We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
269
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
269
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjohn's breakfastsbali suitepoppy roomcocoa beachaerie suitebeach suitestratford festivaloutdoor balconycomfortable sitting areanext yearcreme brûléegranolalarge dining tableother guestscovered porchwithin walking distancefrittata
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2017

From A to Z or in this case; from gardens to rain shower heads, this establishment delivers and more.

John & Amanda are superb hosts and will ensure your stay is comfortable and stress free. They are well versed in all things Stratford, so can recommend a play, an activity, an event or a restaurant.

The cleanliness is unbelievable, You could eat one of John's fine multi-coursed breakfasts off the floor, but I think you will want to sit at the long dining table, that seats 16, to enjoy conversing with the other houseguests. Comfortable common area has the daily newspaper as well as programmes from each play.

I love the Cocoa Beach room, it is on the main floor so no stairs and bonus; your own large private deck to sit and read or enjoy the gardens. Take a few minutes to walk around the house to discover the roses and other magnificent flowers.
Very, very comfortable mattress and the soft, smooth sheets have a very high thread count. Pillows of varying sizes and softness.
Thick and thirsty pristine white towels. The walk in shower, with the giant rain shower head, can fit a VW. In shower soap dispenser also has shampoo and conditioner.
The very quiet fridge has a pitcher of filtered water and 2 trays of ice cubes. There is also a flat screen television.
Air conditioned but also has a variable speed ceiling fan that is whisper quiet. Full size iron and board in the closet.

Very close to Queen's Park, Tom Patterson theatre, the Festival theatre and blocks away from the Studio & Avon theatres as well as downtown. The wrap around driveway means you never have to back out onto Ontario St.

I have visited several times and will keep returning.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MOrfitt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We have stayed at the Avery House Inn Next Door several times. The rooms are very comfortable, beautifully decorated and include a lovely outdoor sitting area. Amanda and John are extremely welcoming and attentive hosts, and are very knowledgeable and helpful regarding events and resources in Stratford. We particularly like the location, which is within easy walking distance of theatres, restaurants and other amenities. We will definitely return, and have no hesitation in recommending Avery House to other Stratford visitors.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 128TeddyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

John and Amanda offer the best of B&Bs in Stratford. Located on the main street, it's a 10 minute walk to the Festival Theatre and 10-15" walk into town. Beautifully appointed, immaculately clean, and scrumptious breakfast with fresh, local ingredients that John prepares daily. This morning's breakfast: Fresh berries from the farmer's market, steel cut oatmeal, yogurt and granola, followed by maple-smoked Canadian bacon that John smoked, cheddar biscuits, creme-brulee french toast, and roasted grape tomatoes. Good coffee and whole leaf tea in your own Chinese tea pot. Guests tend to linger at the breakfast table talking. John and Amanda are steady, good people and superb hosts.

Room Tip: Suites have outdoor deck, more spacious sitting area and/or more windows. All rooms very comfy.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

The rooms are excellent. We stayed in the Aerie Suite. It is a very large room, comfortable king size bed with a rooftop patio accessible from the suite. It is within walking distance to all the theatres and restaurants. We parked our vehicle and did not use it again until we left. John and Amanda made sure we had everything we needed. They are excellent hosts. The breakfasts John would serve us were worth the entire trip. We were fortunate enough to have enjoyed three breakfasts. They were delicious, hearty, home cooked meals that carry you until dinner time.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the Poppy Room at the B&B (they also have a lovely inn next door) and were blown away by the experience. Amanda and John are incredibly friendly and helpful. Although we only stayed for two nights I felt like we had known each other for longer, they are so hospitable and warm. John's breakfasts (all locally sourced) are the best I've ever had at a B&B; he accommodated my food preference (I'm dairy-free), which was so gracious, especially since it was extra work. (I wasn't made to feel like it was an imposition.) And the food was DELICIOUS and filling. No comfort or amenity, food or otherwise, was overlooked; Amanda and John greeted every request or comment with a smile and good conversation. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews