We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
History stands still

A very interesting walk through a building of old and new as the years and types of canoes cascade... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Indigloflight
via mobile
Great insight in canoeing history in Canada and really worth going to.

This museum is brilliant in displaying and educating visitors on the great part of exploration... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
TimboAU1
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 362 reviews
  
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
259
74
11
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
74
11
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amazing collection hands on activities puppet theatre hudson bay on display canada's history lots of history history lesson two hours well worth the visit all ages first nations on site lift locks workshop exhibits trade
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

A very interesting walk through a building of old and new as the years and types of canoes cascade by you it’s fascinating to see the various materials used to create these silent carriers of the river

Thank Indigloflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara B, Public Relations Manager at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for visiting and for taking the time to leave this review! Much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

This museum is brilliant in displaying and educating visitors on the great part of exploration, trade and general movement of people via the vast waterways in Canada that the canoe played. The vast display of canoes and the skill in making them from simple and small to complex and massive was impressive. This was a great visit and I will return again in the future when they relocate to an even bigger space. Well done.

Thank TimboAU1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara B, Public Relations Manager at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for visiting and for leaving this wonderful review! We look forward to seeing you at the new museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Canada’s history is all about the canoe, from Inuit pre-history to modern day sport and leisure. If you look at a geographical map of the country (minus the roads) it’s covered with rivers and lakes that create waterways through immense forests. So, not surprisingly, the canoe museum in Peterborough is the largest in the world yet it’s privately owned. Our visit there satisfied our need for a bit of culture and gave us a unique understanding of how Canada became what it is today. Free after 5 on Thursdays!

Thank Explorer788849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara B, Public Relations Manager at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your review and we look forward to having you for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I first visited the museum in 1999. We loved it. We eventually made it back in 2018.

I recall after our first visit attempting to describe the museum to friends. It is difficult. You just have to experience it yourself because it is far more encompassing than one would immediately consider.

Canoes and kayaks exist throughout the world and the collection does a great job of exemplifying that. There are many specialty canoes and kayaks and a good representation of styles, some modern, some hundreds of years old. I do recall that on our first visit there were more examples from other world regions (I recall African dugout canoes) but they were not on display this time (or we somehow missed them). I think the collection is massive and the museum does not have the space to exhibit it’s entire inventory.

I would recommend the museum to people of all ages for an hour and a half to two hours, or more. Lots of parking and the admission fee is modest. Good value.

Thank TorontoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara B, Public Relations Manager at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you, TorontoCity, for taking the time to write this lovely review. We're delighted that you came back after many years and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Once again, thank you for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have enjoyed the tour myself and returned with visitors. There is always something new to see and observe. Gift shop great for souvenirs and sending gifts overseas that are truly Canadian.

Thank BusyB20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara B, Public Relations Manager at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for your kind review, BusyB20!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Went here to see some canoes was very good lots to see. Stayed around 2 hours lots to do and see.Nice and clean

Thank chev7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara B, Public Relations Manager at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thank you very much for you review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

It’s an unusual experience but very informative. The price is good for what you get. It’s historic, fun for kids but might be a bit slow for some. The canoes are well presented and explained. If canoes are not your thing stay away but I’m nit into them yet I found it worth the time and money.

Thank Susanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara B, Public Relations Manager at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thanks for your review, Susanne!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

I've never had the time to visit this museum anytime I was visiting Peterborough. On this trip I made it a priority to see.

I went with a friend from Peterborough on Labour Day. We arrived shortly after opening, it was not that busy. The staff were friendly and answered our questions.

There were hundreds of canoes, kayaks and other similar boats originating from coast to coast to coast within Canada. Some of the most interesting were built and used in the Arctic.

For me the most interesting display was that of Pierre Elliott Trudeau, two of his canoes and a raw hide jacket that was made for him by an aboriginal tribe. The canoe that was hanging from the rafters at the display was an iconic Chestnut Canoe.

There is a lot to see and the two hours we had was not enough time to absorb everything well. I guess this means I will be returning!

Thank Sheumais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara B, Public Relations Manager at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

We're glad to hear how much you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Awesome museum of the amazing history of the canoe in Canada. Some very cool canoes and famous ones too. A great number of " hands on" are as terrific for kids.
Trudeau family canoe, Pierre's famous buckskin jacket and gloves all on display. Also famous canoes given to UK Royals by Canada are there to see.

Thank pvrguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara B, Public Relations Manager at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thanks very much for taking the time to leave your review, much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

So much to see. The displays are authentic and detailed. I believe you need several days to see everything.

1  Thank L9229SXjanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara B, Public Relations Manager at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Thanks so much for taking time to leave a review, Jan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews