes - more than enough food for the two of us. Each dish was a wonderful taste experience - a pleasant amount of heat to most dishes with some being more or less so, the server helped with this a great deal. On price - those four dishes ran us under $60, we felt we got very good value for a competitively priced eatery. The restaurant specializes in Tequila and has an amazing selection. The wine list, though short, is focussed on unusual (for us) wines not commonly found in a retail outlet. We were quite satisfied with quality and price. Conclusion? Highly recommended. Food, service and price all excellent and the atmosphere is, well, Mexican! Your eyes will be entertained by the decor all through your dinner.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Late-Day-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

We totally enjoyed our experience at El Tres. The food was delicious, the atmosphere was comfortable and the service was great. The decor is great, everywhere I looked was a new image and art - loved it. If you're going to select a 2-taco meal, do so only if you are slightly hungry. The tacos were little and disappeared fast.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kasmar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

Great fun time. The food recommended was just the right hotness to it. The margaritas are to die for can't just have one.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank deburgoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Tres also viewed

Thunder Bay, Thunder Bay District
Thunder Bay, Thunder Bay District
 
Thunder Bay, Thunder Bay District
Thunder Bay, Thunder Bay District
 
Thunder Bay, Thunder Bay District
Thunder Bay, Thunder Bay District
 

Been to El Tres? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing