We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Sault Ste. Marie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Chose the Water Tower Inn so that we could have a get-together with Soo Friends at the Pub. Opted for the "Sweet Suite" for just a bit more $$, and it was perfect. The Snugglebed was just that! Service with a smile, everywhere - even the cleaning staff went out of their way to smile and say Hello. Enjoyed the Pub and the Restaurant. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting the Soo.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie H, General Manager at The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Thanks for your kind kudos. (Story is that a good friend of ours walked into one of these suites just when they were being created in 2010, looked around, and said “sweet”. Hence the Sweet Suites). These suites provide guests with a sitting room with sleeper sofa, and a separate bedroom with queen bed and modern bathroom. A plus is the working efficiency kitchen with microwave, refrigerator and sink. As as in every one of our rooms, there’s a personal brewer with Starbucks coffee and real cream cooling in the fridge. These suites are great for R&R, families or business people who might like to entertain clients. Like you, Inn guests appreciate the onsite Water Tower Pub and Casey’s Grill.Bar...makes the visit very convenient. Of course, we have many other Suite (sweet) configurations you can choose from.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

512 - 516 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a week in November. The location is good, near restaurants and shops. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and we took advantage of the restaurant on site, the food was good but rather pricey and it was a rather limited menu. I will say that the website makes the rooms out to be a little "nicer" than they are. We had a top of the Inn room, and though the room was clean and the bed was great, it was really no different from any other hotel that we could have gotten for 50 dollars less a night. The pool and hot tubs were nice, but the hotel runs a health club that is open to the public, so sometimes the gym equipment and the pool and hot tubs are a little full. It was frustrating that as a paying guest to this hotel, a hotel that markets itself as a "resort" we had to wait our turn for the amenities for which we had paid good money. Over all, it was a nice place to stay but I would definitely not call it a resort! Your'e getting a hotel with a pool!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed here one night as we thought we would explore Sault Ste Marie in the morning before returning to the United States.

The room was fairly expensive (the highest on our trip) - the room was nice enough but this is an older hotel remodeled and the bathroom was very small but it had been innovatively redesigned.

It sounded nice on the web but the water tower turns out to be just a regular old water tower that you might see in a rural area - not historical or beautiful and the hotel is in a very commercial area with gas stations and businesses all around. It was not in the historic or picturesque area.

It did have a popular restaurant in the building which served good food. We had dinner and breakfast there.

We would not stay here again as it was nothing special. The lobby area was a bit pretentious and the staff there seemed overwhelmed and unable to process incoming travelers with the small workstations. The parking lot was old with broken asphalt.

Thought it was overpriced. We used the AAA Tourbook for attractions once we determined that the hotel staff had no recommendations. They gave us a brochure for a historical site that was not only not open that Saturday but didn't look like it had been open for some time. We found a historical museum that was interesting - mostly old photographs.

It's an easy crossing back into MIchigan. We stayed at a great hotel in St. Ignace for the next two nights and we should have made it three nights and skipped this one.

It isn't a bad place - just okay and expensive. If you are going on the train, it may be a great place to stay. But for us, it was a disappointment.

Room Tip: We looked out on the water tower with peeling paint and the gas station. There may be a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bensus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My first stay in this hotel which is located in a newer area (north) of the city Sault Ste Marie Ontario. Location is very good with many restaurants and other services in the area, better than downtown area where things are not going as briskly as in this newer area.
The hotel is great with a nice lobby and nice room. The pillow and bed are very comfortable. The room is clean and new. Both wire and wireless internet are provided. The Casey's downstairs is a decent restaurant with a bar. It seems to be a popular place with lots of people every night. If you enroll in its affinity program President's Club, you will get a free continental breakfast. But look out, if you order those upgrades, you will be charged a big extra (expensive). The waitress would deliberately show you the upgrade menu first without telling you enough details. Turn menu back and ask for the regular order, if you want to save $. The free breakfast is pretty good with fruit cup and bakery items plus coffee & juice.
I tend to agree with some of the reviewers that some of the front desk staff do need a bit more smile.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkRegionYnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

How can you ask for anything more. Great people, awesome atmosphere and feather pillows to boot. I stay at the Inn every trip to the Sault. It's a total one stop. From the great food at Casey's, live bands in the bar and outdoor hot tub, this is not a stay, it's an experience. Join the President's Club rewards program. Excellent benefits and always an extra warm welcome.

Room Tip: Every room is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
0.6 km away
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Quattro Hotel & Conf. Centre, an...
#1 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
626 reviews
3.4 km away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront
Delta Hotels by Marriott Sault S...
#3 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
515 reviews
3.1 km away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste....
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
308 reviews
1.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
751 reviews
0.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sault Ste...
#6 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier Collection

Address: 360 Great Northern Rd, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 4Z7, Canada (Formerly Algoma's Water Tower Inn & Suites, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#2 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#6 Family Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: ₹ 6,665 - ₹ 8,562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A full-service Inn with 176 rooms and suites, The Water Tower Inn offers professional and genuine hospitality. Under one roof, you'll find Casey's Grill.Bar, the Water Tower Pub (live music Wed. To Sat.), Club Cabana Aqua Spa with the Sault's only 4-season outdoor whirlpool, Tempospa Health & Fitness, The Pavilion Conference and Event Centre, and the McGuffin Gallery. Located at the cross-roads of Sault Ste. Marie, there are many shops and restaurants nearby, plus ample parking (perfect for those with bigger rigs). If you're on an outdoor adventure, we offer free secured storage for motorcycles, ATVs, snowmobiles and outdoor equipment such as kayaks. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algoma`s Water Tower Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Algoma`s Water Tower Inn And Suites
Algomas Water Hotel
Hotel Algomas Water
The Water Tower Inn, BW Premier Collection Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing