We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
293
84
9
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
293
84
9
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall lakewalking trailshot tubpaddle boatscontinental breakfastfire pithard boiled eggsbag of microwave popcornenjoy naturewooded areacanada geeseoccasional trainoutdoor seatinghomemade muffinstrain trackspeaceful settinglovely spot
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Rooms inviting, popcorn in room with microwave, fridge, beautifully appointed, continental breakfast, excellent, and always great to speak with other guests...trails for walking, a hidden gem to explore.
Open all year round!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hosp_conn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestMotelStratford, Manager at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your time with us! As you mentioned, we are open year-round. We'll see you next time, whether that be spring, summer, fall, or winter!

Ben Schelhaas
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Generally very good. My granddaughter, who has stayed in many Holiday Inns was very taken with the rustic nature of the motel and the old fashioned room key. Certainly the surroundings are beautiful and we hope to visit you in the summer some time in the future.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank franci_vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestMotelStratford, Manager at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed our style, and we look forward to your return in the summer!

Ben Schelhaas
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Lovely privacy down a wooded lane in the McCarthy House cottage/chalet part of the property (100% accessible). Enjoy its deck (with BBQ, outdoor seating, nice view of pond & forest). Hot tub available on McCarthy house deck for additional fee. Many activity options for free: bikes, kayaks, canoes, swimming in pond, well-maintained fire pit social area (seasonal). Free breakfast but limited seating

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank olddaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestMotelStratford, Manager at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Just as an FYI, we do open our conference room as extra seating for breakfast when our breakfast room fills in. We'll see you next time!

Ben Schelhaas
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

I surprised my Husband with an overnite get away to McCarthy House at Forest Motel. We were very impressed by the attention to detail, (including mints and chocolates by the bed)☺ decor, and all around setting of this lovely romantic retreat in the woods! Kim and Conroy and their son Ben are amazing hosts and very welcoming! The overall standard of Forest Motel and exceptional staff are second to none! We will most certainly be promoting this as a must-stay location for anyone visiting the beautiful city of Stratford!

Room Tip: McCarthy House is absolutely divine! A beautiful secluded retreat by the lake with its own private hot tub. Great job creating this peaceful haven of Relaxation and Tranquility!
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Harlan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestMotelStratford, Manager at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you so much for your fantastic review, Harlan! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hosting you again!

Ben Schelhaas
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Have lots of time just to relax, room was great and the view, wow. Silence is the best noise of all it was so nice to shut off phone and just be in the fresh air and hear and see nature. The town was great to visit as well great shopping and good entertainment

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank S3662FUjimj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestMotelStratford, Manager at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your own little retreat with us. We'll see you next time!

Ben Schelhaas
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews