We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newer and the performances are amazing.”
Review of Avon Theater

Avon Theater
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the heart of downtown at 99 Downie Street, this one-time vaudeville theatre has been rejuvenated but still retains its old world charm. The theatre offers special access seating on the orchestra level. This location has limited metered parking and Special Access spaces are located on George and Downie Streets. For Motor Coaches/Buses, please do not load/unload or park in front of the theatre. Loading zones are available on the north side of George Street.
Reviewed 9 November 2017

This is a newer venue than the original theater with more legroom. It lacks the charm of the original but has the same caliber of plays and acting.

Thank Sythe114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"beautiful theatre"
in 26 reviews
"comfortable seats"
in 12 reviews
"proscenium arch"
in 6 reviews
"box seats"
in 5 reviews
"gift shop attached"
in 5 reviews
"sight lines"
in 15 reviews
"tall person"
in 5 reviews
"first row"
in 8 reviews
"rocky horror picture show"
in 9 reviews
"orchestra level"
in 5 reviews
"amazing production"
in 5 reviews
"ideal husband"
in 6 reviews
"jesus christ superstar"
in 9 reviews
"great seats"
in 6 reviews
"live theatre"
in 8 reviews
"top notch"
in 12 reviews
"last year"
in 7 reviews
Filter

58 - 62 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2017

We visited the Avon Theatre to see HMS Pinafore with two other couples. We've seen the play before; we've been to this theatre before, but despite familiarity, we did not regret it. These performers are the triple threat - they act, dance, and sing.

The set was also excellent with a revolving centre piece that revealed inner events as well as the outer events shown on the deck of the ship. We were impressed with the ability to almost instantly transform the inner foyer of a magnificent mansion to that deck, and back again.

As an aside, one member of our party of six was taken ill at intermission, and was treated like royalty by the theatre staff. We were allowed to stay long after the show was over to give us time to make arrangements. Kudos for professionalism!

Thank W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford F, Marketing Coordinator at Avon Theater, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at the Avon Theatre. We hope to see you again for future seasons. SF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Went to see School for Scandal on Saturday and had a great time. Seats in balcony had a great view but are not intended for us "larger folk" (opt for seats with obvious legroom if you are tall or plumper than average for comfort). Theatre staff were helpful and professional. Facilities clean. Parking even wasn't that bad! And Stratford doesn't charge for handicapped parking on the street? Nice surprise bonus. Had a lovely time. Will return.

Thank Krystyne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford F, Marketing Coordinator at Avon Theater, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Hello Krystyne,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at the Avon Theatre. We hope to see you again one day!

SF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

The performance was very well done! It is a great and classic story, told exceptionally well by Gilbert & Sullivan. We happened to score a couple of box seats which allowed us to watch the true master strokes of Conductor Franklin Brasz's interpretation of the musical score! The range exhibited by the singers equally matched the orchestra
… simply magnificent to listen to!

Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford F, Marketing Coordinator at Avon Theater, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Hi Chris,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed the production and the talents of our cast, orchestra and crew. We hope to see you again in future seasons.

SF

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017

The Avon has been around for a long time. It started as a movie theatre but was transformed into a theatrical venue and has since undergone a complete redo to its current form. It is a comfortable place to see great theatre; all you need to do is know what kind of theatre you want to see and it can likely provide it. This year I saw Treasure Island, School for Scandal and HMS Pinafore and enjoyed all three. But School for Scandal, directed by Antoni Cimolini and featuring Geraint Wyn Davies, Joseph Ziegler, Shannon Taylor and a host of other great performers, was truly superb!

Thank juliamsschneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avon Theater also viewed

 

Been to Avon Theater? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing