We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mind numbingly dull”

Canadian Canoe Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Canadian Canoe Museum is a family-friendly museum exploring the canoe's enduring significance to the people of Canada and the World.
Reviewed 18 January 2018

There must be an academic reason to collect all these canoes, but it is just so incredibly boring to visit. I like using a canoe, but do not find looking at several hundred of them stacked in a warehouse entertaining.

Thank markI9729PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micaela B, Marketing and Media Coordinator at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

We're glad you came by, but sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit. Maybe you would enjoy some of our hands-on programming more. We offer Artisan Workshops for adults and Voyageur Canoe Tours in the summertime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"birch bark"
in 11 reviews
"amazing collection"
in 7 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 9 reviews
"puppet theatre"
in 5 reviews
"hudson bay"
in 4 reviews
"mode of transportation"
in 4 reviews
"on display"
in 12 reviews
"great history"
in 5 reviews
"lots of history"
in 4 reviews
"history lesson"
in 4 reviews
"two floors"
in 4 reviews
"all ages"
in 12 reviews
"first nations"
in 8 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 4 reviews
"whole family"
in 4 reviews
"on site"
in 4 reviews
"lift locks"
in 6 reviews
Filter

18 - 22 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

I have visited Peterborough so many times but have always bypassed this museum ... I had thought that it was going to be a boring place.

My, was I so wrong!!! This place is awesome and amazing! They boast of a collection of hundreds of canoes, dating back to centuries ago, to the modern canoes. I personally enjoyed learning about the earlier versions of the canoe ... from the dugouts, to bark, to skin on frame ... what a feat of ingenuity these canoes are. There is a section where workshops on canoe-building are offered. I also learned that kayaks had already been in use as far back as centuries ago!!!

I cannot help but admire the passion of the people who made this museum what it is today. Bravo!

Thank KathleenR_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micaela B, Marketing and Media Corrdinator at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thanks for the review! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. Did you know we offer on-water programming in the summer? Our Voyageur Canoe Tours are a great way to tour the Peterborough Lift Lock in our 16-passenger canoe! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

This place is fantastic venue not only can you see a history of North American canoes from the 1700 and 1800 hundreds but they have classes that show you how to build your own canoe from nature
This place is extremely interesting and educational I would recommend this venue to anyone interested on how the Canadian north was opened

Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micaela B, Marketing and Media Coordinator at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Very interesting museum that explores the evolution of the canoe. Spent a little over an hour there. Definitely worth checking out if you’re in the area.

Thank JeSuisShannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micaela B, Marketing and Media Coordinator at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thanks for the review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. If you are in the area often, you may also be interested in our Artisan Workshops. You can learn to make a pair of moccasins, carve a canoe paddle, make a leather journal and more! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Very nice establishment, and I can't wait to see what the future holds for the new museum space (hopefully near the lift lock and Ptbo Museum!)

Thank Mandie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micaela B, Marketing and Media Coordinator at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

We're so glad you enjoyed your visit! We're also looking forward to what the future holds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canadian Canoe Museum also viewed

 

Been to Canadian Canoe Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing