We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic !”

Canadian Canoe Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Canadian Canoe Museum is a family-friendly museum exploring the canoe's enduring significance to the people of Canada and the World.
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Went here to kill some time while in Peterborough. Wow, it was great. The history and actual ancient canoes and kayaks were spectacular. Did not realize the sizes and complexity of these methods of travel. Spoke to a gentleman who was actually making canoes in the museum workshop, really informative. They will be moving in the next year or two to a new purposely built location and it will be even more special. If you are near Peterborough make sure you visit this bit of Canadian History.

Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micaela B, Marketing and Media Coordinator at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thanks so much for the review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and discovered more about our country's great history. We hope to see you again next time you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"amazing collection"
in 8 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 9 reviews
"puppet theatre"
in 5 reviews
"hudson bay"
in 4 reviews
"mode of transportation"
in 4 reviews
"great history"
in 5 reviews
"on display"
in 12 reviews
"lots of history"
in 5 reviews
"history lesson"
in 4 reviews
"two floors"
in 4 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 6 reviews
"all ages"
in 13 reviews
"first nations"
in 8 reviews
"whole family"
in 4 reviews
"on site"
in 4 reviews
"lift locks"
in 6 reviews
"workshop"
in 24 reviews
Filter

29 - 33 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2017

This is a museum devoted to the history of the canoe and kayak, from early beginnings to present. There are many examples of different types of canoes and kayaks from different periods of time. All the famous ones are here. All come with their own story. There are well shot videos of native people building the forerunners of our modern kayaks and canoes. There are wonderfully informative displays on the fur trade, sailing canoes, hunting from kayaks.etc. At times there have been workshops in paddle making, and canoe making. A few years ago a native group built a full size trade canoe. this has been launched and used on the Trent canal.
Everything is really well done, a top notch museum with two floors of compelling displays. And photography is allowed. Depending on your interests you could spend 3 hours to half a day here.
I live in the city and attend the museum several times a year or more if we have people visiting. It is a class act for a small entrance fee.This is a great place for people of all ages, family,school groups,young or old.
There is also a unique and quality gift shop on site.
Don't miss this jewel!

Thank Paul S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micaela B, Marketing and Media Coordinator at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thanks for the review! We are glad to hear you have enjoyed many visits to the museum. Have you ever tried one of our workshops? In addition to paddle carving, you can also learn to weave a pair of snow shoes, make a pair of moccasins or learn wood burning!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Just an awesome spot. Everything so well done. Not a bad place to do a little Christmas shopping either.

Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micaela B, Marketing and Media Coordinator at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thanks for the review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed the gift shop. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

My husband and i specifically stopped in Peterborough while touring southern Ontario to go through this museum. We were so glad we did. The displays are wonderfully laid out and so interesting. Steeped in the history of the development of this beautiful country. If you want to learn about Canada start here. This was a true highlight on our trip.

Thank Reta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micaela B, Marketing and Media Coordinator at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thanks for the review! We're glad you took the time to stop in and enjoy a visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We gave this museum a try during winter weekend when weather wasn't cooperating with outside activities and we were pleasantly surprised from the visit. Family Admission price is reasonable, museum wasn't crowded and we have attention of the museum staff to ourselves. Plenty activities are available: Rowing boat simulator, badges creating, canoe workshop, paper canoe creation, playing in puppet theatre.

Large canoe exhibition with explanatory signs, that were interesting to read. Large section of museum is devoted to Pierre Trudeau who was an avid canoeist. Nice small gift shop is on premises too.

Thank travelladdict2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micaela B, Marketing and Media Coordinator at Canadian Canoe Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thanks for the review! We're glad to hear you and your family enjoyed the visit. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canadian Canoe Museum also viewed

 

Been to Canadian Canoe Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing