We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were disappointed in the service, and will not go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Queen's Inn at Stratford
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“We were disappointed in the service, and will not go back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Pros: The location is in the heart of town and convenient to everything, the staff is very friendly Cons: The room was a little shabby, bath needed some repair work, our major disappointment was the dining room "Henrys". We waited 45 minutes for our salads which were forgotten, our entree was good, however everything went downhill, we were once again ignored, and had to retreive our bill, having no time for the promised complimentary dessert offered earlier to make up for the salads!! Other guests were continually asking about the timing of the entrees--we all had a play to get to!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clg45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    43
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
52
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, OH USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

I have been going to the Shakespeare Festival for the last forty years, and staying in the Queen's Inn for the last eight years. Usually I am in residence for ten days to three weeks. I have NEVER has a bad experience at the hotel. The servicing of my room has been outstanding . . . clean as a whistle. I again will be at the Inn for three weeks from mid-July staying three full weeks. I very much look forward to my stay and meeting all the friendly a (and efficient) staff and hotel guests.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDownie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
250 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

The location is really good - on the main street of Stratford, you can pretty much walk everywhere. The price was standard. However, the bedding didn't seem too clean - found some hair on it. The rooms are old - so generally it doesn't have the "new look" to it. The size of the rooms are pretty good, though.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are bigger but with street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

We spent one night here and were very pleasantly surprised by how clean and quiet it was, even though it's at a busy intersection in downtown Stratford. The rooms are large and very clean. Some have refrigerators. There are couple of dining options in the hotel and we enjoyed idnner in the pub, which was vey good. Since this was low season in Stratford, we paid only $79. In high season the price is double, but the Albert St. Inn charges the same high season rate and is shabby and run down. The Queen's Inn fills up in high season far in advance so it pays to plan ahead to take advantage of the great location and comfortable lodging. The front desk staff were very helpful and courteous. They let us look at three rooms and choose the one we prefered.

Room Tip: Plan ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13bato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

My husband and our 4 mos old baby and I stayed at this Inn at the end of December while visiting family in the area. Front desk staff were exceptional and check in/ out was made very easy which was so nice while we were tending to our little girl. Secondly, the ramp coming off of the parking lot made walks downtown so easy with a stroller and baby in tow! We stayed in a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the side street; room was quiet and quaint. As for the food/ drink: unfortunately we have to wait til our next visit for that! Looking foward to our stay booked for this summer!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knapper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.2 km away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
0.4 km away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#4 of 18 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.4 km away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.2 km away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Inn at Stratford? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Inn at Stratford

Property: Queen's Inn at Stratford
Address: 161 Ontario St., Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Stratford
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,179 - ₹ 9,975
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Inn at Stratford 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Queen's Inn at Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen`s Inn At Stratford Hotel Stratford
Queens Hotel Stratford
Queen's Inn At Stratford Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing