We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all!”
Review of Noretta Motel

Noretta Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Noretta Motel
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Reviewed 9 November 2008

I booked it because it was cheap and I knew we'd only be sleeping there. From the reviews, I knew what to expect and was not suprprised that some comments were exaggerated, imho.

Customer Service- Fine! I booked by telephone and the person I spoke to was pleasant and accomodating. Upon arrival- staff was courteous and helpful.

Location- The hotel was 5 mins or an $8 cab ride to the Festival Theatre, right on Ontario Street. Great location!

Rooms- We only saw one, but I'm guessing they are all on the small side. Yes, there was a step up at the front door- so what? I can't see it being a problem for anyone usless they have mobility issues. Room had a comfortable queen sized bed with luxurious bedding, a unit containing a 27" tv with remote and most channels (we didn't watch much tv) , a bar fridge, a desk, clothes rack, one end table, two lamps. Simple but adequate. Bathroom was tiny but clean and stocked. There were two windows in our room, #7 and both had great heavy shades to keep the light out. I ended up sleeping in until 7:30 in the morning!
Price- can't be beat. $75 on a Saturday night dring Festival season- Awesome!

I'd recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Lene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2008

On the plus side, this motel had quite new beds and the bedding was very clean. The location was good, we were able to walk to downtown Stratford very easily. On the other hand, the room itself was very small, the windows would not open, there were many little things missing that we have come to expect in motels, even budget priced ones, such as a box of Kleenex, night table with bedside lamp, coffee maker. The shower head in the bathroom fell off during a shower, the carpet was very dirty, the paved sidewalk is in very poor condition and would be treacherous for an older person. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank marditwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights in September and were really pleased. The motel has a great location that is close to anything you would possibly want to do in Stratford. The rooms are clean, quiet and decorated very nicely for a motel. Me and my partner have stayed at many other accomodations and were really pleased with this one. The washrooms are a bit smaller but this is not something suprising to us considering most non-chain motels we have stayed in do not have large washrooms. I would rather have a smaller washroom and nicely appointed room here versus a larger washroom and a dingy room as we have often found in a lot of other places. We will be coming back again next year to take in another season of great plays (Hamelt and Cabaret were both excellent this year!!!) and will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank joan6325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2008

I agree with "Newfoundland": the actual property did not live up to the rather attractive website of Noretta. We did find the room clean, however, and the bed comfortable, but the dinginess and tinyness of the accommodations make more than a one-night stay less than a welcome prospect. I hate to think what this place looked like before the reported recent "update." Though the nightly rate may be competitive, it's still overpriced.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank pilgrim_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

The Noretta was selected for a one-night solo visit to the Stratford Festival (the play was great, btw). Stratford is a comparatively expensive place to stay, I wasn't expecting luxury, but the Noretta definitely underwhelmed me.
It's a small, aging property, with some efforts made to update a facility that was never built well to begin with.
First, the good: it was quiet, and the linens and colour scheme were fairly new and attractive in shades of brown/taupe.
But...the key-opened door had an awkward 8" step; the aging TV stood on a scarred, battered wooden table; there were cobwebs in corners, and the mattresses had a peculiar "hard edge".
The bathroom was the real deal-breaker: it probably qualified as Canada's smallest hotel bathroom, the sink slanted so that the soap fell into the sink as soon as you laid it down, and the toilet needed a plunger after the first flush. The picture shows the whole room: the shower curtain on the right covers a small shower stall.
I've stayed at the As You Like It and the Festival Inn: both are better than this.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank centralNFLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
1.4 km away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
225 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
1.8 km away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#10 of 18 in Stratford
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#5 of 18 in Stratford
409 reviews
1.6 km away
Queen's Inn at Stratford
Queen's Inn at Stratford
#11 of 18 in Stratford
140 reviews
2.0 km away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noretta Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noretta Motel

Address: 691 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3J6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range: ₹ 3,570 - ₹ 5,099 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Noretta Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Noretta Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noretta Hotel Stratford
Noretta Motel Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing