We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Liftlock B&B - a little Oasis close to the heart...”
other travellers have booked this property
Liftlock Bed and Breakfast
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Liftlock Bed and Breakfast
King bed in Waterview Suite Kitchen chairs Waterview Suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Liftlock Bed and Breakfast
King bed in Waterview Suite
Kitchen chairs Waterview Suite
Resident Pets alpacas
Kitchen chairs Parkview Suite
ducks on Trent Canal
Area in front of Liftlock B&B
Cross-country skiing on Canal
solar heated swimming pool
Parkview suite.  Queen size pillow-top bed
Parkview suite, private patio
resident pets.  black German Shepherd dogs
Liftlock B&B dock, crane visiting
Liftlock B&B dock suitable for small boats
Liftlock B&B open in winter
Lift lock Cruises pass our serene location
Mini kitchen in Parkview suite
Liftlock Sign on Trent Canal
Seating area Waterview suite showing mini-kitchen
Fishing at Liftlock B&B
Trees, water adjacent to Liftlock B&B, 4 minutes to downtown Peterborough
Trent Canal is ideal for snow machines, skiing etc
Free canoes when you stay at Liftlock B&B guest cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Peterborough, Ontario

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan B
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Liftlock B&B - a little Oasis close to the heart of Peterborough”
Reviewed 11 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Thanks so much, Doreen, for your warm hospitality and a very enjoyable stay at Liftlock B&B. Such an surprise when we crossed the bridge and found ourselves in such a pretty country location, just a stone's-throw from the city.
We felt so welcome and accommodated. I really enjoyed going with you while you fed the Alpaca, and seeing how beautiful they are up close. We thought your breakfast room was lovely.

When visiting Peterborough next time, we will be sure to book with you again, and would recommend your B&B to anyone looking for a little Oasis just on the edge of the city.

Denis Cale and Susan Bernhardt

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbrock705
Liberia, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Peterborough Winter Vacation at Liftlock BB”
Reviewed 6 March 2011 for a stay in January 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Another couple, my husband and myself stayed in the adjoining suites in the cottage. The suites were immaculate, beds comfortable and we really enjoyed the fireplaces after a day in the snow.

The area is beautiful. People were cross country skiing and walking thru the country trails, An area had been cleaned off the canal for ice for skating. While our men went ice fishing in front of the B&B, my friend and I toured the city. We watched people toboganning down Armour Hill and skating under the Liftlocks. Liftlock Bed & Breakfast is located in a wonderful country setting but only minutes to the downtown area. They have many speciality shops to explore.
We ventured thru the canoe museum and had lunch at a wonderful pub downtown.
Each morning Doreen served us a gourmet breakfast in the dining room. The view was spectacular overlooking the canal. She has two deer and a goose that kept the country feel alive. I would highly recommend this B & B for a vacation. If your looking for something away from the normal hotel vacation, this would be the place to stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverZeb...
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazingly rural feeling”
Reviewed 4 November 2010 for a stay in August 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Liftlock B&B has a country farm feel. The dogs, deer, geese, chickens, open fields, dead end road, and even the architectural style all give the illusion of being on a farm. But it’s only an illusion – downtown Peterborough is only 2 miles away. Definitely a place to get away from the crowds and still be very close to town.

We stayed in one of the cottage suites. It was spacious and clean, but not luxurious; overall quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Doreen is an excellent and engaging hostess who treats her guests well.

The on-site canoeing and boat dock are uncommon features for a B&B. We arrived too late to paddle, but the flatwater canoeing certainly looked attractive.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bilsil
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A delightful country chalet within the city limits.”
Reviewed 28 July 2010 for a stay in June 2010
2
people found this review helpful

We selected the "Parkview" at Liflock B&B, one of three private suites available and were very pleased with the quiet, restful location and the well-appointed room with its TV, a/c,
bar fridge, microwave, tables and chairs, and comfortable pillowtop queen sized bed.
The manager, Ms. Doreen Davies, looked after all our needs very well,and in the morning served us a delicious breakfast in the main dining area which looks out onto the heated swimming pool. Liflock B&B was a relaxing break in our 6 day driving trip and we look forward to visiting there again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
porridgeg...
Picton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Owner extremely unpleasant.”
Reviewed 22 July 2010 for a stay in July 2010
3
people found this review helpful

After driving several hours, we arrived at 8:45 p.m. in July. We had communicated with the owner right before leaving home, and had told her when we would arrive, and that's exactly when we arrived. She met us at the door with vileness and unpleasantness, and we immediately left. We drove home through the night. It was a nightmare.

Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2018
This person requested early check-in. Waited all day for him. When he finally showed up, he brought a huge dog with him. He was inconsiderate and rude.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing