We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here when you come to Stratford”
Review of Avery House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avery House B&B
Ranked #2 of 88 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2017

I ran out of ways to describe how wonderful my experience is at Avery House, so pardon my cliches. The breakfasts, as always, are to die for. It will take a few days back home before I get used to the fruit (baked or fresh) and baked breads du jour, with oatmeal and granola, and then (and then) breakfast entrees with Perth pork sausages or ham that John smoked himself. The rooms are very comfortable and well kept; our hosts are extremely accommodating. My friends and I get together yearly, and we can't imagine staying any place else.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. The only difference is the size, which you can figure out from the pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shakespearecub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017

From A to Z or in this case; from gardens to rain shower heads, this establishment delivers and more.

John & Amanda are superb hosts and will ensure your stay is comfortable and stress free. They are well versed in all things Stratford, so can recommend a play, an activity, an event or a restaurant.

The cleanliness is unbelievable, You could eat one of John's fine multi-coursed breakfasts off the floor, but I think you will want to sit at the long dining table, that seats 16, to enjoy conversing with the other houseguests. Comfortable common area has the daily newspaper as well as programmes from each play.

I love the Cocoa Beach room, it is on the main floor so no stairs and bonus; your own large private deck to sit and read or enjoy the gardens. Take a few minutes to walk around the house to discover the roses and other magnificent flowers.
Very, very comfortable mattress and the soft, smooth sheets have a very high thread count. Pillows of varying sizes and softness.
Thick and thirsty pristine white towels. The walk in shower, with the giant rain shower head, can fit a VW. In shower soap dispenser also has shampoo and conditioner.
The very quiet fridge has a pitcher of filtered water and 2 trays of ice cubes. There is also a flat screen television.
Air conditioned but also has a variable speed ceiling fan that is whisper quiet. Full size iron and board in the closet.

Very close to Queen's Park, Tom Patterson theatre, the Festival theatre and blocks away from the Studio & Avon theatres as well as downtown. The wrap around driveway means you never have to back out onto Ontario St.

I have visited several times and will keep returning.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MOrfitt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We have stayed at the Avery House Inn Next Door several times. The rooms are very comfortable, beautifully decorated and include a lovely outdoor sitting area. Amanda and John are extremely welcoming and attentive hosts, and are very knowledgeable and helpful regarding events and resources in Stratford. We particularly like the location, which is within easy walking distance of theatres, restaurants and other amenities. We will definitely return, and have no hesitation in recommending Avery House to other Stratford visitors.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 128TeddyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

John and Amanda offer the best of B&Bs in Stratford. Located on the main street, it's a 10 minute walk to the Festival Theatre and 10-15" walk into town. Beautifully appointed, immaculately clean, and scrumptious breakfast with fresh, local ingredients that John prepares daily. This morning's breakfast: Fresh berries from the farmer's market, steel cut oatmeal, yogurt and granola, followed by maple-smoked Canadian bacon that John smoked, cheddar biscuits, creme-brulee french toast, and roasted grape tomatoes. Good coffee and whole leaf tea in your own Chinese tea pot. Guests tend to linger at the breakfast table talking. John and Amanda are steady, good people and superb hosts.

Room Tip: Suites have outdoor deck, more spacious sitting area and/or more windows. All rooms very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

The rooms are excellent. We stayed in the Aerie Suite. It is a very large room, comfortable king size bed with a rooftop patio accessible from the suite. It is within walking distance to all the theatres and restaurants. We parked our vehicle and did not use it again until we left. John and Amanda made sure we had everything we needed. They are excellent hosts. The breakfasts John would serve us were worth the entire trip. We were fortunate enough to have enjoyed three breakfasts. They were delicious, hearty, home cooked meals that carry you until dinner time.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.7 km away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
0.6 km away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
182 reviews
0.9 km away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#5 of 18 in Stratford
412 reviews
0.4 km away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#7 of 88 in Stratford
152 reviews
1.2 km away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 88 in Stratford
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avery House B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avery House B&B

Address: 330 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: ₹ 7,457 - ₹ 12,462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Stratford. Walking distance to all theatres, shops and restaurants. Four suites and two rooms - all king beds (convert to two twins in some cases). All rooms have en suite bath, free wifi, on-site parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avery House B&B Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing