We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in St. Catharines
Reviewed 13 August 2017

The room was large and clean, very large bathroom. The swiming pool is all right. The main drawback is the highway close by so expect an early wake up as trafic starts to get heavier at around 6 am. Beyond that faire value for the money (in canada which stands very poorly as a whole in terms of hotel & value for money).

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

I usually only take the time to write positive reviews unless things are so deplorably repugnant that I have to warn people-this time I am so repulsed that I am writing from the hotel room at 3:30 am.

This is the worst and most overly priced motel (this is not a hotel) I have ever had the displeasure to experience.

The man at the desk was curt and charged us for about double the listed price even though we checked in after 2am! When asked for a late check out he spared an extra 30 minutes-he's like the Saint Nick of shady motels!

They do not have roll away beds.

The room smells of stale old smoke and strong, cheap cleaning supplies but it isn't a very clean room. The bathroom counter is sticky!

The ancient beds are improperly made:
No mattress pads
Flat sheet instead of fitted not tucked at all!

The sheets are so thin and thread bare I have seen far thicker tissue paper

Wifi code not found (and I am not calling the thief at the desk)

Directly next to the highway and I can hear the cars.

I can also hear the neighbor sneeze.

The moldy ceiling tiles appear to be asbestos but I can't say for sure.

If I could I would rate a 0

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Chrissy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Rating this one was tough, but if I had to sum it up - this place is certainly worn, tired, and needs some updating, but everything that mattered was comfortable and worked. The rooms are clean (except the carpet which needs replacing), the bed and linens were comfortable, the shower had fantastic pressure, great hot water and was clean. In addition, there was a new spotless and cold mini fridge, small clean and new microwave, and RCA flat-screen TV with cable that worked fine. The wireless internet was free and very good for browsing, email, etc. The A/C was a typical window unit and easily cooled the room to chilly on a very hot day/night. All this would be tough to beat for the price at under $100. Of course, as noted in some of the reviews, the entire motel is tired and could use updating, particularly the carpets, curtains, and several components of the exterior. There was evidence in the room of repaired damage. Everything in the room worked fine, though, so again - and as the manager has pointed out - the state of the motel is reflected in the price. I'd like to point out as well that the onsite pool was crystal clear and in good condition. There's a Jack Astors and a couple of other restaurants an easy walk from the hotel, and it is situated practically right on top of the entrance to either direction of the QEW. If you are a practical person who needs to stay in St Catharines, and you can live with some paint flakes, scuffs on the door and maybe a little fogging on the aging windows, this was a comfortable and very workable motel.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

It's a dump, but nice looking hooker's, inside the bathtub painted with a roller and brush, old furniture, but new TV awesome, it's time to bulldoz this palace save your money move on. What there is no more words to be said it's a dump.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Decent room with very good mattresses. Had fridge microwave and a large flat screen. Needed a paint job and new carpet very badly. Bathroom was good. Had 2 sinks. Polite gentleman was at counter.
Disagree with policy of only 2 adults per room when travelling with my adult daughter and wife. Willing to pay extra for same room.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank outandabout4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannyGrewal1, Front Office Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Thank you outandabout4u for your feedback. It was a pleasure having you stay with us!

I am glad to hear you were satisfied with the room, the mattress along with the amenities in the room.

Its also great to hear that you were greeted by a polite front desk agent and clean bathroom.

We are doing some painting this year and starting to change the flooring in the rooms but its been a bit difficult based on the early start to the season.

Outandabout4u I am guessing maybe there was a misunderstanding in the way the persons per room was explained but I would like this chance to properly explain.

A room with 2 beds allows 2 adults plus two kids for no extra for the night. If there are any additional guests the cost is $10 more per adult per night. This is very standard within the hospitality industry.

Thank you for your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Catharines
Capri Inn
#1 of 7 in St. Catharines
460 reviews
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in St. Catharines
108 reviews
Fairview - Facer
Days Inn St. Catharines Niagara
Days Inn St. Catharines Niagara
#5 of 7 in St. Catharines
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines

Address: 420 Ontario St | Queen Elizabeth Hwy Exit 47, St. Catharines, Ontario L2R 5M1, Canada (Formerly Travelodge St. Catharines)
Region: Canada > Ontario > St. Catharines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in St. Catharines
Price Range: ₹ 4,112 - ₹ 9,963 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge St. Catharines Hotel St. Catharines
St. Catharines Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge St. Catharines
Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing