We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Motel 6 - Sudbury, ON
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 - Sudbury, ON
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Looking for a cheap place to spend the night? This will do. The location is convenient and the staff were friendly. It was also convenient to be able to park our car right outside the door. Our room had a shower (no tub) and the bathroom got soaked anytime we showered. Also a fan in the bathroom would provide better circulation instead of causing the whole room to get steamy and damp. The towels and sheets had a mouldy smell. We asked for extra towels but these also smelled. I improvised by using a blanket from my car and my beach towels. They offer coffee from 7-9 am. There is a kitchen that is wide open on main floor near lobby which is for their personal use only. It should be labeled better or kept closed to avoid confusion.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cyndy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2016

After spending a lot of money at other hotels we tried this place to save some money while in Sudbury due to a loved one passing.
It's cheap....$150 for 2 nights. Its cluttered with a bunch of stuff stacked behind the desk and a room to the right of the front desk that gives it a trashy look. I asked to see the rooms first the main floor had a plastic walk in shower and the smell of curry and spice was over powering on the main floor, the second floor actually had tubs and more updated rooms that were basically clean. The carpet was horrible but the bathroom was all redone. (Do it yourself redone that is) but at least they are trying to make it look nicer. It is noisy. We had some loud mouth lady on our floor that was loud, there is no sound proofing. The door had a privacy lock only with made us very uncomfortable no locking bar no deadbolt nothing for safety. And the doors are the cheap thin doors not the thick soundproof doors you get at all other hotel/motels. They give you too few towels that are tiny , they stunk like paint, but the new ones the next day were clean smelling. The curtains were awful they are very Thin and let all the light in all night and morning, we had a blanket in our car that we brought up and hung over the window.
Its cheap accommodations, without bugs. So it did its purpose. I would return if there was better security on the doors and something done to upgrade the lack of sound proofing, and the over powering spice smell is very unpleasant for guests. I loved spiced and curry food but not having everything smell like it because it's so overpowering in the building.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has tubs and less smell of spice and curry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trishbaby100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

My husband and I stayed at the Pioneer Inn on the way down to Barrie to visit my mother for Mother's Day. I was greeted at the front desk with a smile, given my extra pillows, as requested, and directed to our room. The room was clean and neat.....,just what we wanted for a one night stay. We were so happy we have booked a room for our return trip! On an interesting side note, the motel is being renovated.......not sure if it has been in continuous operation, but my parents, sister and I stayed at the same place 45 years ago!!! i was thrilled to find it still or again in business. A nice, clean no-frills place at a terrific price!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Patsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016

My husband & I were driving from Toronto to Thunder Bay, & trying to keep costs down, we were always on the look-out for a deal.
Stopping in Sudbury for the night, a quick google search told me that this was the cheapest hotel around, & I figured 'how bad could it be?'
Well, I was very impressed. The room was clean, the staff was friendly, & it was a great place to spend the night. It was very quiet, I couldn't hear the other customers or any road traffic.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ThePunkHippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2014

I pulled in after a long drive. I just needed a place to rest for the night before carrying on with my drive in the morning. Staff was friendly, reasonable price, newly renovated rooms, flat screen TV, tiled bathroom, lots of space in the room and it was very clean. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Siko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sudbury hotels
7.3 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#13 of 33 in Sudbury
131 reviews
5.1 km away
Canadas Best Value inn - Sudbury
6.4 km away
Quality Inn & Conference Centre Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Comfort Inn Sudbury
Comfort Inn Sudbury
#11 of 33 in Sudbury
188 reviews
7.5 km away
Moonlight Inn And Suites Sudbury
4.9 km away
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
Travelodge Hotel Sudbury
#14 of 33 in Sudbury
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 - Sudbury, ON? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 - Sudbury, ON

Address: 1222 Pioneer Rd, Sudbury, Ontario P3G 1A6, Canada (Formerly Pioneer Inn Motel)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sudbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Sudbury
Price Range: ₹ 3,857 - ₹ 5,013 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 - Sudbury, ON 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This location is conveniently located off Hwy 69. We offer a coin operated laundry facility, free wi-fi in all guest rooms, and micro-fridges available in select rooms. Nearby attractions include Ramsey Lake, Downtown Sudbury, and Laurentian University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Motel 6 - Sudbury, ON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 - Sudbury, ON Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing