We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Canadian Canoe Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Canadian Canoe Museum is a family-friendly museum exploring the canoe's enduring significance to the people of Canada and the World.
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Very nice establishment, and I can't wait to see what the future holds for the new museum space (hopefully near the lift lock and Ptbo Museum!)

Thank Mandie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micaela B, Marketing and Media Coordinator at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

We're so glad you enjoyed your visit! We're also looking forward to what the future holds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"birch bark"
in 11 reviews
"amazing collection"
in 7 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 6 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 9 reviews
"puppet theatre"
in 5 reviews
"hudson bay"
in 4 reviews
"mode of transportation"
in 4 reviews
"royal family"
in 4 reviews
"on display"
in 12 reviews
"great history"
in 5 reviews
"lots of history"
in 4 reviews
"gift shop"
in 10 reviews
"two floors"
in 4 reviews
"all ages"
in 12 reviews
"first nations"
in 8 reviews
"peterborough area"
in 5 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 4 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

We had to wait a little for the museum to open (10:00 AM). This museum was well worth the wait and the entrance fee ($9.50 Canadian (Senior)). Not only is the museum well laid out, everything in the museum is well labeled with nearby story boards. The docents are knowledgeable, and happy to answer any questions. Appreciating the unbelievable craftsmanship that went into making some of these canoes & kayaks and paddles; I considered this time well spent. We did learn that they will be relocating over to the area of the liftlock, another site worth visiting. So be sure to check their website before you visit.

Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micaela B, Marketing and Media Coordinator at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you for the review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

Until I visited the museum, I had heard many good things about it. However I remained unconvinced until last November when I came to the museum to hear a talk about the first mapmaker of the Hudson Bay Company. The tour of the museum was thrown in beforehand. However, it turned out to be the highlight of the evening. Our guide took us through periods and places of canoe history, explaining just enough for us to understand this rich Canadian tradition. I can't wait for the opening of the new museum. I'm a fan.

Thank Rae F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micaela B, Marketing and Media Coordinator at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thanks for the review! We're glad you made it here for the book talk and enjoyed your tour as well. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

It was fascinating to see examples of great dugouts of the First Nations of the Pacific Northwest, bark canoes; and skin-on-frame kayaks of northern peoples from Baffin Island. Seeing the exhibits gave a greater appreciation of the size of these crafts; especially the ones used by the fur traders when you consider the number of men required to paddle, the volume of supplies they needed to transport for their own survival as well as in trade. It was also interesting to see the different construction methods and materials used in a time when everything was done by hand. A number of hands-on exhibits for children were available throughout the museum. This would be a particularly valuable learning experience for families with grade school aged children.

Thank Crystalcat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micaela B, Marketing and Media Coordinator at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thanks for the review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the variety of our exhibits. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Went here to kill some time while in Peterborough. Wow, it was great. The history and actual ancient canoes and kayaks were spectacular. Did not realize the sizes and complexity of these methods of travel. Spoke to a gentleman who was actually making canoes in the museum workshop, really informative. They will be moving in the next year or two to a new purposely built location and it will be even more special. If you are near Peterborough make sure you visit this bit of Canadian History.

Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micaela B, Marketing and Media Coordinator at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thanks so much for the review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and discovered more about our country's great history. We hope to see you again next time you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canadian Canoe Museum also viewed

 

Been to Canadian Canoe Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing