We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Rooms clean, enough space and with comfortable beds. Lakeside tables and chairs good for picnic meals, substantial continental breakfast included, just on outskirts of Stratford, and minutes from downtown by car.

Room Tip: Comfortable and adequate space in double room with two beds
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestMotelStratford, Manager at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for your review, Linda! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your time here! We'll see you next time.

Ben Schelhaas
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017

I love staying at this small and quaint motel with its beautiful setting in the trees by the private lake. Breakfast is provided although I would like to see a greater variety of protein available ie scambled eggs, bacon, ham or cottage cheese.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank briannep9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestMotelStratford, Manager at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you for the review, Brianne! We're glad you enjoyed staying here. We do provide boiled eggs with our breakfast, although some guests do not see them on the breakfast buffet.

See you next time!

Ben Schelhaas
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Wow. What a phenomenal stay!

They have a variety of rooms. Some motel rooms in the main building. And some rooms in the owners beautiful home. We stayed in the Canadiana room in the home. The main bedroom was absolutely beautiful, I would love to have this as my bedroom every night!!!! The bathroom was also very stylish and there was an extra double bed, small kitchen table, kitchen supplies and a few recliner chairs. Staying in this particular room we had access to the salt water hot tub on the deck which was amazing relaxing under the stars at night! The room was extremely clean and had various nice touches to make you feel at home such as bathrobe, popcorn for the microwave ect ect ect I believe each room is different though, this was for the King Canadiana room which I would highly recommend!

The property itself it absolutely stunning. Right on a lake with walking trails, paddle boats, canoes, fire pits which are lit at night!!! Lots of seating to relax by the lake and fires and even swans which you can feed. I believe the walking trails can be snowshoe/cross country ski in the winter.

Breakfast was a very nice touch with fresh fruits, fresh baked muffins ect ect.

Family owned business, some of the nicest/genuine people you'll meet! They are doing a terrific job and I would highly recommend anybody to stay here! If I'm back in the area, I sure look forward to returning

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank itchinAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestMotelStratford, Manager at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thanks so much for the fantastic review! We look forward to hosting you two again!

Ben Schelhaas
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

The reservation using Booking.com can be misleading so be sure you call and ask for what you want and what it says. The staff keeps the contact at a very professional distance. The place is nice, clean, simple. Breakfast can be more creative: only boiled eggs as protein source. The swans are beautiful. I enjoyed my stay with the family. I recommend the place.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank tyminalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestMotelStratford, Manager at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We certainly do not aim to be misleading with our customers. We would love to hear more about your booking experience, and where you found the issue when booking through Booking.com. Please contact our office at (519) 271 - 4573 and ask for Ben.

Thank you,

Ben Schelhaas
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Very accessible to the festival. A little hard to find after dark! Extremely pretty property with pond, swans, woods. Do not plan to use the pull out couch for sleeping. Very soft beds. Popcorn and muffins and teas provided.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carolyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestMotelStratford, Manager at Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for the review, Carolyn.

Ben Schelhaas
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
2.7 km away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
4.3 km away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
344 reviews
2.9 km away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#5 of 18 in Stratford
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#4 of 18 in Stratford
416 reviews
4.1 km away
Mercer Hotel
Mercer Hotel
#10 of 18 in Stratford
299 reviews
1.1 km away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat

Address: 2941 Forest Rd, Stratford, Ontario N5A 6S5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range: ₹ 5,509 - ₹ 10,175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing