We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
161
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
161
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coach house the main house welsh cakes upper deck gracious hosts preserves overlooking the garden place to stay professional chef pre breakfast delicious hot breakfast wonderful garden in town sun room dining room like coming home train station
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017

The Gormley's are gracious hosts. Operating this establishment is not just a job
for them, but rather a "calling" . Food is creative, with good variety, and pleasant
ambience in the dining room. Altho centrally located, and totally walkable, the
property is very quiet at night.

Room tip: In warm weather season, the garden out back will be a great place for a glass of wine before the Stratford wine
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

In our travels, we rarely return to the same place, as there are always more to discover. The Old Rectory is an exception--we've have been enjoying the great hospitality for years. Kevin and Kim have a way of making you feel you are visiting old friends (who serve delicious food and live in a superb home). From the delicious coffee and home made spicy cookies that greeted our arrival, to the peaceful garden full of flowers to savour a post-theatre glass of wine, to the delicious breakfast, and the pots of 'Irish Kiss' marmalade we bring home, it was all delightful.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 371Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

This was our third visit with Kevin & Kim, the consummate B&B hosts in North America!! In fact, we booked our Stratford tickets around their schedule -- not the other way around -- since the Old Rectory is so popular during the Shakespeare Festival!!

Once again, Kevin was eager (?) to carry our many bags up into our room on the main floor. The biscotti jar overflowed upon our arrival -- but stayed that way for only seconds! Our room was very comfortable for our four night stay. We loved having the sunroom close by for reading and entertaining our friends as well as meeting new guests at the Inn.

Kevin's breakfast are famous for their variety and quality. Kim is an excellent server who remembers everyone's eccentric tastes in food and coffee every day! Such as great way to start every day.

We rendezvoused with two sets of friends while we were in Stratford for picnic lunches. In both cases, it became prudent to picnic indoors and they graciously allowed us to use their dining room and dishes for these occasions. We deeply appreciate their flexibility and kindness to make our friends feel as much at home as we do.

Kevin and Kim are very well connected in the Stratford community so they were quick with recommendations for our dining pleasure. As always, we followed their choices faithfully and were NOT disappointed in any way.

The Old Rectory is a gem of an historic building walking distance to the shops and restaurants as well as all the theatres. We just wish that truck traffic would be diverted from Ontario Street since their loud and noisy presence is a bummer.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We had not been here before, but we were welcomed as if we were old friends. Everything reflected the love and care these hosts have for the property. Coffee was available long before breakfast if we chose to sit in the large sun-room. Breakfast was in what had been a large living room with two fireplaces - individual tables were far enough apart for privacy, but we could chat with other guests if we wished. Our room was very comfortable with access to a large balcony/verandah overlooking the garden. It was very peaceful and we could read there even late at night. We certainly will be going back there when we return to Stratford (and we have tried several "never again" B&Bs in Stratford)

Room tip: Rooms at the back are quieter. All have AC.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We remain very impressed, year after year, at the high quality experience we have at The Old Rectory B&B! Our hosts Kim and Kevin offer a warm welcome and personal service to ensure we have a wonderful visit to Stratford! This beautifully maintained property has a handful of lovely rooms, most with private baths. The rooms are a good size and appointed with all the comforts of home. My best friend and I remarked to each other on this trip that coming to The Old Rectory felt like coming home. Kevin, a talented professional chef, provides incredibly delicious breakfasts each day. Kim is very personable and knows her home city well, able to offer a number of suggestions for touring and exploring both Stratford and neighbouring communities. The Old Rectory is within easy walking distance of all four theatres, and the vibrant restaurant scene in Stratford. This is our fourth year in a row coming to Stratford to see fabulous theatre, and we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere other than The Old Rectory Bed and Breakfast!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank W408YEwendym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K2C, Owner at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thank you for such a lovely review! We enjoy your visit every year.
Until next time all the best. Kim and Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews